We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre”
Review of MC Perkins Cove

MC Perkins Cove
Ranked #34 of 98 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Imagine eating a meal that offers amazing flavors in every single bite. Now imagine that same meal taking place while watching the waves of the Atlantic Ocean softly crash on the coast all in an intimate and cozy atmosphere. This is what MC Perkins Cove offers its diners every time they visit. MC Perkins Cove offers a unique upscale, yet casual atmosphere that makes for a great intimate setting for those on a date or a relaxing dinner for those visiting the Ogunquit area. Head chefs, Mark Gaier and Clark Frasier consistently serve fresh, delicious, and unique dishes that are sure to take your taste buds on a journey from first to last bite. All of the dishes are made with only the freshest and highest quality ingredients. MC Perkins Cove offers a raw bar, lounge, two bars, two beautiful dining rooms, and a private dining room all overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Dine with us at MC Perkins Cove for lunch or dinner and enjoy a meal and view that will not be quickly forgotten.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

location is excellent with water views....fish chowder soup excellent, fish and chips excellent...peeky toe crab cakes bland and very small...dessert: apple/blueberry crumble very sweet.
overall an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolores O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    157
    108
    81
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, MA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome views, amazing service!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friend and I recently went to MC for a birthday lunch. Have never been before, thinking it might be a little "snobby". Au contraire!! The servers could not have been more friendly. We got the best seat in the house with an ocean view on both sides of the table. We split the delicious mussel appetizer and asked for a towelette for our sticky hands. The waiter said they didn't have any, but in a few minutes brought bowls of warm water with lemon and fresh linen napkins!! Next we split the beer battered fish tacos -- so fresh and flavorful. Not to mention one of the best margaritas ever -- will definitely recommend MC and plan to bring our out of town guests next month! Two thumbs up, MC!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emzgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and delicious meals!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here twice during our long weekend in Ogunquit. First in the dining room for lunch. Then in the upstairs bar for appetizers and drinks. Views from this restaurant are spectacular. There's a fine dining feel but with really warm friendly service. Food, both times, was outstanding. They were the only place we went serving fresh oysters late in the season. The shrimp tacos were delicious. And they make a mean cocktail. Don't miss this charming restaurant in The Cove.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“MC Perkins in Ogunquit Maine”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Perkins Cove was another restaurant found on the WSJ list of best Lobster Rolls in Maine. So we had to stop and try. Definitely a winner. The restaurant sits right on the beach overlooking the rocks and water. We had excellent service and great food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Overrated & Overpriced”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were told that MC was a great restaurant, but we didn't find it so great. The quality of the dishes we ordered ranged from average to poor, but the prices were on the high end for rather meager portions (we don't expect huge servings, but we do expect the highest quality for the highest prices). My wife ordered a salad and there was a substantial charge to add a few seasoned pecans. Most high quality restaurants we have dined at don't charge extra to put a few nuts on an already pricey salad. Some of our dishes were tasty, others were flat and nothing to rave about. The service was OK, but the server's personality was, like some of the dishes - flat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MC Perkins Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing