We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Has it All"”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Colonial Inn is a fantastic choice when staying in Ogunquit. You can't beat the location on shore drive with it's proximity to beautiful Ogunquit Beach, the beautiful marginal way and Perkins Cove, the quaint downtown, and wonderful restaurants. You can walk to everything or take the trolley around town to your destination. The staff is attentive and helpful. The lobby and living room are beautifully decorated with fresh lemon water, muffins and cookies available. The porch is a great place to have your breakfast, relax and read. The rooms are very clean and newly updated. The mattress, pillows and linens are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Unfortunately we never had an opportunity to check out the pool and Jacuzzi. I would highly recommend the Colonial Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddmanoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear ddmanoosh,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the wonderful
comments. Our location and proximity to many local attractions is something that we are very fortunate to have. We are very happy to learn that you will recommend us to others and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 705 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

Second time my wife and I stayed in the past 2 months. The Inn is first class--lovely lobby, beautiful room and a great staff. The breakfast was plentiful and we really enjoyed eating at tables set up outside. Three people who went out of the way to make us comfortable were Dole, Michelle and Thomas We will come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nmn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Nmn10,

We are happy that you have enjoyed our hotel each time that you have come to stay with us! We hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us in your future travels. Thank you for the kind comments of our staff. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and that we will see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The house is so cute and SO clean! The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful! W had to swap rooms after two night (due to availability when we booked) and we ended up with an even better room than we expected! However the best part is the location...exactly midway from beach and Perkin's Cove...so easy walks to anywhere in Ogunquit. We cannot wait to come back to this Inn next year!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house...ocean view is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank abattisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear abattisti,

Thank you so much for you comments on TripAdvisor about the Inn and our staff! We are extremely please to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much. The rooms on the third floor that you stayed in were a Traditional King and then a Premium Ocean View. Although the Traditional rooms are very nice, it is definitely worth the extra for a Premium room with the beautiful ocean view, as you mentioned. We hope that you will return next season for another Ogunquit endeavor!

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Colonial Inn is by far the most wonderful Inn we have stayed at.
Beginning with arrival and throughout our stay the staff is so friendly and courteous and quick to assist with any of your needs.
Our room was on the 4th floor with the MOST COMFORTABLE King size bed we have slept in. My husband and I are still talking about it.
The views of Ogunquit Beach from the room were breathtaking. It was so relaxing waking up each morning and just sitting in a very comfortable chair and gazing out the window onto the beach.
We will definitely be back to the Colonial Inn and I just wish it was now!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DnJ731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear DnJ731,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your room and our staff! We are glad to learn that you found the beds so comfortable and enjoyed the view from your room. The beds and mattresses we have are brand new with our renovations and like you said- they are so comfortable! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you returning in
the future.


Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel itself has been renovated completely and is fantastic because the historic building does not lend itself to cookie cutter design patterns, Renovations in the units around the hotel are not quite finished but their condition is more than acceptable. The grounds are well maintained and compact, making it easy to access all the structures, the pool, and parking spaces a few steps away. The large and well appointed living room and wrap around porch provide very comfortable places to relax when one wants to escape a unit or room but not head out to the beach or other very nearby shops and restaurants. All of these characteristics would be of less importance if the feel of the place was tainted by a staff that was cool or indifferent. In many years of travel, I have never encountered managers and staff so determined to respond to your needs quickly, efficiently, and effectively.. We were among the first guests to stay at the Inn under its current ownership, and while it was fine from the beginning, our experience with The Colonial Inn has been so increasingly favorable that we would never consider staying anyplace else in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dick4117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Dick4117,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our Inn and the staff. We are very fortunate to have loyal guests like yourself. I am very pleased to read what you have said about our customer service and hospitality. At the Colonial Inn, we pride ourselves in always putting our guest's needs first in order to offer an exceptional experience. I hope that you will continue to find each future stay increasingly favorable and that you will continue to visit us for many years to come! Enjoy the rest of your summer and we will see you next season!

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were on the third floor in a modernized room with a comfortable King size bed. A few minutes walk to down town restaurants and shopping. Quiet and cool enough to sleep with the windows open at night. A/C worked fine during the day. Staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. The Colonial Inn will be our first choice on our return to Ogunquit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank deanl815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Dean,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us positive comments on
TripAdvisor. We appreciate your business and are glad that you enjoyed
everything (including this unusually cool weather at night!). We look forward to booking
your future stay with us at the Colonial Inn Ogunquit.

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This inn recently spent over 3 million dollars to completely renovate its rooms. Our room was new from top to bottom including the new bathroom. The morning breakfast buffet offered many tasty items for all age groups. The check in/out was very quick and the staff was very helpful. Treat yourself to this inn and a beautiful place by the ocean!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear nhtraveler63,

We are glad to here that enjoyed your stay with us. Our renovations were quite extensive, yet worth every penny to make each guest's stay more comfortable. Thank you for
the wonderful comments. We look forward to booking your future stays with
us here at the Colonial Inn in Ogunquit.

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $100 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing