We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at the Colonial”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Colonial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Colonial Inn came recommended, which turned out to be an excellent choice. We had a large room with a balcony, refrigerator and small freezer, microwave and small coffee maker. We were on the second floor of the East Building and although next to the stairwell, the room was quiet.
From the moment we checked in, the staff were very helpful and friendly. An iron and ironing board were made available for our entire stay. Fresh coffee and cookies were always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ablumberg_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Ablumberg,

We were glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the East Wing Building and that you found the room comfortable. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff and the Colonial Inn.
We look forward to booking your return visit with us soon and will make sure that fresh-baked cookies are available again for your next stay!

Colonial Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    155
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
127
336
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I got away for a 4 night minivacation. When we arrived our confirmed Superior King was not available. They put us up in a smaller king room and knocked off $100. The Guest Services Manager Taylor ? was very apologetic and when we got back from dinner an icy bottle of Prosecco was waiting for us. We moved to the proper room the next morning.
We were very happy with the room, spacious and welcoming.
The breakfasts were an abundant continental breakfast. Muffins, bagels, yogurt, cereal (hot and cold), hard boiled eggs, juices of every description, and good coffee. There was more.
The porches, more like verandas, were lovely. The only drawback was no ocean view, but no ocean view prices as well. Great location with an easy walk downtown and to Marginal Way.
There were lots of families, but if your beyond that there were plenty of areas to "get away". I enjoyed seeing the young children.
All in all the hotel was excellent, and we enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is making a comeback with a significant renovation within the last couple of years.

Room Tip: We were in Rm 305, which was small, had nice king bed. We moved to 208, MUCH larger with a couch al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Chuck,

I am glad to hear that despite the inconvenience with your room upon arrival,
that you did enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to accommodate each of our guests wishes, and were happy to be able to make the switch for you to the proper room the next morning... room 208 is definitely a gem! I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy all that the Colonial Inn has to offer- including the breakfast and the lovely porch. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your future Ogunquit travels and I would be happy to assist you with any of your future booking needs.

Sincerely,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ma.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have gone to Ogunquit frequently, but had not been in a couple of years. We decided this time to go with the children and grandchildren. I noticed that the Colonial had been redone last year (2013). We had stayed once before but it was quite a few years years ago and at the time we were not impressed. Because we had grandchildren with us, we did not stay in the main inn, but the East Wing (which is a type of motel out back near the inground pool). Perfect for anyone traveling with children or even without. The rooms are very big and much bigger than a regular size hotel room. We had a balcony room and our daughter and granddaughter stayed in our room and it was plenty big enough, and our son and his family had a patio room, which is downstairs. Our son was very impressed with the Colonial and the room.
The only problem we really had was that one of the lights in the bathroom did not work, but we reported it to the front desk when we left. We did have to tell the desk that our room key was difficult to work and we could not open our room. They came over with some WD40, and it helped some, but we still had problems. They mentioned they had been having problems with these locks. I think they need to replace them so people are not struggling to get into their room The continental breakfast was adequate. The outside patio area off the breakfast room is very nice as is sitting on the porch while you have breakfast. They had coffee and bagels and oatmeal, cereal, milk, english muffins and fruit (which was a great addition). There was fruit juices for the children and adults and lemonade and mini muffins. They could be better about restocking as I had to go to the desk a couple of times when they were out of milk and again when they were out of cream cheese. The location for walking to the beach is excellent and also for getting to the Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Our room was clean and the staff was very pleasant. We had a nice stay at The Colonial and my husband and I would return without hesitation and hope to soon. This time to try the main inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Jeanne,

Thank you for the comments and suggestions you have posted about the
Colonial Inn. As with your shortcomings you had found with your stay, we
are currently working to resolve our minor problems, so our future guests
do not encounter any issues. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your
stay regardless of the minor setbacks, and also that you plan on returning
to visit us. We look forward to booking your next stay with us and hope you will enjoy the rest of your summer.

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Colonial so many times over the years-before it was renovated and after. We have always had a wonderful experience. We honestly have never had a complaint! The renovations are a huge success as far as we are concerned. The only suggestion would be to bring back the above ground hot tub you used to have. Otherwise we love staying there in season and off season! The porch is a huge plus. So relaxing to sit there and we're happy to see you are now serving drinks. It is one of our favorite places to stay...

Room Tip: We've been happy with every room we've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Colonial Inn. We are happy
that you have chosen to stay with us over the years and that you have
never had a complaint. Sitting on the porch and having a drink is
certainly a relaxing venture. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy
our amenities such as the ones you mentioned above. We look forward to your return.


Colonial Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were three couples who stayed at the Inn for three nights. The staff were attentive, friendly and welcoming and very helpful with local recommendations. The Inn itself was attractively decorated and offered well-appreciated amenities - Ice water, coffee in the lobby area, and buckets of ice and beach towels available for the asking at no charge. Each afternoon, freshly baked cookies were set out. Bar service was available. The comfortable lounge had a baby grand piano, several seating areas and a small lending library. The spacious wrap-around porch was a refuge from the hot sun and also had several seating areas. Each of our rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable, clean and well-appointed with quality bed and bath linens and bath products. Some rooms have sea views. Breakfast was set up for both indoor or outdoor eating. The home-made Maine blueberry muffins were a real treat. Other options included cereals, fresh fruit, breads for toast, English muffins and hard-boiled eggs. A variety of juices, coffee and tea were offered. Location is perfect to walk into town, the beach, Perkins Cove and the Marginal Walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseM753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Colonial Inn in Ogunquit.
We are happy to hear that all of you enjoyed your stay with us. Our
renovations have allowed us to add the extra seating areas and the bar
service you have mentioned. We were glad that you had the chance to use
our amenities including the wrap around porch and our breakfast. We look forward to booking your future stay with us.


Colonial Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We Just got back from 5 wonderful days in Ogunquit, Maine, which is a very pretty & lively place on the coast. The colonial Inn Is along one of the town's busy roads but the moment you step of the pavement onto hotel grounds all is calm.The room we booked was spacious, lots of windows so light, mini fridge & microwave very useful. Only complaint one armchair that had seen better days..broken springs? Breakfast was included & was very ample with a good mix of breads, cereals, lovely fresh fruit & mini muffins that were a big success with all the guests.There were a variety of balconies to either eat on or relax...great rocking chairs & wicker sofas. We ate our breakfast every morning on a patio in the sun, just great! The staff were always very polite, friendly & helpful. We really enjoyed our stay & wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggymay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Maggy May,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the Colonial Inn in Ogunquit. We
are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We were also glad
to hear that you had time to enjoy your breakfast on the patio. We pride
ourselves on our staff and are happy to hear that they were friendly and
helpful. We look forward to booking your future stays in Ogunquit.

Colonial Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Read below. Some upgrades should be done and it would be even more wonderful. Pool is pretty Nice but very sunny. For the breakfast the menu should be more up to date meaning add différent Kind of bread, more variety of cereals, not only milk but add almond beverage.

Room Tip: If you need a refrigerator ask for it because they don,t have enough . Simply put the breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Andre,

Thank you for your comments and suggestions on the Colonial Inn. We do have several types of bread available for breakfast including white, wheat and then baked items a well. We also offer a soy milk instead of regular milk containing lactose. We try our best to accommodate each guest's specific needs in breakfast substitutions as long as we are made aware ahead of time. We look forward to booking your future stay with us and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing