We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic New England”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

When we reviewed the Maine 2013 Travel brochure and saw the sketch of the remodeled Colonial Inn, we knew that was our destination. It did not disappoint. The welcome every time we walked in the door was warm and genuine, the room we had was spacious, and the common areas had a nice "life" to them. We hope to go back soon. Parking was good, but everything was really available by foot from the Inn's location. The wraparound deck was fabulous.

Room Tip: We called the hotel and they guided us to a room that fit what we wanted. I'd call. Main Buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 718 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Colonail Inn in September 2013 for our honeymoon. This experience was amazing. After mentioning on the phone when I made the reservations, that it was our honeymoon, upon arrival, we had a chilled bottle of Champagne and glasses awaiting. After our first night staying in the room we choose, we had the manager actually upgrade out room to a room in the turret of the Inn that was newly renovated. The renovations that the Inn did during the winter were just beautiful. The staff on hand were very knowledgeable of the area which made traveling around the area very easy. I could keep on blabbing but I would just like to suggest to go to this Inn yourself to really see how it is. We cannot wait to go back to The Colonial Inn to celebrate more anniversaries. Please call The Colonial Inn to make a reservation today and I promise that you will not be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a very nice stay here. The old inn has been recently modernized and renovated. Beautiful bathroom. Rooms and lobby are beach glass, pastel, pretty. Perfect location for easy walk to shops and many restaurants. Front desk friendly and helpful. A nice, relaxing experience and highly recommended. Can't wait to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRWJJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had prior reservation for our 25th wedding anniversary celebration at a nearby resort by the sea, and through a misunderstanding we arrived to find that our reservation in the oceanfront suite was for the prior weekend; and that hotel was sold out. We walked over to the Colonial Hotel and were greeted by Rob and Doralee at the front desk. They could not have been more professional and accomodating. After showing us the 3 rooms available, we selected a room with an ocean view and they even supplied us with a refrigerator since we had brought along some wine and snacks. Doralee came out to the car to help us with our luggage, and when we arrived in the room, they had left us a bottle of Proseco chilling with a note for a Happy 25th Anniversary! The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable with lovely linens. The continental breakfast, the hot cider in the evening in the lobby and the porch and lobby area for coffee all exceeded our expectations. We would highly recommend the Colonial for anyone visiting the Ogunquit area. Thank you for making our anniversary stay a celebration to remember!

Room Tip: stay on upper levels (2-4) for best views. First floor rooms on one side must contend with guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Colonial Inn for 3 nights this October. The property was beautiful and the hotel is perfectly located right in the middle of Ogunquit. You can walk to all of the shops and restaurants and the Marginal Way is just around the corner which makes it easy to walk to Perkins Cove (about 1.5 miles). The staff were great. The breakfast was good. This was the perfect mix of a B&B feel with hotel-type staff and the location could not have been any better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden building which we liked a lot. It has it's own parking spot literally ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mforaker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Inn is beautiful. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the beach. Love the lobby and back porch to sit and relax with friends. We had a wonderful time. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is beautiful!I realy enjoyed my stay there.Everything was perfect,the staff is wonderfull and very nice with the guests.Definitely is one of the best choises in Ogunquit!The rooms are very clean and nice and the beds are very comfortable as well.The location is perfect to take a walk from magrinal way and there are many restaurants close to the hotel !

Room Tip: All rooms are great,it doesn't matter where are you stayng!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimovv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Dimow,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Ogunquit. And we could not agree more about the accessibility of the world-famous Marginal Way. One of the reasons why Ogunquit is so great is that most of its attractions are within walking distance. We hope you choose us the next time you are in the area.

Best,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $138 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing