We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
1 review
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is beautiful!I realy enjoyed my stay there.Everything was perfect,the staff is wonderfull and very nice with the guests.Definitely is one of the best choises in Ogunquit!The rooms are very clean and nice and the beds are very comfortable as well.The location is perfect to take a walk from magrinal way and there are many restaurants close to the hotel !

Room Tip: All rooms are great,it doesn't matter where are you stayng!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimovv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Dimow,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Ogunquit. And we could not agree more about the accessibility of the world-famous Marginal Way. One of the reasons why Ogunquit is so great is that most of its attractions are within walking distance. We hope you choose us the next time you are in the area.

Best,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    155
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
127
336
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newfane, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited in 'shoulder' season of late September. Upon initial arrival asked gal at front desk about property and availability. The lovely Maine native offered details and specifics. Was very pleasant when we said we were going to look around. We returned to the gorgeous lobby, and she offered to show us the room. It was light, clean, and well appointed, and exactly as she had described geographically. She recommended two places for dinner, one more strongly. After availing ourselves of the lemon water and cookies in the lobby took her advice and had a fantastic dinner. Early morning was going in and out and evident high level gent was chatting in lobby and excused himself to help me with the door. Left the next morning, after having abandoned my coveted fashion jacket in the closet. Realized it two days later. ONLY negative - fellow on the phone offered to look but said it wasn't there. If I wanted to "go above [him]" i could call back. Called back next day and manager had no problem finding it and sending to me with a CC number. This place was recently remodeled, bathrooms are great, and people seem proud to work there. Right next to beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd time staying overnight in Ogunquit. Growing up in the area, I'd made scores of day trips over the past 35 years to this coastal community merely 90 minutes north of Boston. The Colonial Inn was a great find; and when we are next in the area, it is certainly where we'll plan on staying.

This trip was a last-minute affair for the two of us and my parents to take advantage of unseasonably warm fall weather. Booking through the hotel's website was easy after figuring out that in order to book two rooms of different types required: not telling the website how many people were in the party but how many would stay in each room; and if wanting two different types of rooms, to make each reservation separately. Pricing through the hotel website was much better than through 3rd party sites and among the lowest in town during "shoulder season" between summer and Columbus Day.

Our King room in the Garden building was clean and comfortable. The bed and linens seemed on the new side. Bathroom was clean and stocked appropriately. I've come to appreciate the Eco-friendly bilk dispensers for shampoo, conditioner, and body wash.

My parents had a 2 queen room on the 2nd floor of the east wing. Also clean and comfortable. Their room had a balcony with ocean views (note, the property is NOT oceanfront; and not all rooms have a view).

The property provides breakfast. We enjoyed the fresh-brewed coffee but saved our appetites for breakfast at Amore less than a half-mile walk away. For a longer stay, the breakfast could help make the stay even more economical (since food and drink prices in Ogunquit tend to be much higher than quality would dictate... The supply and demand effect at work in a beach community.) in addition to the breakfast room, we saw other guests enjoying their breakfast in the common area adjacent to the lobby and on the wraparound porch.

The Colonial is in a great location on Shore Road south of the center of Ogunquit. The northern entrance to Marginal Way is about two minutes north (towards the center of town). Add another minute or so for the shortcut to the main beach. The center of Ogunquit is an easy walk of under 10 minutes. The main part of Ogunquit Beach is no more than a 20 minute walk via Shore Road and the shortcut. Perkins cove is about 20 minutes south. When walking gets to be too much, Ogunquit's trolleys stop all over town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TacomaGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a girls weekend. Perfect location just a short walk from marginal way, shops and restaurants. Staff was very helpful. Lobby is nicely decorated. Adorable wrap around porch. Nice breakfast included with room. Very comfortable beds. I put average for the room because we were in the back building which feels more like a motel. I think rooms inthe main building are nicer. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just arrived at The Colonial Inn after a few days in Boston, we are on our Honeymoon. The check in service was quick, simple and friendly. But more importantly welcoming, friendly & homely. Now we had booked a garden room but we have just been given a room in the main building...room no.302. In Boston we had a suite at the intercontinental, room 302 is just as nice if not better. The seating area in the room has triple view windows, furnished in a clean, classical New England style. The bed is huge but welcoming with a fab flat screen television. Everything is classical but crisp and clean, furniture pieces are attractive and art work compliments the room. The Shower room looks inviting, easily a two person shower. Lots of hanging space.

Amazing value for money considering the cost of the suite at Intercontinental Boston.

Shame we are only staying one night!

Only downside: we have checked in at night but the property still looks good, interesting to see what appeal it holds tomorrow and although not a busy road the passing traffic is noticeable.

Room Tip: Room 302 is beautiful Triple Aspect Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Colonial has been very nicely restored and rooms nicely updated. The Inn is very comfortable and the lobby relaxing and inviting with a beautiful attached porch. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choices of healthy foods and drinks.

We'll be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A once comfortable inn off just off the Marginal Way, the Colonial Inn is a newly polished jewel in the center of all the many pleasures of the village of Ogunquit -- a truly great place to stay. Just a short stroll to the Marginal Way & the beach, the restaurants and shops of Perkins Cove and Shore Road, and the night life on Main Street. It's true that there are many centrally located hotels and inns in Ogunquit, but you will find that the Colonial Inn is a cut above the rest. Recently renovated, the main inn offers large comfortable rooms in soothing muted tones, incredibly comfortable and inviting beds, large, well equipped baths, a nice breakfast to start the day, a beautiful lobby and large back porch with lots of seating options for groups or just to kick back with a book or morning paper, a hip pool and relaxing hot tub, and ample parking. But, while all those features are great, what makes the Inn so special is the friendliness and attentiveness of the Inn's staff, most particularly General Manager Dole, who has consistently gone above and beyond to ensure that our every stay is personalized and special, and has always welcomed us in a way that makes us feel like family coming home.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main inn have been renovated. If you need a fridge, call in advance and one will be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewPrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing