We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Maine Inn and GREAT Staff”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Maine Inn and GREAT Staff”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Inn has been completely remodeled in 2013 by the new owner, Joe DeLois. Joe is a local, hands on owner who greets and talks to the guests. The rooms are large and well appointed with completely new funiture, bathroom fixtures and high grade linens.The front deck staff lead by Taylor and including Dole, Thomas, and Kris are all extremely friendly and helpful. Great breafast and don't pass upmthe oatmeal and muffins. Great location in Ogunquit and a wonderfull place. We have already booked rooms for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are newly redone. Some with ocean view, some with porches. Pick any room and you will be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bleck46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear bleck46,

We are glad that you came back to try the “new” Colonial Inn! Joe took over this place before the start of last season and like you mentioned, he is a hands-on owner who loves getting to know the guests. We are grateful to hear that you liked the renovations and were pleased with the front desk staff. We thank you for your kind review and cannot wait to have you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    157
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
133
347
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute getaway and booked several nights here. The hotel had just completed a renovation and the place was in great shape. Our room was nice sized with refrigerator and microwave, and was spotless. The local trolley stops directly outside the hotel and there is no need to move your car once you get there. Also most of the places you want to go, Perkins Cove, Marginal Way etc are within walking distance. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnoniaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear AnoniaDon,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your last minute vacation. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms very clean and to be conveniently located. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the main building at The Colonial Inn in a king-size room. The room was airy, spacious and clean and simply but elegantly decorated. Very comfortable bed, Everything was spotless and new. The inn has been entirely rehabbed and it is beautiful and tasteful. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and Thomas greeted us warmly. The location of the inn is on Shore Rd. which is a short distance from the town and an entrance to the Marginal Way. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely recommend The Colonial Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UUWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear UUWoman,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your lovely review. We are very grateful to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and found the Inn to be conveniently located. We hope to see you and your friend in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a great stay we had at The Colonial Inn. From the moment we walked into the lobby until it was time to leave the very friendly staff was extremely accommodating. The hotel was recently beautifully renovated with lots of attention to detail. The lobby area is bright, spacious and inviting with lovely seating areas and tables. We really enjoyed afternoon cocktails on the veranda overlooking the pool. Everything was pristine from the wicker furniture to the lush hanging plants. Our room was immaculate, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Also, the location of the hotel was great with a short walk to the beach or town. We enjoyed not having to take our car anywhere. We are definitely planning to stay at the Colonial hotel again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Caryn F
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We too love our newly renovated lobby and the ability to provide beer, wine and cocktails on the veranda. We look forward to having you stay with us again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines IA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I am a corporate business traveler spending over 150 nights a year. I just finished a 5 night event in Boston and was looking to get-a-way for a evening and relaxing along the coast. I walked in the Colonial and was greeeted by Thomas. He was very recepitive to me and accomidating. I stayed in room 305. The room was recently updated, clean, beding and linens were great. Bathroom spacious and had a nice walk in shower.

One issue I can see was there wasn't much sitting space in the room, however I spend most of my time out in the town or in the lobby or pool areas.

Location was excellent. I will note if you are walking to the beach it is about 15 minutes. If carrying chairs, etc it is a bit of a walk, however you can drive there is necessary.

I am a "hotel snob" because of the number of nights out i spend, but think for what was offered here was a great value. Highly recommend.

If you are fortunate enough to meet Thomas, you will be dleighted with his passion for perfection!

Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very pretty inn. The room we stayed in was pretty as well. As most reviews have said, the main building was recently renovated so everything was new and clean and tasteful. We stayed in room 102. It had a beautiful antique wooden floor, but the smell of polyurethane was very strong and it gave me a headache. The bed was comfy, the pillows the best I've ever tried to sleep on. The big problem was the noise from the street, even with the windows closed. It was so loud that every time I started to doze off, a motorcycle or other loud vehicle would drive by and startle me awake. You are so close to the street in room 102 that I could sometimes hear the music people were playing in their cars as they passed. The hotel did do a good of insulating noise from other guests as I never heard anything but traffic.

The noise was bad enough, but window coverings allowed too much light in. There are six windows, and bright light from the lights that were left on outside all night glowed around the perimeter of each one. It was way too bright for sleeping.

We didn't try to get a different room, because when we booked it, we were told it was the only room available. It would have been nice to have been warned about the noise and light issues with the room when we booked it, but there was no mention of it. When we told the staff about it as we left they said, "Oh." They didn't even apologize. For almost $300 a night, I want peace and quiet and didn't get it.

There are some other details that were not great. There are no irons or ironing boards in the room. We got one when requested, but the iron didn't get hot enough and the board was one of those tiny, chintzy ones. There was no toilet lid on the toilet (unsanitary as they stack the clean towels on a rack over the toilet). There is no place to put anything in the bathroom even though there is space for a shelf of some sort. Also no place to put anything in the shower stall except on the floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor facing the street. The road noise makes it impossible to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJH618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are terribly sorry that your stay was not as peaceful as you had hoped. Here at The Colonial Inn it is our goal to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We are glad that the pillows and bed were comfortable. Our plan for the off-season is to fix the light and noise issues in our first floor rooms. Once again we apologize that your stay was not everything you had hoped for and if you give us a second chance we will be sure not to disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Key to understanding this property is that (as far as I can tell) there are three different lodging options - a relatively nice main building, a sort of motel-like building, and a building containing 'suites'. A number of the reviews here note the importance of booking in the main building.

We booked a suite. This was a large room with a bed and a kitchen room containing a couch/fold-out bed. The exterior and interior state of the building and suite were shabby, worn-looking, very much in need of renovation. When we arrived we found that the bathroom was full of very large black ants. The management put us in a room in the "motel" building for a night while they took care of the ant problem. When we returned to the suite after the night in the "motel" room, we saw no ants, so I give the management due credit for taking care of this problem, though I wonder whether some failure to adequately clean the room is what led to the ant issue to begin with.

The "motel" room we stayed at for a night was, in its own way, depressing, shabby, worn-looking, in need of renovation. The suite was better if only because it was a little more spacious and light. A serious problem was the inability to lock the door from the inside; this is standard even in one-star motels in the US.

I have some concerns about the security of the suite. We left the room one morning, closed the door, checked to see that it was fully shut and locked, and returned an hour or two later to find the door ajar. Perhaps housekeeping checked the room (no evidence of this) and forgot to check that the door was locked. None of our personal items were missing, as far as we could tell.

The hotel provided breakfast, but this was itself disappointing in quality. We ended up eating breakfast elsewhere after the first morning.

On the plus side, the location of the hotel is pretty good, close to Marginal Way, the beach and a short walk to the center of Ogunquit.

I would not recommend this hotel nor would I wish to stay there again. It is possible that the experience in the 'main building' is entirely different, though, as other reviews would indicate. This hotel would generally benefit from significant investment in renovation. Until that occurs I cannot recommend it. I

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house; avoid the 'suites' or the 'motel'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jatr60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing