We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Baiting Hollow, New York
1 review
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are looking for a kid friendly relaxing vacation, The Colonial inn was the perfect spot. We came here with friends, the pool was always available and other customers as well the staff were very friendly. we did not use the car the whole trip as the beach, stores and other walks are right down the road. I am not a picky person so the sometimes "unavailable Wifi or Cable TV" is not a big deal. You are on vacation...remember. The kids were crying when we left. Great spot.

Room Tip: Pick 501 if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are so glad that you and your kids enjoyed your vacation. One of our goals here at The Colonial Inn is to be a family friendly hotel. Room 501, which is one of our guest house suits, has 1 king size bed, two twin beds (in a separate room), a pull out couch, and a full kitchen. We also have rooms in our East Wing that have two queen size beds (4 person max) or 2 queens size beds and a pull out couch (5 max). Once again thank you for your comment and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    171
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
152
368
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just spent the weekend and had a wonderful stay here. I traveled a lot with my work and I can say with confidence if your looking for a awesom bed thats as comfortable as the Four Seasons this is the place for you. The bathroom was also newly renovated and super clean with nice heavy weight white towels. We stayed in the East wing and had two double beds with a balcony.
The main lobby is nicely done and the verandah is marvelous. The flowers were spectacular and it was the most peaceful place to sit and have breakfast. The location is great in terms of getting the trolly right outside the front door or withing walking distance to shops and beach.
The pool is not large but do have some upscale lounges that were comfortable.
I hope to return next summer.

Room Tip: Corner room in East Wing was quiet with two Queen beds and balcony. No view but a good nights sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our inn. Being compared to the Four Seasons made all of us smile. We also greatly appreciate your comments about the verandah and flowers as those are two of the things we are most proud of. We would love to have you as a guest again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
750 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We read the reviews, both the abysmal and the glowing, and, being optimists, decided to give the Colonial Inn a try.
Our room is nearly $150 per night; we booked for four nights on booking.com
Here's what is lacking in our room:
* No curtain on the bathroom window.
* No lid on the toilet. This is a pretty small bathroom with a pedestal sink so there's not a lot of storage. It would be really easy for something to tumble right into the toilet.
* No iron or ironing board
* No desk. Limited outlets to plug in iPads, laptops, phones, etc
* The two (comfortable) chairs in the room face into the bathroom
* Towels are skimpy and limited in number. We did ask for, and receive thicker, larger towels with no problem.
* No telephone in the room although the person who answered our cell phone call said "there's supposed to be a phone in the room."

The bed is very comfortable and the shower is adjustable.

We would not stay here again and are actually going to a different hotel for part of our stay even though we've already paid for this room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We're glad you found our beds to be very comfortable. I am so sorry to hear that your stay at the Colonial Inn did not meet your expectations. We are confident that the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction that the Colonial Inn is known for.

Thank you, and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Can't say enough about the excellent accomodation, location and staff. Enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway and took advantage of the Experience Ogunquit by the Sea package..including a $50 gift certificate at a great local restaurant within walking distance. Our room was 308, very large room with ocean view.
There is not a bar or restaurant on site but a large verandah and lobby with tables and chairs where guests can enjoy their own drinks and snacks....very pleasant and accomodating. There is always coffee available in the breakfast room as well.
The beach was a 5-10 minute walk with lots of fun shops and restaurants along the way....
You can't go wrong with The Colonial Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Charlie,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Experience Ogunquit Package. Jonathan’s Restaurant is one of our favorite places in town. Although there is no restaurant on site, we do offer a bar service including a variety of wines, beers, and liquors. Our hope is that you will choose the Colonial in your future Ogunquit endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited the Colonial Inn for a quick holiday getaway; the only thing that I am disappointed about is that word is getting out that this is a fantastic inn and I won't be able to get last-minute reservations ever again! This hotel has been beautifully updated with a fresh New England seaside color scheme. The inn looks lovely with beautifully maintained flower boxes and hanging plants and the lobby is incredibly inviting with plenty of seating and a grand piano. We stayed in the low rise building and not the main inn. I was happy with our room though because it had a little patio area where we could hang our beach towels out to dry. The main inn does not have individual balconies. The bed was very comfortable and the cool, crisp white linens were a welcome retreat after a day in the sun. There are minor things that could be improved, our room didn't have a closet or a garment rack, so we couldn't hang our clothes and the bathroom didn't have hooks to hang a wet bathing suit or my hanging toiletry bag. Also, there was no art in the freshly painted room. I imagine over time these very minor issues will be resolved. The location was excellent and we didn't use our car once over the 3 days we were there. We walked to the restaurants and to the beach or took the trolley which stops directly in front of the inn. We took the trolley to Perkins Cove, ate lobster rolls for dinner and then walked the Marginal Way back to the hotel - perfect evening! The pool was nice, clean and a warm temperature compared to the 60 degree ocean waters. The included breakfast was very nice, with typical continental breakfast items like bagels and muffins, but also included hot oatmeal with toppings of nuts, raisins and brown sugar, and hard boiled eggs. We took our breakfast and ate on the patio which was a perfect way to start the day. The staff were very friendly and welcoming too. This is quickly going to become a hot spot. I definitely won't wait to make reservations next time!

Room Tip: Room 622 is handicap accessible and right next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurasuzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
A million thanks for you amazing comments. Comments like this will definitely guarantee the word spreads about the completed renovated and revamped Colonial Inn. We are glad that you were able to leave your car untouched for the entire vacation. That is one of the many great things about the location of our inn and a testament to the accessibility of both Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. We also thank you for your suggestions. The room you stayed in was one of only two rooms in the entire complex without a closet solely because it was built as a fully handicap capable room. That issue has been solved in both of those rooms though as we have added a stand-alone clothing rack to each of them. Once again thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave this comment. You will always be a welcomed guest here at The Colonial Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from our holiday weekend and we're very happy that we chose to stay at the Colonial Inn. Tastefully refurbished, our room was spacious, bright, very comfortable and reasonably priced especially for peak season. We both loved the very comfortable bed (BF travels frequently for work and is very critical, he could not believe how comfortable it was). I was also very pleased to see the ecofriendly shampoo, body gel dispensers instead of the wasteful little plastic toiletry containers. Housekeeping does a wonderful job, our room was very clean. The lobby and porch areas are beautiful and inviting with numerous sitting areas where you can relax with a drink, read, ect. .The inn is centrally located with the village, beach and scenic Perkins cove all a quick easy walk away. Numerous restaurants and shops are very close by. For those who don't want to walk there is a trolley stop conveniently located immediately in front of the inn. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Upon check in we were told about the facilities including the continental breakfast and shown to our room. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful renovation of a historic hotel and building at this "beautiful place by the sea". Not only did they transform the main historic hotel building but they also beautifully renovated the other motel style building beautifully. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BraintreeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the compliments on the renovations. We are glad that you not only like our completely renovated main inn but also the completely renovated additional building. I will relay your kind words to our excellent staff as well and we look forward to having you again here at the Colonial Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing