We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute nightmare!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed August 3, 2005

A post in the forum reminded me of an abstolutely AWFUL experience I had with the Ogunquit Resort Motel several years ago and motivated me to file this review, albeit long after the fact.

I spent one night there on business travel several years ago. Room was fine, rate were good (off-season) but what came after was an utter nightmare.

When I checked in I noticed I had a couple of dog biscuits in my coat pocket (from walking my dog before dropping him off for boarding). Since I planned to be gone for a week on a business trip, I didn't want the dog biscuits in my pocket all week. So, I took them out, set them on the bedside table, and though nothing more of them. Slept the night, was actually sort of proud of myself for sleeping in a small twin bed over on the side of the room and leaving the two double beds perfectly made. Left the room clean with just the one twin bed unmade, then continued on my business trip with an early start so I could make a 9 am appointment in Salem, MASS, dropped my key in the key drop box because the front desk wasn't open yet.

When my mastercard bill came in the later I was shocked by the amount. So, I called to see what why the bill was so high. First, they said they assessed a penalty for having a dog in the room. Second, they said I had placed a 20 minute long-distance call.

I had checked email on a toll-free dial-up access number, a number that is toll free anywhere in Maine. Apparently because of the way their switchboard was set up, the call was not recorded as tollfree. Basically, they wouldn't admit their switchboard was set up incorrectly; they said "if the switchboard says it is long distance, it is long distance. They held firm until I got someone from the Maine Public Service Commission to contact them and confirm that the number was toll free. Then they backed off. However, they didn't say "we are wrong, we are sorry, it's our fault, etc. " but instead something along the lines of "we are tired of you nagging us and we are going to give you your money back so you will leave us alone."

About the dog, they concocted a story about how my room was an absolute wreck, how it needed more cleaning than usual, how they couldn't rent it the next night because it was trashed. It was surreal!

They also said that a housekeeper on the early shift saw me "sneak out early" carrying my dog to the car. When I pressed to see if I could speak with the housekeeper, they said she was gone for the day. Okay, I said, when she gets in tomorrow, just ask her to tell you what kind of dog it was and then I'll send you a photo of my dog and you'll see it's not true. (I felt like I could catch them in a lie here.) When I called the next day the story had developed further. She (the housekeeper) now was sayng that she didn't actually see the dog, but saw me sneaking out carrying a box & she knew there was a dog in it because she heard the dog yipping. I pressed them to have her describe how large the box was, because my dog is close to 50 pounds, and there is no way I could carry any box that he would fit into. I never got any response on box size; instead they starting attacking me personally.

More details of their concocted story: that I had washed my dog in the tub and left the bathroom wrecked (I took a bath that morning and left probably two wet towels.)

Most of my dealings were with the manager who had absolutely no customer service skills. Apparently she has a major chip on her shoulder and is paranoid about dogs. She said stuff like "folks lie all the time about having dogs, they sneak them into rooms, we have all sort of problems with that." So, I guess that made me guilty too?

I eventually got my credit card company involved, and the bill was reduced. I suspect my credit card company just ate the charge.

Lesson learned: if I find dog biscuits on road trips now, I flush them down the toilet. :)

Just FYI, this is not a true "resort." It's simply a two-story strip motel with a pool, rooms are appointed a la Holiday Inn or any other chain, and it's located right on the side of busy Route 1. It's not in walking distance of downtown or the beach. If you can find something in walking distance, that would be wonderful as traffic (and parking) are two issues in Ogunquit in high season.

  • Stayed: May 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MicheleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 331 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2005

We stayed in the Ogunquit Resort Motel suites for 3 nights in July 2005. While we didn't hate it, we didn't love it either. I'm sure there are better values out there, but read our review and decide for yourself.

The positive:
Our suite was nicely appointed with a nice sized living area, a huge full kitchen and a nice sized bedroom with a big bed. There was a pullout futon in the sitting area. There was an air conditioner in both rooms, which was extra nice since it was so bloody hot in New England when we visited. There was a nice big salt water swimming pool and a big hot tub. Maid service was timely and they did a good job. We got free HBO movie channels, and it was nice to curl up on the "couch" and watch movies at night. The trolley stops right outside, and if you are hungry, there is a pizza parlor right under the suites.

The negative:
For $200.00 a night, you think they would provide a better "continental" breakfast than a paltry selection of muffins, pastries and doughnuts. There was orange juice and milk provided, but all they gave you was a tiny dixie cup so you could have orange juice shots. There wasn't even any fruit, and the dining area reminded me of a sterile cafeteria - a small, dirty one. No points for breakfast, sorry.

The staff is basically New England college kids that are in Maine for the fun of it, and the service, well, was not very professional.

Our first night there, none of the lights worked in the sitting area of our suite, and we called in the afternoon to have maintenance come take a look. They called back and then said they were coming, then called at 9 p.m. and said they were coming, and then called back at 9:10 p.m. and said they wouldn't come till morning. So we sat in the dark the first night. The upside is that my husband complained the next day, and they fixed it and knocked $40 off our bill (should have comped the first night IMHO).

So....if you are looking to spend $200.00 a night in Ogunquit for lodging, I am betting there are better values out there. Hope this helped you!

13  Thank swooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank veronique t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour familles de 5 choisir chambre deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 920Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeGatsby, Manager at Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres 312 à 319 sont situées à l'arrière et il y a moins de bruit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pierrenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeGatsby, Manager at Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank dylane05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeGatsby, Manager at Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renée D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#32 of 36 in Ogunquit
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Milestone
The Milestone
#18 of 36 in Ogunquit
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Village Resort
Colonial Village Resort
#36 of 36 in Ogunquit
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogunquit Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogunquit Resort Motel

Address: 719 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3013
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $74 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ogunquit Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s largest pool, giant outdoor hot tub and exercise room. Spacious guest rooms with Free WiFi, CCTV, AC, Mini Fridges. Kids stay free, free local calls, free continental breakfast, free HBO. One mile north of downtown on the trolley route and just 1/2 mile to fabulous Footbridge Beach. Ask about luxury rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s. Some with balconies! Plus One & Two Bedroom Family Suites w/full kitchens. Easy to walk to dining. Spring, Fall and Winter value packages inc. 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, dinner and more. Also Lobster Tour and Shopping Packages. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ogunquit Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogunquit Hotel Ogunquit
Ogunquit Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing