We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

After a 3 night stay I understand why folks return again and again. If ever there was a place to kick back, relax and enjoy the scenery this is it! The Riverside is located on Perkins Cove with a view of the Atlantic. The property is stunning with well manicured lawns, great trees and shrubs and lovely flowers where ever you look. A footbridge goes from the motel to the other side of Perkins Cove with it's many shops and restaurants, as well as the Marginal Way. I think all the rooms come with private balconies. For breakfast they have wonderful bakery pastries as well as the usual cereal, fruit and yogurt. The help could not have been nicer!
Hint. Request Bldg A with king bed and you will have a great view of both the cove and ocean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyOakdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you HappyOakdale_NY for sharing your trip with Trip Advisor.
Our entire staff really enjoys making everyone's stay memorable.
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    91
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
108
405
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have been coming here pretty much every year for the past several. Every year when we're sitting on the patio with a bottle of wine and a snack enjoying the view, one of us will say 'maybe we should try someplace else next time'. Then we laugh because it isn't going to happen. This place is perfect for us. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing to the max, and spotless clean. The staff to every last one is super friendly as well. It's a simple motel with simply the perfect atmosphere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dtayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you Dtayls for reviewing us for the T/A community.
Our entire staff loves to hear people comment on the spotless clean goal that they achieve.
Maybe we should nickname the Riverside "Someplace Else"!
Best wishes for a super summer,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, United States
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This motel is a gem! Beautiful location overlooking Perkin's Cove. It was a quick walk over the bridge to Perkin's Cove and Marginal Way. Marginal Way is a scenic walk overlooking the water... this is something you must do! The motel is clean and basic, a nice outside porch/terrace to sit and look out to Perkin's Cove.Remember to bring your favorite beverage and snack while relaxing on the terrace. Morning breakfast was enjoyable.... sit outside and eat on the patio. The donuts were awesome.....I usually don't eat donuts but these were the real deal!!! They also had muffins and yogurt. I would definitely return to this motel. Thinking on heading back on in the fall.Julie was extremely helpful at the desk. Geoff was also very pleasant when booking the room. Thank you for making my first experience to Maine WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: Second floor for a wonderful view of Perkin's Cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you Alicia O for sharing your experience with the T/A community.
Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments,
Have a wonderful summer,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I (plus another couple ) returned for our annual stay at "The Riverside Motel" .
We all enjoyed every last moment of our long weekend!
The motel is A+ in every way! Extremely clean...pretty...beautiful view of Perkins Cove! We took pictures that we will have blown up and put on a canvas!!!!! We were very fortunate to even have a double rainbow during our stay!
Everyone who works there was so very special and nice to us!
I would like to give an extra HOOOORAY to the sweet, friendly and gracious ladies who did What I call the hard work, cleaning the rooms! They deserve a raise!
The setting could not be any prettier and the Breakfast was great!
We will absolutely be returning next year at the same time....
Thank you again Riverside Motel !!!!!!!!!
Mary Gagnon

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagnon01915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you Gagnon01915 for sharing your visit with the T/A community.
Our entire staff appreciates when people mention how clean our property is. They are very dedicated, talented, and reliable. Although we are a seasonal property, more than 80% of our staff are Riverside veterans.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Enjoy your summer!
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our first stay at the Riverside was in 1975. Looking at the Riverside on this visit, it was hard to tell much had changed. Yes, there was a flat panel TV, a mini fridge, and a new type of flooring material but it was still the same look and the same great location on Perkins Cove.

The room was just as clean as before and the staff just as friendly. I asked if coffee would be available in the office later that evening and when we returned to our room, there was a large thermos of coffee with all the fixings needed for the evening.

Being this early in the season, there were only a few people staying at the Riverside and the staff was busily preparing for the season. The shops at Perkins Cove were mostly closed but Barnacle Billy’s and the Oarweed Restaurant were open. I have to admit the clam chowder was as good as it was 39 years ago at Barnacle Billy’s.

It was great to get up at sunrise and see the lobster boats preparing for the day and to take a morning stroll along the Marginal Way which starts by the Oarweed Restaurant. During the busy season, having access to Perkins Cove just by crossing the pedestrian drawbridge on foot would be priceless.

Nearby is the Ogunquit Museum of American Art. We happened to be the first visitors as they were just opening for the year. They have a nice collection of art inside and outside. Their location on a small cove with their small garden and artwork backed by the crashing waves is worth seeing just for itself. In fact we returned later in the day to walk the garden after the rain stopped and the sun came out, just for photo opportunities.

The Riverside may not have changed much, but Ogunquit has. The number of lodging places seemed to have grown by a factor of 10, so we were glad we were early in the season. We felt like we had come back to a place that fitted our memories perfectly, which is why we returned.

Some things just do not have any reason to change and the Riverside is one!!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you gangin for such a thorough review of your return to the Riverside Motel.
Our entire staff appreciates all your kind comments, especially when you are able to tell the entire T/A community how clean our property is (our #1 priority).
Best wishes for a wonderful summer,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I do hate to miss a season in Ogunquit, especially after prior seasons visits to the Riverside. It's nice to know that some things in life do not change as the Riverside still sits proudly on it's bluff above Perkins Cove complete with manicured lawns and well kept buildings. It's worth the drive just to sit on the balconies and watch the Lobstermen pull out. But honestly what keeps me coming back season after season is Geoff and his very attentive staff. The rooms are true motel sized rooms and Geoff continues to update them each year. The morning breakfast's still cannot be beat with their selections of cereal, fruit, and muffins. But it's the location that is pure joy, park the car and walk everywhere-to the Cove, down the marginal way, or take a leisurely stroll down Shore Road. And lastly you will not find better service than the Riverside..as on this last trip I had car trouble, made it to the Riverside, but the friendly desk clerk asked if I needed to make a call to have the car serviced..again just one of the little extra's you will find at the Riverside. I am already planning my return visit in October.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you SAFJR for taking your time to review us for the T/A community.
And thank you for the compliments directed at me, however, Nancy deserves all the credit for all of our buildings and grounds. She designed the last three building projects that our guests have really appreciated.
This season, Nancy and I believe we have the best staff in our entire hospitality career. They are all professionally schooled in the industry, and more importantly, over 80% are loyal and caring repeaters at the Riverside.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you,
Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfield
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Riverside is located next to Perkins Cove, and it's so easy to walk over the footbridge to enjoy
what Perkins Cove has to offer.Leave the car at your door and explore Ogunquit! (Marginal Way, take a trolley to town etc.) The Riverside is extremely clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is a pleasure and well thought out. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. There's a wonderful view from every room and an extremely relaxing place to be. Watch lobsta boats go out in the morning, and the sunrise and sunset. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenfieldVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you Greenfield visitor for your kind comments about our property and staff.
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing