We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Again!!”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Again!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

At the risk of sounding like I own the place (I only wish!!) I have written a fabulous review each time we have stayed!! Came up for the July 7th-11th week for our Anniversary (35th) and had the perfect time, even though the weather was somewhat uncooperative. There is nothing more relaxing than picnicing on the lawn with lobster rolls and fried clam from Footbridge Lobster while watching the boots in Perkins Cove! Thank you Jeff for having the ideal relaxing spot, like being on a far away island, only 90 minutes from Boston. We'll be back and write reviews forever!!!!! David

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the lawn to get down to Perkins Cove. Just don't take our room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you Shoefro for taking the time to review us again.
We are very happy you can getaway from Boston so often and visit our "oasis from the stressful world"
We look forward to next time,..... soon!
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    93
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
109
410
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the riverside from June 30th to July 5 and had wonderful and relaxing time in spite of on and off weather. We have stayed many places in Ogunquit and have always looked over the cove to the Riverside and said we have to stay there sometime. We finally did and were very pleased.. It is convenient to all that Ogunquit has to offer. As everyone mentions in their reviews the rooms are spotless, I especially appreciate the laminate flooring. Yes it is a "motel" so you won't have the "amenities" of the Anchorage, but for quiet and relaxation this was perfect! We had a lawn room and loved sitting out and just enjoying the day(when it wasn't raining!)
We walked over to Marginal way and the beach on 2 occasions and enjoyed the fireworks at the beach on the 4th. We were also celebrating an anniversary. we are hoping to go back for my birthday in August !

Room Tip: love sitting on the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Suzanne B for sharing your experience with T/A.
Our staff appreciates you mentioning the spotless rooms!!
Best regards,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location was great. So close to the foot bridge to Perkins Cove, Marginal Way, downtown Ogunquit. Even though Perkins Cove closes down at 10:00 pm, it was a safe location to walk over the footbridge at night. Very peaceful to have breakfast overlooking the cove.

The rooms and the Motel grounds are impeccably clean. Never met the owners but the staff was very helpful and genuinely friendly. My friend and I were there for a "Mom's Getaway" The rooms were great. We stayed on the lower level. Beds were comfortable, AC worked well, rooms did NOT smell musty. I have no complaints and would most definitely stay there again. Thank you for helping to make my getaway a great one!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you cwmom for sharing your trip with the T/A folks.
Our entire staff really appreciates you mentioning the cleanliness of our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed so much what we have to offer.
We hope to see you again someday soon,
Thank you,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the rooms are sort of 1970's looking, & it is a motel, but the view of Perkin's Cove, & the closeness to the footbridge to shopping were perfect. We had a great patio overlooking the cove, & spent many hours relaxing & enjoying our wonderful surroundings. This stay was exactly what we wanted in Ogonquit, views of the water, & next to Perkins Cove.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you grapdad for sharing your visit with T/A.
Congratulations on being a Top Contributor with Trip Advisor. Best wishes to many more enjoyable future travels.
Thank you,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful, relaxing, I would stay here again! Steps away from great shopping, sightseeing, and beautiful beaches! Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with my twin sister and favorite brother in law! The room was spotless, very friendly staff! We had a balcony end unit next to each other overlooking the cove!

Room Tip: We stayed in the balcony to the left of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you Ktwhit for taking the time to review us for T/A.
And our staff especially appreciates every time someone notices how spotless we keep our property.
Hope to see you soon!
Thank you,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My 18 year old granddaughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Riverside from June 16 through June 21. I cannot think of a negative thing to say about this motel, all is positive. The location is ideal, looking out over Perkins Cove and the ocean is serenity at it's best. Where else can you walk out of your room, across the footbridge to Perkins cove, where you will find, quaint shops, restaurants, boat rides, including sail boats and the entrance to Marginal Way. Cleanliness is excellent as other reviewers have stated. Sitting on the balcony in the morning I observed the staff, cleaning the chairs and actually wet mopping the balcony floor every day. I have never seen that done anywhere else I have stayed and I travel frequently. We met two sisters that were staying, they told us when they got there early they had to wait for their room to be cleaned, the staff took two hours to clean the room. That alone tells you how clean it is kept. The grounds and landscaping are also maintained in excellent condition. We were in a balcony room with two queen beds. This room was excellent, as also stated before, you walk from your car, right into the room, I loved the convenience of that. The motel was full when we were there and we found it to be extremely quiet. The continental breakfast was more than enough, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk, cereal, apples, bananas, muffins and doughnuts from Congdon's doughnuts, best dougnuts I have had in years. All the staff were more than friendly, always a hello, good morning, how are you etc. We had the pleasure of meeting and talking with Nancy and Geoff and were very impressed with how we would observe them working right along with the staff. The pride they have in their motel is more than evident. My granddaughter had never been to Maine before, I asked her if she would like to visit again, her response was, "only if we can stay here again" I think that says it all about what a great place The Riverside is.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, it is a matter of choice, I prefer the balcony room where you can walk right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ginny1148,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the T/A community.
You are so kind to go into so much detail, the staff appreciates that very much.
We only wish you could have stayed the entire summer!
Best wishes for a wonderful remainder of your summer, and we hope to see you again someday,
Thank you!!
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wonderful location that overlooks Perkins Cove. Loved waking up to a scene of lobster boats and ocean activity. Hotel is clean, quiet and comfortable, with an attentive friendly staff. Downtown Ogunquit is a 20 minute walk from the Riverside and once there you have a hundred plus shops and eateries to chose from. Also, the Marginal Way is a fabulous two mile walk along the coastline that starts at the cove and ends very close to Ogunquit beach and downtown. Plenty to see and do. Have already reserved another weekend in the fall!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaB1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you LisaB1226 for taking the time to review us for the T/A community.
Our entire staff appreciates very much that you mentioned you clean our property is.
We can't wait for your next visit this fall!
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,029 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing