We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new place to stay in Ogunquit”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We've been coming to Ogunquit for over 30 years and have stayed in several nice hotels, most often the Beachmere. We decided to try something new this year, and we were not disappointed. This place has a great location, very quiet, very clean and well maintained, excellent service. We stayed in a king room on the second level, very comfortable bed and chairs. Only very minor criticism is bathroom - very small, no fan, skimpy towels, could use a side / makeup mirror; but very clean and everything working. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CTYankee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you CTYankee10 for sharing your views with T A.
We appreciate all the feedback so much.
We have portable make-up mirrors available on request.
At the Riverside, all you have to do is ask. Our staff is trained in the art of saying Yes. We love to make our guests' vacations the best ever.
We look forward to your next stay,
Thank you,
Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 629 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Riverside Motel in Ogunquit, Me. is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in.
It was quiet, clean, and the view of Perkins Cove made our stay very enjoyable.
The hospitality of the employees and their friendliness made our stay relaxing and welcoming.
The Continental breakfast was simply delicious. Those pastries were out of this world. Loved the background music; so soothing and classy. Wether you choose to eat in or outside, both are a good choice.
The Riverside came on a recommendation from our friends. They frequent it several times a year. I would also recommend it to any one who wants to have a nice relaxing get a way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Thank you Therese for taking the time to review us for T A.
Our entire staff appreciates it so much when their efforts are noticed.
Please, also thank your friends for introducing us. "friends tell their friends about the Riverside"
We will look forward to the next time you can visit for a while.
Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Staying at the Riverside Motel has become an annual tradition for us. We love the hotel and staff. The location is amazing. It is right on Perkins Cove which is very quaint and close to a lot of restaurants. I'd highly recommend this hotel. Don't forget to check out the homemade donuts in the morning. I wish I could've taken some of those home with me. Also, for the past two years we've seen fireworks shows on Saturday nights. I'm not sure if that's something they always do but it was a nice treat. Thanks to Geoff and his team!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wuhhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you Wuhhoo for taking your time to review us for T A.

The fireworks may have been unsanctioned, but we all did enjoy them from the balconies, and the lawn. Sometimes the unexpected pleasures are so sweet.
See you next time!!
Thank you from the staff, as well!!
Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Like I read by other travelers to this quaint hotel is how CLEAN it was! Very nice host and hostess...superb location...hop, skip and a jump to go over the bridge to great restaurants and the beginning of Marginal Way. We had a great, relaxing trip to the Riverside and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Thank you Weeeeeee for sharing with the T A folks,
We can't wait for your return, also!
Nancy and Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Perfect location right on scenic Perkins Cove in Ogunquit. Footbridge/drawbridge is next to the hotel - trolley stop too. Very clean rooms. Very peaceful in the evening for a good night's sleep. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to the Riverside!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you LeonD for shariing your trip with T A.
We look forward to next time!
Thank you,
Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

VIEW, VIEW, VIEW. We have been staying at The Riverside for our vacation for many years. We find walking across the bridge into Perkins Cove for dinner, walking the Marginal Way, and shopping , ideal. You can walk to many restaurants, have a glass of wine and not have to worry about driving. We have spent many wonderful hours just sitting, reading and watching the view from our chairs.

The staff is efficient and friendly. What more could you want.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you Lucia037 for taking the time to review us for T A.
Our 2011 staff is very thankful for all the kind comments people have been writing.
It is very rewarding when your hard work gets noticed.
A big Thank You!! from all of our staff,
Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I just returned after spending four wonderful days at the Riverside Motel. As others have said, this is not your typical motel and Geoff Scimone and his delightful staff bend over backwards to offer great service and see that the property (both inside and out) is meticulously maintained.

Our room - No. 1 - had a balcony and was on the upper level, making it very easy to park the car and roll our bags right into the room. It also offered a postcard view of Perkins Cove and the Ocean beyond, making it an ideal spot for having a glass of wine before venturing out for dinner. We were impressed with not only the cleanliness of the room but with some of the other amenities offered such as large deep drawers, for those of us who insist on over-packing, plenty of hangers in the closet, two very comfortable stuffed swivel chairs as well as the small frig.

This is our fourth visit to Ogunquit (but our first time staying at the Riverside) and we can honestly say that this is now our favorite place to stay. While many establishments claim "great service" they don't come close to fulfilling the slogan. The Riverside is the exception, they get it - they walk the walk.

A word of caution; be sure to call ahead and book in advance during the height of the season so as not to be disappointed. The Riverside seems to fill up quickly in the popular months of July and August. There's a large loyal clientel that returns year after year and
there's a couple from CT that have just been added to the list!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loversoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you loversoftravel for sharing with T A,
Our staff is very appreciative of all the kind comments.
The easy/swivel chairs are two of the other reasons people are sad to leave here.
We look forward to your second Riverside vacation!
Thank you,
Geoff, and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $89 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing