We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Wedding Guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Shore Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on Shore Road
Ranked #10 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Place for Wedding Guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to find the Inn on Shore Road on a visit to Maine last May. We recommended the Inn as the primary guest accommodations for our wedding at the end of September and could not have been happier to have had the Inn as our home base for the weekend. We had guests staying in nearly all of the rooms and Torri and her team were incredibly accommodating and welcoming to everyone. With the downstairs common areas, our guests had a chance to meet and relax - it was the next best thing to having a house to host them in ourselves.

The Inn on Shore Road is located in downtown Ogunquit, walking distance to the beach, restaurants and nearby Perkins Cove. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms seemed quieter than others - there is some street noise from the downtown area so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
71
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at The Inn on Shore Road, most of all the lovely people who run it. The Inn is right in the middle of Ogunquit; it was so nice to be able to park our car, forget about it during our stay, and walk everywhere. The Inn, porch, and front lawn are so inviting, with Adirondack chairs to enjoy your morning coffee. We loved our room, which was clean and bright. The breakfast was simple but very good. We only stayed for 4 days and were so sad to leave. Looking forward to returning to our favorite Inn in beautiful Ogunquit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 589emilyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasvegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went up for a Wine and Dinner Event at The 50 Restuarant. The Inn at Shore Road was renovated and reopened this past Spring or early summer. Total attention to detail. The beds and linen were so comfortable, so soft so elegant.
The antiques and prints totally finished the decor. They have rooms to accommodate all family situations.. They even have two rooms that are pet friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joannelasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

As others have indicated, this is a lovely renovated B&B in a great location. It's convenient to the shops and restaurants, and just a short walk to the beach and Marginal Way walkway.

Our room had a deck overlooking the street. This was great for people-watching during the day, but not so great for sleep. Revelers poured out of the restaurants and bars along the street well after we wanted to retire. If you want quiet, ask for a room in the back of the building.

My main complaint is about the breakfast. Unlike most B&Bs where we've stayed (which provide a multi-course, sit-down breakfast), we found only a continental, self-serve buffet with limited choices. My husband, who has a big appetite, needed a mid-morning snack. At the price we paid per night, I expected more.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, don't choose a room that faces the street. It's noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threeonrtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason L, Public Relations Manager at Inn on Shore Road, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we really appreciate your acknowledging the high quality of our bedding. As you observed, a complete renovation was pursued last year to ensure the best possible rooms were made available to our guests. We do not promote the offer of a full breakfast and it should be noted that if you stay the weekend, we provide a complimentary brunch at our sister property, Five-O Shore Road and a complimentary gelato and cappuccino all of this included in our very completive room rate. As far as the noise on Shore Road, there are so many other wonderful attributes about residing on shore road like free parking, walking distance to the shops and restaurants, a full length closed in porch that many of our guests this summer did not look at this as a problem. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had stayed at this bed and breakfast many years ago, when it was under different ownership so I knew the location was terrific! It is right there, at the beginning of Shore Rd., with all the great shops and restaurants! Can't beat the location! For this trip, I was looking for a B & B that was pet friendly and the Inn at Shore Road fit that bill; though they charged $30 extra for the pet! The pet friendly rooms are in the back on the house, with a separate entrance since pets are not allowed in the main house! There were 3 of us traveling (plus a small dog). There was a small table and 2 chairs outside the room; the 3 of us would only have been able to sit there if we borrowed a chair from another room. There was no place to sit in the room itself since the pullout couch was left open during our 2 night stay. The queen bed was extremely comfortable; the sheets were so soft! But the pull out couch was horrible! First of all, you had to turn it 90 degrees so there would be enough room to open it. That wasn't such a big deal. But......it was soooo uncomfortable (you could feel the springs when just sitting on the open mattress). Even the pup knew to desert her master and sleep on the queen bed! Terri, the Innkeeper, was very apologetic!

When we checked in, we were given a coupon for a free gelato at their restaurant next door (Cafe Prego) and we were also told that Sunday's breakfast was at their other restaurant (Five-O) - reviewed separately. Breakfast was adequate; juice, coffee (weak) and tea, various pastries (muffins were not great) and quiche (average but no longer hot by the time we had ours), fruit and sweet yogurt (personally would have preferred plain yogurt)! Would I come back here? Not with 3 people and a pet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Inn on Shore Road is a wonderful place to stay. We would definitely go back. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room #6 was comfortable, very clean and had a great shower. We loved the convenience of being so close to town that we could easily walk to the shops, restaurants and the ocean. The only downside was it was a little noisy at night given the proximity to town, but that was ok with us. The noise was well worth the trade of being there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I just spent a wonderful Labor Day weekend at The Inn on Shore Road in Ogunquit. The property, which has recently been renovated, is in a great location on Shore Road, just down the street from the center of town. As such, we were within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants and watering holes. The fact that we could park our car for the long weekend and not have to drive anywhere was a major draw for us. Further, the property is also close to Ogunquit Beach, therefore alleviating the need to pay for beach parking ($25!).

In regard to accommodations, we stayed in room 10, one of their pet-friendly rooms (we brought our dog with us). The newly-refurbished room was clean, fresh and commodious. The bed and linens were quite comfortable. Our room was located in the back of the inn and very quiet in spite of the property being directly on Shore Road. The common areas in the main building are tastefully decorated, warm and very welcoming. Overall, we were very pleased with the accommodations.

The staff, led by the very amiable Torri, were very accommodating and pleasant, so crucial, in my opinion, when running a bed and breakfast. In regard to breakfast, the fare consisted of coffee, quiches, juices and various baked goods. Because we stayed Sunday night, we received a voucher for breakfast at their restaurant, "Five-O," which covered a beverage and an item off their brunch menu. (Anything beyond these is an additional charge.) The breakfast was terrific here, too. Oh- and don't forget to tip the waitress on the value of the whole bill!

Some final suggestions: bring your morning coffee or a bottle of wine to the adirondack chairs on the front lawn to sit and people watch; get reservations for dinner at "Five-O" via "Open Table" ahead of your trip ; use the spoon vouchers for gelato at Caffe Prego; walk the Marginal Way; and if you bring your dog, get up early and go to Long Sand Beach in York where dogs may run on the beach in the morning and evening. (Ogunquit Beach does not allow this from April 1 through September 30.)

In sum , I will book at The Inn on Shore Road in the future for its many great amenities, and look forward to that stay in this most quaint and relaxing town.

Room Tip: Please see the pictures of the rooms on the Inn's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickd845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Shore Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Shore Road

Property: Inn on Shore Road
Address: 38 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3701 (Formerly West Highland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Shore Road has been totally renovated & is accepting reservations! Each day at the Inn begins with a complimentary continental breakfast buffet in the Venetian Room & Sunday Brunch is served at neighboring Five-O Restaurant where guests are treated to select items from Chef James Walter's Brunch Menu. The Inn's within walking distance to Ogunquit Beach & other notable destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on Shore Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Hotel Ogunquit
Inn On Shore Road Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing