We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Cooking!”

Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Post Road Tavern is a family restaurant providing high quality dinners at reasonable prices. We feature British selections mixed with American PRT Specialties. We have a full bar and nightly dinner specials. Check the web site for details.Rocky Coast Brewing is a beer brewing operation within the Post Road Tavern restaurant. It features hand crafted "pico" brews by our master brewer. His unique recipes and processes produce outstanding Ales. In this age of the micro brewed beer our Pico brewed Ales are head and shoulders above in terms of taste, smoothness and drinkability.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sunday nights feature the Chefs Specials for $9.99!! Very good deal and the specials when I was there were Lobster Mac N'Cheese, Haddock Tacos, and chicken tacos There was another special of Roast Prime Rib for $20. The haddock tacos were out of this world with a homemade tortilla and fresh veggies including avacado. However, if your like brussel sprouts, you must order the Warm Brussel Sprout Salad. Due to its large size, it is good for sharing and the flavors throughout will satisfy all your taste buds. The establishment is not fancy but it is one of the local favorites for food and beverage. Suggest you try it. Shawn was both our waiter and bartender and he did a wonderful job explaining all the dishes and the micro brews.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue425_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    42
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Post Road Tavern is a great place for down home cooking. Friendly service, and as mentioned, good food. The menu changes with the seasons and winter is great 'comfort' food. We highly recommend this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went at around 4 on Sunday. The bartender/waiter was attentive and friendly. He might be the owner as he was very knowledgeable about the beer selections and explained that they were excited to be producing their own brew in a few weeks.

Very run down but I liked it that way! Very comfortable and no pretenses. Husband and I both had burgers and they were perfectly cooked, juicy and delicious and served on yummy thick toasted bread. The fries and onion rings were great. My son's fried fish was fresh and crispy. I loved the "local color" at the bar, all very entertaining.

The table next to us of 8 ordered about 100 chicken wings and devoured them. From what I could see they were big wings-not scrawny. So will try those next time too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibbyDPortsmouth_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Time at the Post Road Pub”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It is great to see a family run establishment. We were there on a Friday night and was greeted and seated by a friendly hostess. Then quickly greeted by our waitress who was very friendly. Wanted to try their micro brews but found out we were about a week or two too early. Food was good, beer selection was good. Sat and chatted with our friends and were never rushed. Going back in October so we will stop by to see if they are brewing their own beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rfin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK option”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

An OK option if the other lcoal resaurants are closed, or for late night food. The food is fine and there are several different options. Service was just adequate on several visits.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank mainesully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing