We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views & Location, Location!”
Review of Sea Chambers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Chambers Motel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a gem of place for price and location. The view from our room on 3rd floor was amazing. We loved watching the scenery change with the low tide and how tide change daily. The OGT river is in front of the motel and the beach next to it where you see the ocean.

Marginal way entrance is short walk from motel. Breath taking walk to Perkins Cove which is beautiful quaint place with shops and food. The motel can't be beat for location to thetw shops, bars, restaurants. Get a chance go to Maxwells for bar food. Also the pizza place next to Maxwells. We ordered the white cheese lobster pizza, incredible.

The rooms are clean and large though do need updating. You can rent movies at the office as they have a dvd player in the room. They have a heated pool, which is about 80 degrees, our grand-daughter had fun! They have couple of decks to sit near the OGT and chairs in front to enjoy the amazing view.

They have a breakfast that is bagels, cold and hot drinks. The walk to get to it was a bit odd as it involves twists and turns to get to it. The breakfast and drinks are not available until 7:30am. The gal that tends the breakfast was hovering over me while I was selecting my bagel and other things, too attentive and made me feel bit uncomfortable.

The WIFI is slow and spotty at times. I do wish they would have coffee available earlier then 7:30am- they have a tiny coffee pot in room- however, the sun rises like 5am and we couldn't sleep and wanted lot of coffee in the am. We ended up driving into Wells every morning to get coffee from McDonald's. Every hotel/motel we have stayed at has always had coffee available at least by 6am...

The guests were all friendly and many repeaters who have come back year after year.

The tourists were coming into the area and enjoying the view and felt at times they were imposing when we were there. They would sit and enjoy the view and take pictures, etc.

One thing we found out was that the two top floors had corner rooms that were roped off and private- they get room service. You can't cross over the rope and go to end of building to see the views. I am sure these rooms cost more- which is fine, just didn't about the rooms and service beforehand. I would probably stay in one of the corner rooms should we find ourselves back in OGT.

We will definitely stay here again when we find ourselves in OGT. It is near all the other towns of Kennebunkport, Wells, and York. It is truly a gem of a place to stay....the pictures other folks have uploaded are just like the views and rooms.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor- for best view...and seems to be more quiet then lower and garden rooms. Corner to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ironbutterfly_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaChambers, Owner at Sea Chambers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are happy to know we are on your "return to" list - thank you. We would like to address a couple of your comments. Our coffee service and breakfast does start at 7:30, however we do offer in room coffee service and are happy to provide multiple coffee packets to our guests who request it. We are sorry you went to Wells each morning as there are couple great coffee spots right next to our property which open early. We would be happy to suggest a few on your next visit. We are also sorry you had spotty wifi service. We recently upgraded our wireless internet and are still experiencing some sporadic issues - we will continue our efforts to improve this. You also mentioned DVD rental ; those DVD’s are free to our guests so on your next stay please be sure to borrow a couple DVD’s. The corner rooms do have a rope to ensure guest privacy. These rooms have large picture windows offering great ocean views, and we rope their decks to let guests enjoy these views in the comfort of their own room without worry of someone peeking in. We do not offer room service to any of our rooms. Of course, if guests request an item that is not in their room and we have that item available we bring that to the room. We do this for all our guests in all our rooms. . We appreciate your feedback on Carol hovering at our Sea Bell breakfast. We will remind her to tame her customer service exuberance and allow our guests a little more space to enjoy their breakfast. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Sea Chambers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for one night at Sea Chambers on our trip through Maine. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate, but I cannot say enough good things about Sea Chambers. From the friendly staff to the superior cleanliness of the property, absolutely nothing to complain about! My only regret is that we were only able to stay one night. Sea Chambers is definitely on our "return to" list. Thank you Sea Chambers!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

What a find! Well kept motel right on the outlet where the ocean meets the river. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are large and clean as a whistle and the majority have a view. Talked with quite a few of the other guests and most come back the same time every year so I take it the place gets a lot of return guests so that is saying a lot. The grounds are well cared for. They have 2 decks with chairs, tables and umbrellas and a dock if you want to venture into the sea along with a pool. The location is superb. Walk to shops, restaurants and marginal way starts right up the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay here. Great location. Nice sunrise. And a very talented maid. In addition to an immaculate and comfy room we were treated to a variety of critters folded from towels. It may sound like a little thing but it takes the experience up a star.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Irishlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is a gem in Ogunquit, from the staff that are absolutely wonderful to its perfect location. The rooms are spacious and many overlook the beauty of the ocean with private balconies...our favorites. What we love most is to sit outside on our balcony or the main deck in the afteroons or before supper and just enjoy the raw beauty of the beach. Especially when low and high tide collide....wow! The water may be cold, for some, but we always manage to dip ourselves even in spring. As it is located directly on Shore Road, you get to walk everywhere....beach, restaurants, shops, the pretty and pictoresque Perkins Cove or you can hop on their daily trolleys and tour their environment....well worth it. We've been here in the spring/summer/fall and we've always loved it and never tire of coming back. Their rooms are very comfortable and spotless. Another plus to this hotel is breakfast in the mornings as you never have to go out and stand in line at the different breakfast nooks around town.... this resort has it all and in a truly beautiful setting. Of course, don't tell anyone I said so.

Room Tip: We love room on the upper floors and ocean view as you get the best lookout for the river and the oc...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for a weekend earlier this month and would definitely return again. The motel itself is directly on the and a few steps away from the Marginal Way which is a delightful walk that takes you along the ocean cliffs and ends in Perkins Cove. My husband and I walked it both days of our stay. The rooms are dated but CLEAN and that is all I care about...location and cleanliness. We stayed in room 28 which had an ocean view and if it were warmer we would of made use of the balcony outside our door or the adoroinack chairs that were situated facing the ocean. We enjoyed the quaintness of the town and of course the holiday decorations. Many restaurants were in walking distance and the motel offers a continental breakfast that is served in an adjacent gallery. We are looking forward to visiting again in the spring...can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justtravelingthru9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here last month for a weekend, enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for walking to downtown, perkins cove (if the weather was warmer) and Marginal Way. The room itself felt outdated but still very clean. The beds where clean and comfy. The TV (not flat screen) had a dvd player so that was nice. You can go to the main office and get dvds to borrow free. The free breakfast is just average. If your looking for eggs, bacon, pancakes go elsewhere. The breakfast included : bagels, cereal, english muffin, juice, bread, some fruit, coffee and yogurt. For the off season price this place was worth it. Would stay again depending on price

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brokenxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Chambers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chambers Motel

Address: 67 Shore Road, PO Box 916, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#20 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $85 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Chambers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Chambers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Chambers Hotel Ogunquit
Sea Chambers Ogunquit
Sea Chambers Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing