We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Sea Chambers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Chambers Motel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I highly recommend Sea Chambers. My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. They even have movies you can check out. It was very clean and quiet (in a good way). They have a private deck that looks out to the ocean and it is so relaxing. There are chairs, tables, and layout chairs (food and drink allowed). The pool is nice as well. Perfect location and short walk to the main beach. Continental breakfast is average and provides the normal options. Full bagels are provided with cream cheese/jelly which is nice. Rooms are a bit outdated, but they still are nice. Very spacious, clean, and it serves its purpose. We will definitely be going back to Sea Chambers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    78
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We plumped for the Sea Chambers Motel after arriving in Ogunquit late in the evening as part of a 2 week road trip across New England and although it was slightly over our price range we liked the sea views and the traditional "motel" layout which we don't often get in the UK.

The room was huge with a massive king (maybe even superking) bed which was great and although we didn't need it there were all the motel conveniences you'd need.

Breakfast was great as well, just around the corner at the adjacent cafe which consisted of a lovely little continental buffet.

Location wise, the Motel is nearly at the Ogunquit start/end of the coastal path to Perkins Cove and then the main street with Ogunquit's own bars and restaurants is only a 3-5 minute walk the opposite direction.

We'd happily stay again if we are ever lucky enough to return to the Maine Coastline in the future.

Room Tip: You really should pay a little extra for the ocean view, ours was worth it but then it was a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Sea Chambers Motel

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Marginal Way, the beach and Main Street, Ogunquit. It’s only about 200 feet to the beginning of the Marginal Way and about a 5-6 minute walk to the public beach. It was also a short walk into town.

The outside of the motel was well-maintained. The grounds were neatly kept. And it appeared that all the porch railings had been nicely updated using twisted metal cable and new top handrails. The porch flooring was replaced with a nice quality weather-resistant composite. It gave the outside a nice updated appearance.

Our room, as with about 36 or the 40 rooms, had its own view of the ocean. And, just outside each room there were outdoor chairs and a table as just another option.

Our room was on parking lot level. It had a nice new and sturdy storm door with functional storm window & screen, in addition to the solid entry door. When we entered the room we found the bed was adorned with a cute “swan” crafted from cleverly folded white towels with little ‘stickys’ as eyes & nostrils. Very creative & cute.

The room had an odd layout, though. But it was certainly not a major issue. It basically had a front room and a rear dressing area. The front room had 2 queen beds. It also had the typical TV, stuffed chairs and coffee table. There was what appeared to be a half-wall that divided the front/sleeping area and the rear area. The wall actually was a fairly large open closet which was accessible from the rear area. It also held a 3-4 cubic foot compact fridge and an iron plus ironing board. The rear area also had a desk and a bureau. Convenient. Both areas had a very nice, fresh-looking, clean carpet.

The bathroom, though a bit out-dated, was a decent-size with limited, but acceptable, counter space. The only real negative about the bathroom would be that the fllor needed some attention. The floor was composed of 1950’s-60’s tiny mosiac tiles and there were 2 corners each missing several pieces. It just appeared a bit neglected.

Another ‘negative’ I encountered dealt with the small fridge in the dressing/desk room. There was so litle clearance between the bottom edge of the fridge door and the carpeted floor that the door scraped along the carpet. It was, therefore, difficult to open the door without a fight!

An additional, and more serious complaint, was that the rear changing room had a crank-style casement window with no shade or curtain. Although it had a western exposure, when the sun came up in the morning, the light would come through the entry between the 2 areas of the room and also over the top of the half-wall to make the sleeping area fairly light too early in the morning. Nothing a decent shade or curtain couldn’t fix.

There is continental breakfast included with the room fee. We took advantage of it our first morning. The breakfast/dining room is located in the Sea Bell Art Gallery next door to Sea Chambers. A little odd, but actually quite pleasant as there was interesting art on display in the dining areas while you ate breakfast. The breakfast offerings certainly adequate. Beverages included orange juice, regular & decaffeinated coffee, and hot water for tea. If you wanted a glass of water, you needed to ask. The food options were 3 different cereals, bagels, bread and a changing variety of sweet bread. We enjoyed the lemon poppy seed. There was also fresh fruit bowl. A toaster was available for those who wished to use it. There was a single staff person overseeing the foods. She could not have been friendlier or more accommodating!

Every one of the staff members with whom we had contact could not have been more polite and warm. Every time we were outside we saw a staff person either sweeping away a puddle that had resulted from the earlier rain or wiping dew off the handrails or preening the lawn and flowers. The motel also boasts an outdoor heated pool, but we did not take advantage of it.

Of course, the question is, “Would we stay here again?” Definitely!

Room Tip: It is my understanding that there are only 2-3 rooms that do not have an ocean view. I believe they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at Sea Chambers this past weekend and had a wonderful time. My room was inexpensive & clean (and much bigger than I was expecting for what we paid), the staff was polite and accommodating, and the free breakfast at the SeaBell was perfect. The motel is right in the middle of town near all the shopping/restaurants and a 1 minute walk to the Marginal Way, which is absolutely beautiful. My only reason for not giving it a full 5 stars was the water pressure in the bathroom which was not good at all. Nevertheless, I would 100% come back and stay at Sea Chambers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelzzz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

In the past, we have tried many different motels in this town, but this was the 4th time in a row that we've stayed at Sea Chambers. Very clean and you can't beat the view. I've already booked our next visit in July!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frqnttravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm here now, I can't get out of this bed it's so comfortable! Rooms is dated but spotless and the dated things just kind if give it that 70s/80s beach vacation vibe- reminds me of when I was a kid so I like it! We spent about four hours by the pool yesterday because it was so hot and the ocean is still so cold. Pool was very relaxing. Room 34 is non-ocean view but I can see the ocean when I look out the window. Only bad thing about this room is that it juts out further than the rooms upstairs so the decking for the rooms above runs over it and I can hear people walking to and from the rooms upstairs. It's not bothering me as much as I thought it would though. Great value here for being in the center of town and so close to beach. There is also a great communal deck and the front of the property overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganmime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mystic,quebec
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've written reviews of this hotel before so I won't go into all the details but I will point out that the owners are doing a great job of upgrading the place while keeping all the charm. The new decking is great and allows a super view of the ocean as always. The photos will let you see how well done it is. We continue to book room 27 because of the day bed in the back, if our kids (young adults) decide to join us we have more space.

Not sure what the previous poster found odd about going to the gallery for breakfast, there is a walkway through the hotel. We did bring our own hard boiled eggs because I need protein at breakfast or I get crabby, others noticed and were looking for them, "why did they get eggs?", and we had to explain.

We will of course be returning to the Sea Chambers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Chambers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chambers Motel

Property: Sea Chambers Motel
Address: 67 Shore Road, PO Box 916, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Chambers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Sea Chambers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Chambers Hotel Ogunquit
Sea Chambers Ogunquit
Sea Chambers Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing