We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotch Hill Inn
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a visit at the Scotch Hill Inn, and I cannot accurately convey how wonderful this inn is. The staff is incredible. Keith and Jerry really know how to make you feel at home - whether they are recommending places to eat in town or offering you a beer on the porch. I loved coming back from the beach and being treated to lemonaid and a lemon face refresher. The location of the inn is ideal. It is centrally located in town, and you can be on the beach in minutes. Our room (the Gowen) was spotless and comfortable, as was the rest of the inn. The three-course breakfasts were superb. My only regret was not staying longer.

  • Liked — Staff, location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ebmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
162
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

For a several day stay in Ogunquit, we chose the Scotch Hill Inn based on online reviews. We were very fortunate and want to share our experiences with others. The inn is wonderfully appointed with a sitting room and gracious porch. Our room was comfortable and had every amenity including a computer with Internet access! The breakfast was not only delicious but sumtuous, with several courses including fruit, eggs/meat AND pancakes or French toast. Most importantly, the staff was passionate and engaged about making our stay memorable. Keith, one of the owners, had many recommendations and insights. One night he arranged for us to have a candlelit lobster dinner on the porch. We bought the food but he set the table, provided the crackers and corkscrew and allowed us to use the gas grill in the patio.
We will definitely come back to the Scotch Hill Inn.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Albear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 8, 2006

The Scotch Hill Inn is a truly wonderful place to stay in Ogunquit. We had the pleasure of staying in the Woodbury Room, which featured a comfortable queen bed, a flat panel television, a computer with internet and a mini-fridge. The bathroom featured a shower as well as a huge claw-foot tub (I hardly noticed the shower with a tub like that!).

The inn itself is a gorgeous Victorian style home. The furnishings and antiques were fabulous and there were fresh flowers everywhere. There was a vase of dill in the parlor which smelled wonderful and immediately reminded me of home. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is a garden area and a sitting porch which are perfect places to relax and watch the people stroll by.

The innkeepers are very attentive and offered outstanding service. The gourmet breakfast, which was different each day, was to die for! Fresh eggs, bacon, french toast, corned beef hash, and fresh fruit were just a few of the offerings.

One of the things I also liked about the inn is the location. It's within waking distance of shopping and dining in Ogunqit. The beach is just a five minute walk from the inn as is the Marginal Way - a 1.25 mile path along the rocky coast which ends in the delightful Pekins Cove. The inn is also a short drive from Kittery (with tons of outlet stores) and the wonderful towns of Portland, Maine and Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

The Scotch Hill Inn rates among the best places I've ever stayed and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

This was my second visit to the Inn. I liked it that much the first time, I had to come back to see what the two owners have been up to.
First a new paint job on the outside...fantastic, victorian charm. Then the new landscaping and patio area are a nice retreat as are the porch with relaxing music. And if you haven't seen the flowershop...WOW. This is a REALLY nice place to escape from it all. Great breakfasts, nice fluffy comfy beds, soft towels, and the ocean breeze. What more could one want?

I'll be back for sure. I hear the owners have big plans for the holidays later this year.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OregonStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2005

The best time my wife and I have had in years. The owners treated us like faimly. Everything was spotless. We were treated to wine on the front porch in the evenings and the best breakfast's we have ever had. I highly recomend it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2005

The Scotch Hill Inn has a terrific new owner, Keith, who is very attentive to guests and provides excellent recommendations. He really knows how to help guests plan their days and make the most of a trip to Maine.

The inn is tastefully decorated and spotless. The hot, full breakfasts, served on the front porch, were a delight.

The rooms on the second floor are great, but third-floor rooms are cramped and have noisy room air-conditioners. (But Keith has good ideas for making those rooms nicer in coming years.)

Overall, staying at this Inn was a pleasure. Don't come expecting peace and quiet and ocean views -- it's right on the main street. So you see cars, not waves. But if you know that you are coming to a fun, busy town -- not a remote beach -- you can have a great time. I definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 660marilyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 16, 2005

Our hosts at the Scotch Hill Inn made our visit to Ogunquit and our stay at the inn truly relaxing and memorable. They were friendly, always helpful, and thoughtful. We were welcomed by chilled champagne and strawberries in our room. They made 2 dinner reservations for us, one ahead of time for our anniversary dinner and one on our first evening there (this one was short notice, but we had reservations within an hour). Our room, #2, was clean, comfortable, and cozy (it's the green room pictured on their website). Our host's breakfast creations were absolutely delicious without being overdone. The Scotch Hill Inn has the right combination of charm, style, and grace. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,029 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Property: Scotch Hill Inn
Address: 287 Main St, PO Box 1479, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotch Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Scotch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotch Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing