We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 relaxing nights - BREAKFAST is yummy!”
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotch Hill Inn
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location is excellent if looking to ditch the car for a few days. Walk to beach, eat, shop, marginal way, etc. couldn't be easier. We don't usually do b&b (looking to get AWAY from small talk with strangers), but found this a very easy place to stay. Room was very clean and easy to relax in, Anthony and Rita were present but not in your face. Everything was great, but the breakfasts were UNBELIEVABLE. We had some decent meals on our trip, but nothing touched the breakfasts. The day 1 omelet and day 2 huevos rancheros were delicious and filling. Remember to bring bikes - ride north along the coast is a great way to see it. Early am ride followed by 8:30 breakfast ... mmm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 258 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved this place. Anthony and Anthony's mom (Rita) :-) are wonderful innkeepers. The breakfasts were amazing and Rita was delightful. She has some beautiful unique items on display and for sale. I almost didn't notice them as we were usually outside enjoying the flower garden or relaxing on the porch. It wasn't until we were having breakfast in the dining room on our last day there that I saw all the pretty things. I loved everything about our room (#4). Bed was cozy, bathroom was adorable. I will be back to visit next time I am in Ogunquit for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent one night while touring the NE with our friends.The owner Anthony is a fabulous chef , he and Rita the Inn Keeper made our stay memorable. The Inn is impeccable with lovely rooms , a charming wrap around porch in front overlooking a beautiful flower garden. hope to come back one day .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night here with our friends at the beginning of our vacation in various New England states. We were warmly welcomed by Anthony, the owner who immediately offered to help bring in luggage and make us comfortable in our 3 rooms. He has tea and coffee available, as well as some fruit selections. He likes to talk about the history of the B&B and also about places to see/things to do in the Ogunquit area. Our room was perfect - comfortable king size bed and nice bathroom, lovely public areas including two dining areas and a fabulous porch for eating as well as just sitting and visiting. The breakfast choices were something sweet and something savory. We selected the savory option and had the most delicious crepes with mushrooms and a sauce over them. This was truly gourmet dining. Rita, the Innkeeper, is very knowledgeable, helpful, and most interested in the guests and their comfort. We'd recommend the Scotch Hill Inn to everyone who wants a relaxing stay in Ogunquit at a top-notch B&B with an awesome breakfast and host/hostess! We will definitely be back Anthony and Rita.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner and I are from Arizona and found Scotch Hill Inn from Purple Roofs and chose it based on reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were looking for a quick getaway to Ogunquit and stayed two nights. The stay far exceeded both of our expectations. Location of the Inn is great! Walking distance to the beach and the village center! The Inn and the gardens surrounding it are very quaint and beautiful. Anthony, the owner and host, was super friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our bottle of wine while sitting in rockers on the front porch and were surprised with some tasty homemade afternoon snacks. We had a choice of what we wanted for breakfast on both mornings and all choices were delightful! We stayed in room 3; King size bed that was heavenly! The bathroom was a good size for us, updated and spotless. We have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTBGMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at the ScotchHill Inn. Inn Keeper Anthony and his Mother Rita made us feel very welcome without being over barring. The breakfast was delicious, Anthony is an excellent Chef. The room was very clean and all of the linens are new. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I traveled with two of my dear friends recently on a road trip to New England ,a trip planned to celebrate out 60th birthdays, and happened to find the Scotch Hill Inn, which was by far our favorite place of the entire trip! Innkeeper Anthony is an amazing cook, while his mother Rita did everything to make our stay as memorable as possible, including a chilled bottle to celebrate our birthdays, directions and recommendations to various places in the area. Breakfast was served on the front porch where you overlook the immaculate gardens, and other sitting areas including a fire pit and grill. The house was adorable, immaculate, and comfortably large. Parking is a breeze in the area behind the house. Breakfast choices consisted of eggs Florentine, blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit with homemade granola/yogurt, and a gourmet Italian frittata. Inside are assorted hot beverages, bottled water, homemade cookies (don't miss those!), umbrellas, beach chairs, and anything else you may need. The Inn is an easy walk to various restaurants, trolley stops, and the cutest little shops. The whole town of Ogunquit is friendly and hospitable. It happened to rain after we walked to the Ogunquit Lobster Pound, and because we did not have the umbrella, the restaurant owner drove us down the street back to our Inn. Later, we took the trolley tour to the end to see the town, then chose where we wanted to go back to visit. Everywhere we went, we encountered so many nice people...cannot wait to go back! Thank you Anthony and Rita for an amazing visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#10 of 26 in Ogunquit
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 26 in Ogunquit
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 26 in Ogunquit
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Address: 287 Main St, PO Box 1479, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $150 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotch Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Scotch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotch Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing