We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and Overpriced”
Review of Arrows - CLOSED

Arrows
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were invited to Arrows as part of a celebration. This was not our first time there but it will surely be our last. Beside the food being ridiculously overpriced, the portions extremely small, and the quarters extremely tight the constant interruption of the waiters before they served our food, while they served our food, and after they served our food was most annoying. We have always felt that good service should be invisible. Good luck to Arrows. After reading the last couple of reviews I can see that we are not the only ones who felt this way. I have also read Arrows reply about letting them know and encouraging open communication but I'm pretty sure they have heard all these stories before. How could they not with the column of them? And the food isn't that good so perhaps the portion size is adequate. I feel badly for the servers as well... We felt how uncomfortable it was for our server to constantly interrupt to explain what our meals were, how they were made, if they few the seasonings themselves blah blah blah. We're over Arrows.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mklats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Arrows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

RIP OFF! Have no idea how they are still in business. Food was ridiculously overpriced and underwhelming. Steelhead trout fishy. Lamb Shank oily. Seabass blah. Dessert inedible. Fake candles. Waitstaff dressed in mud brown dentist coats. Awful service. Offered bread before cocktails. Sat for twenty minutes after bread for drink order. Then constant interruptions - "How were your first few bites?" after delivery of each course. The peddling of petrified appetizers on a tray -- tacky.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowsRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Arrows, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Karen,
We were sorry to hear that you did not like the style by which we run the restaurant.
If you were unhappy with your meal, we hope that you brought this to the attention of your server, so that we could fix it for you.

At Arrows we always strive for the best possible communication with our guests and appreciate the opportunity to make fixes on the spot. The immediate feedback when our guests are in the restaurant is most appreciated. We never want our customers to leave unhappy and respectfully ask for the ability to correct issues as they arise.

Sarah
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Arrows on a saturday night in the middle of September while spending the weekend in the area. Our experience actually began earlier in the day when we stopped by the restaurant to make certain that we could find it in the evening (it can be a little challenging if you don't know the way). Intrigued by the lovely grounds and garden my wife got out to take a look. Shortly thereafter, we met Mung, a new employee at the hotel who had arrived from Cambodia only several weeks before. As experienced Asia travelers we enjoyed speaking with him and having him help us later in the evening as well as part of the wait staff. Overall, we were impressed by the cuisine and the enormous diversity and creativity of the food. I think that it's fair to say that we ate nothing that was less then excellent and well prepared. That being said, I did have one small gripe. I felt that the service, while quite good, was a little slow and non responsive to our particular needs. This was especially true when we had finished eating and wanted to leave. We had to ask for our bill 3 times before it appeared. I had the sense that they were doing the best that they could, but that they were enacting a plan that was more geared to them then to us. The lack of responsiveness was annoying. However, it didn't ruin what was otherwise an excellent and enjoyable meal in a lovely setting. We will certainly go back when next we next return to the area. This is a pricey restaurant, but we felt that it was worth it for a special evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank medtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowsRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Arrows, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review.
It is certainly our mission to make every guest have a wonderful, well rounded experience at Arrows.

Thank you, also, for bringing the tardiness of your server to our attention. We will be addressing that immediately.

With hopes of seeing you again in the future!

Appreciatively,
Sarah
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We attended Sunday evening's 25th Anniversary Dinner and will give it a 7/10. Maybe. We have been to Arrows at least six previous times and have now convinced ourselves that this has been our last. Perhaps trying to cook the same things for so many people at one sitting was the downfall.
The evening began with a reception outside in a tent that supposedly started at 6 pm, when we arrived about 5 minutes before that it was already packed. And they had heaters on that made it so uncomfortably hot it was unbearable. We saw only two of the (at least) six listed appetizers go by and only tasted one, as they were pushing this corn on the cob skewered thing that we saw most people take one bite of and put it down, so we passed.
The dinner inside was OK but not great as we had experienced on previous occasions. Lobster en papillote and lobster with soba noodles was quite good. Beets with a "dollop" (translate: nonexistent I could barely see it on my plate) of cashew yogurt were awful, no one at the table had anything good to say and no one finished them. Steelhead trout with a lemon vinagrette was also good. Duck confit with plantains was fair, tasted somewhat like the pulled pork I made in our slow cooker last weekend. Best course was an actually perfectly done scallop with soba gnocchi and mushrooms topped with a foam. Dessert was a joke - apple chunks with croutons and a small apple cake that was overbaked, all smothered in cream.
Service was poor. Although we had menus, there was no to minimal mention of what each plate was, no one came back to check once we served. Bread service came around once with no butter on the table, which was delivered after everyone had eaten their piece of bread.
Everyone at the table (eight of us) had the additional wine service for an extra $46.00 per person - which consisted of three wines for the six courses with no mention that each wine was supposed to last for two courses, and no offer to pour additional wine if a glass was empty. A bit of a rip off at over $15.00 a half glass of wine in my opinion.
There was also no mention when we made the reservation for TWO....in JANUARY....that this would be "farm table" service and you would be sitting with six total strangers. One of which was not happy with anything, and one who thought we should all be enthralled with her stories.
All is all, we can say "we were there" for a special occasion, but we will be finding someplace else for OUR next event of the same nature. Sorry I say, I have to agree with other reviewers who say Arrows has gone a but downhill and is living on past glory.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SB33Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowsRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Arrows, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear SB33Massachusetts,
Thank you for your 5 stars regarding our atmosphere.

We would appreciate if you were able to let us know who you were the night of your visit, so that we could speak more directly to you. While online ratings are very easy to post, at Arrows we encourage a more personalized conversation which enables us to speak directly with our customers regarding their concerns.

Regarding your specific complaints:
It was with open arms that we welcomed our guests to join us for our 25th Anniversary Celebration that began at 6:00. While many guests arrived 10-15 minutes early, we were certainly not going to turn them away.
You are correct that the tent filled up and became warm for some people. We are sure that you noticed that all guests were certainly welcome to browse the grounds, and by no means forced to stay in the tent. Many guests toured the gardens, visited inside the building. Appetizers were always delivered to each area of our property.

As you were aware, all the courses served that evening were presented by various celebrity chefs. Noted on the menus with the descriptions of each course, was the chef that prepared each course. As a host restaurant to these chefs, we can only support the choices of dishes that they chose to prepare.

As someone delivering each meal as well as clearing each meal, I can attest to the fact that every table was given a description of each course, sometimes by two or more wait staff, sometimes by only 1. It was a conversation we had amongst the staff every time we left the kitchen. If you or any other guests were not paying attention to our servers, we cannot be held responsible for that.

In January, we were not aware that this event was going to even take place yet, as the chefs had not yet compiled the list of special events for the year. Our records indicate that the earliest reservation for this celebration was taken in April. Again, if you could let us know who exactly you are, we could let you know the exact date that your reservation was made, as well as confirm the information that was given to the person making the reservation at the time. If that was you, or another member of your party.

The reservation system we set up for this was one that included a check list. This list noted that all customers were told about the family style seating, the dress code, the cancellation policy and the payment schedule. Every reservation in our records had all information completed.
If you have joined us 6 times in the past, we certainly hope you were direct with any issues you may have had on those occasions.

Hiding behind online reviews is not how we prefer to handle customer complaints.
Thank you,
Sarah Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Arrows and only confirmed our earlier opinion that this restaurant is a major step below the White Barn Inn.
The entire experience of the meal was spoiled by the arrogance of the manager who refused to turn on the heat despite a freezing restaurant. He at first said it was too early in the season to turn on the heat. After I reminded him that it was 38 degrees the night before the heat was magically turned on. Unfortunately the damage had already been done as my wife was already freezing. What a shame to ruin an amazing dinner and a simply lovely environment by something so petty.
In addition we had to ask for a drink after waiting 10 minutes at our table. For a restaurant of this quality this should not happen.
Finally, I think for a restaurant of this quality they possess one of the weakest desert menus I have ever seen.
We will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gumby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowsRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Arrows, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your insight on your evening. The behavior of the manager you spoke with is absolutely unacceptable and he no longer works with us.

If you choose to return, please let me know and I will personally make sure you have a wonderful evening.
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing