We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd best lobster roll we tried”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnacle Billy's

Barnacle Billy's
Ranked #23 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“2nd best lobster roll we tried”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This lobster roll was very good - the bun was perfectly toasted and the lobster was lovely. The clam chowder was good but not great. Very friendly service and a nice spot with a pretty view over the water.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kateoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    381
    266
    109
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good seafood and nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate here twice during a family vacation with our grandchildren the week before Labor Day, so the place was packed. But service was still good.

Our first meal was for dinner and the seafood was tasty and fresh. Our second meal was for lunch after we took the Lobster Cruise, and the lobster rolls were delicious. We also had a nice view of the harbor from our table outside.

I thought this was a little pricey, but then again it is very touristy, though still a pleasant dining experience. Not the best seafood I have ever had compared to some favorite places at the Jersey Shore, but still very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonizzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
255 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hadn't made it to this place on previous trips to Maine and since it is such a tourist mainstay, we felt we had to go this time. Was worth it. Lobster was good. Lobster roll was also very good. View of Perkins Cove is nice. If you want a window seat at lunchtime on a weekend, get there right as they open. After lunch, a nice walk along Marginal Way will burn off the lobster and beer calories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Lobster stew I ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Was here with my BFF for lunch after we traveled New England to meet in Ogunquit. We met for a late lunch. I ordered a cup of Lobster stew and steamers. When my stew arrived I was shocked, there was at least a cup of lobster meat in it!! This was a total bargain for $11.95. Then the steamers arrived, very tender and a very plentiful serving. Our waitress was very pleasant and efficient. My friend got the clam chowder and clam cakes which she said were very good as well.
Granted we were there in late October when it was not busy but I have to be honest, the food and service was spot on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tucker0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“C.Q.C.(cute quaint and cozy)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We walked Marginal Way down to Perkins Cove and stopped for a late afternoon glass of wine, which we enjoyed by the fireplace here. It had a great view with very friendly patrons.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnacle Billy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing