We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a disappointment!”
Review of Five-O Shore Road

Five-O Shore Road
Reserve with OpenTable
Five-O Shore Road is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School Street
Transit: Along Trolley Line – Shore Road
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We make it a point to dine at Five-O each time we are in Ogunquit and have never been disappointed. This year we brought our son and his wife to enjoy the experience and we were all very pleased with the food, atmosphere, and especially the excellent service we received from Lisa. Lisa has been our waitperson many times in the past and we are always impressed by her genuine friendliness, skillful execution of her job, and exceptional knowlege of the menu's offerings. She has always made us feel like we are "regulars" and treated our guests the same this time.

The apps and entrees were unusual and very tasty and even though we all had the same entrees, we enjoyed the entire experience. We were especially pleased since this was our son's first time in Ogunquit and the meal here at Five-0 was exceptional. Sometimes it can be difficult to find a restaurant where we feel comfortable to take friends and relatives...Five-0 has never disappointed! Keep up the good work and kudos to Lisa!!

Wendy P

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for dining with us at Five-O, and (after many wonderful visits) taking the time to write a five-star review on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled to have read that you feel like a "regular" each time you dine with us at Five-O; our goal is to make each customer feel special when seated in our dining room. We are happy to hear that Lisa only added to your excellent experience; she is definitely a fan favorite and is but one member of our hard-working and dedicated team. We value your support and compliments and we hope that you are able to dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 554 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

With the high ratings on Tripadvisor we had planned this dinner to be the dining highlight of our trip. I made the reservation days before leaving NJ for ME. The reservation was for 8 but we weren't seated until 8:20. The waiter took a long time to come to the table. He took drinks order and then disappeared. The wait was about 30 minutes to get drinks. He took our appetizer order and that arrived quickly, but the entree didn't arrive until 9:30. At these prices i really expected better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Phil6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason L, Public Relations Manager at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

While we are disappointed you elected to write a review, we are nonetheless surprised at the inaccuracy of your words. In spite of the fact that we did everything that we could to correct your concerns, you were determined to make the evening unpleasant for you and others.

First, when you arrived for your 8pm reservation, the table that you were going to be seated at had not yet left. They had paid their bill but were still chatting with tables around them. We explained this fact to you upon your arrival. This particular section of the restaurant tends to promote conversation among tables since they share a banquette and therefore diners take a little longer to finish their dining experience. We typically plan that a table for two will take about 1 ½ hours to dine with us (2 hours for a table of 4). In this section we allow a little more time due to the nature of the seating. The evening that you dined with us was such that the diners were taking a little longer and thus the reason for the wait. Our policy is never to force a diner from their table, rather allow them time to completely finish their dining experience, never wanting to rush them. Apparently you are not of that same philosophy and would prefer, if someone was waiting for the table that you were at, to be told to leave. That is not the way we operate nor intend to do so in the future.

Once you were seated - 20 minutes after your reservation time, you were immediately greeted by a bus person and offered water service (8:20pm). Approximately 5 minutes following that, you were greeted by your server and drinks were ordered (8:25pm), 15 minutes after that your drinks arrived (8:40pm).

Contrary to what you described, it was a very busy night where we had 50 more diners than last year. Our lounge was very busy and thus the drinks did take about 5 minutes longer than our normal service. Your server sensed your displeasure and immediately decided to remove the drinks from your check (a fact which you omitted from your review). Once the drinks were served, you ordered your appetizers and entrées and the server brought bread your table.

Now let’s get to the facts as supported by your dining receipt. No more than fifteen minutes following the delivery of your drinks, your appetizers arrived (8:55pm) and 25 minutes following that, your entrées arrived (9:20 pm). At this point you were demeaning to the server, saying that you had waited too long for everything and you refused to eat your entrée (although your dining partner did enjoy his). We also removed the entrée which you refused to eat from your check, another fact which you omitted from your review.

We are not a fast food restaurant and perhaps that is what you may have been looking for and we regret if our marketing materials were not clear. All of our food is made to order and the time range for the service at your table was remarkably within the range of the dining venues. You inaccurately state in your review that you did not receive your entrée until 9:30. In fact your check was settled and table closed out at 9:30.


It should be noted that these guests made such a scene that they disturbed the other diners around them; another guest seated at a nearby table commented that “it was time for them to leave”. It is unclear to me as to how the pace of the meal that I described was too long. Our chef prepares every entrée from scratch which takes time. Our environment is not one where we want our guests to rush out, but rather sit and enjoy the food that our culinary team prepares.

As is evidenced by the countless accolades that we have received in this and other outlets, the environment that we have created is what our guests want and have come to expect at Five-O. We remain committed to this philosophy, regardless of what this reviewer would like you to believe and while we have a near 90% satisfaction rating, this is one of those situations where we truly believe that no matter what we tried on this particular evening, it was not going to be satisfactory to this reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are "locals" and don't come to Ogunquit too often in the summer - it's just too busy! We came for our anniversary dinner before a show at the Playhouse and we're so glad we did. Years ago we had a family dinner and it was ok, but didn't wow us so we just haven't made it back (although whenever we can, we go to their sister restaurant next door - Prego - for the BEST pizza and gelato outside of Italy!). Anyway, we decided to give it a shot and it was FANTASTIC. Sammie was our server and she did a wonderful job - really friendly but super professional! Since we're in the restaurant business, I'm not always easy to impress when it comes to service.
The food was stunning - the blueberry martini was to die for - the setting, the staff... just can't say enough good things.

If you have the opportunity you should go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Karyn512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We also appreciate the confidence you had in us to rebound from an "ok" night several years ago and deciding to give Five-O another try. We are thrilled that you gave us a chance to redeem ourselves, and further thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations upon your return visit. Thank you for taking the additional time to commend the friendliness and professionalism of your sever that evening; nothing makes us prouder than when guests compliment a member of our hard working staff. Keep coming back for more of our great martinis, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Eat here every year because I know we will have a very good meal and the staff are friendly.The prices are reasonable and the restaurant is in a nice setting.Large windows to see the passing crowd outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive review after your recent visit to Five-O Shore Road. It was a pleasure to learn that this was just one of many great experiences you have had at Five-O. We are truly lucky to have a Chef that takes great pride in his craft, and his efforts are present in every wonderful meal that we serve. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as well; it was great to hear that when dining with us, our team is friendly, knowledgeable and professional. We appreciate your confidence in recommending our restaurant to others, and we hope that you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our second year we have had dinner here. Our seating location was wonderful. Bradley was our server and he did a great job. I had the Pollock and it was very good. Cindy had the bolognese and it also was very good. We highly recommend this restaurant and will return again next year.

1  Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your vote of confidence on Trip Advisor prompted by your recent return visit to Five-O. We love customers who visit us again and again; it is a measure of the quality food and service that we hope to provide. We value all of the familiar faces who pass through our door, whether we see them once a week or once a year. Thank you for taking the time to commend professionalism and efficiency of your server that evening. We hope that you find the time on you next trip to visit us so we may serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Five-O Shore Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing