We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five-O Shore Road

Five-O Shore Road
Reserve with OpenTable
Five-O Shore Road is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School Street
Transit: Along Trolley Line – Shore Road
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Eat here every year because I know we will have a very good meal and the staff are friendly.The prices are reasonable and the restaurant is in a nice setting.Large windows to see the passing crowd outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive review after your recent visit to Five-O Shore Road. It was a pleasure to learn that this was just one of many great experiences you have had at Five-O. We are truly lucky to have a Chef that takes great pride in his craft, and his efforts are present in every wonderful meal that we serve. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as well; it was great to hear that when dining with us, our team is friendly, knowledgeable and professional. We appreciate your confidence in recommending our restaurant to others, and we hope that you can visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    195
    52
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“2nd visit for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our second year we have had dinner here. Our seating location was wonderful. Bradley was our server and he did a great job. I had the Pollock and it was very good. Cindy had the bolognese and it also was very good. We highly recommend this restaurant and will return again next year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your vote of confidence on Trip Advisor prompted by your recent return visit to Five-O. We love customers who visit us again and again; it is a measure of the quality food and service that we hope to provide. We value all of the familiar faces who pass through our door, whether we see them once a week or once a year. Thank you for taking the time to commend professionalism and efficiency of your server that evening. We hope that you find the time on you next trip to visit us so we may serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“When the staff returns year after year there is a great thing going on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

You enter and Tori has everything under control ( as always ) . You are greeted like you were there yesterday. Move on to the bar and Gary is a real pro . Get seated by Tori and a Josh the pro waiter takes over.
By the way , the chef is also still there cranking out a great well thought out menu . There is no better place in Ogunquit , period ! It is crowded for a reason , do jump on opentable and get in on a good thing !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrvicnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor prompted by yet another great visit to Five-O Shore Road. You have hit the nail on the head- when you get the same skilled people to return year after year, including a welcoming, cordial host; a professional, efficient bartender; an accommodating, gracious server; and a talented creative chef; you should expect the amazing consistency and quality that you receive in all facets at Five-O. Thank you for recognizing the importance of the people that make up the staff at Five-O, they are truly our greatest asset. We value your support and cannot wait for the opportunity to delight you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very fine food, nicely prepared. Also, a friendly bar and all staff aim to please.
Reservations are strongly encouraged.
We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, and also for your "excellent" and succinct review on Trip Advisor. Your review, although brief, accurately sums up the impression we hope to give to those who choose to dine with us. We hope you can join us again soon so that we can once again provide you with a wonderful dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A staple for us in Ogunquit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Five-0 doesn't disappoint, although I wish it could just kick it up another notch. We shared lamb meatballs - delicious, a crudo which was OK - but uninspiring, a yellow-fin tuna tartare that was good-not great, and some chicken sausage stuffed pasta. All accompanied by a really nice Sancerre. The service was excellent even though the place was mobbed. We will go back like we always do. I wish they'd get more creative in the kitchen, however.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cperrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your many repeated visits to Five-O and your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and never dismiss an opportunity to improve. It was nice to read that you enjoyed a nice Sancerre from our wine selection; we try to keep the 120 bottle wine list both varied and affordable. While we were thrilled that you hear that you enjoyed almost everything, we were disappointed to have read that you didn’t enjoy your tuna tartar, one of the most popular items on the appetizer menu (and one my favorites; I eat it almost every day in the summer). The Chef tries to keep that dish as simple as possible- fresh tuna cut to order, granny smith apple, capers, shallot, tossed in green peppercorn vinaigrette, thereby letting the ingredients speak for themselves. We truly hope that you will choose to join us again soon, so that we may provide you with an outstanding dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five-O Shore Road also viewed

 

Been to Five-O Shore Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing