We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS DELICIOUS!”

Jonathan's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jonathan's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Jonathan's is on the Ogunquit Trolley Route!
Description: Casual, Fine Dining at its best! Serving the local and traveling public for nearly four decades! Focus on local, farm grown products from Jonathan's farm in South Berwick, Maine and using local seafood. We are a full service restaurant for families, couples, friends, parties, weddings, conferences and concerts!
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ALWAYS DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Jonathan's is so consistent in terms of delicious food and outstanding service. The last time we visited there was Mother's Day and one member of our party was running late by about an hour. The server was so accommodating, not pressuring us at all. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers while we waited. The fried calamari appetizer was outstanding and could definitely serve as an appetizer for four people. Entrees and desserts were great as well. I would recommend Jonathan's if you are looking for a casually elegant restaurant with top notch food and service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judycote1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    164
    76
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience and excellent food-Our Anniversary Dinner 6/21/12”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I went to Jonathan's to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary, We did not have reservations but were seated within 2 minutes. The host and wait staff were excellent.
I got the martini with elderberry,Ryan my waiter, recommended as I was trying to decide between two it was very good, thanks, Ryan. We were suprised when we were served carrot ginger soup with our bread. The soup was delicious and had wonderful taste and the bread was great and warm.My husband and I both enjoy lobster, but I did not feel like cracking the shells as it can get messy. We both decided on the poached lobster dinner. It was excellent, cooked to perfection, melt in your mouth lobster. The sides were also excellent the mashed potatoes were great and the vegetables were fresh and cooked to perfection a great combination.We don't usually get dessert, but it was our anniversary and we were celebrating.
I ordered tarimasu and my husband ordered apple crisp, they were both delicious and a perfect ending to a wonderful meal. I even had the waitress take our photo. Thanks, Jill.
I became curious about Jonathan from things I read on the menu and asked if he was there. My waitress, Jill said she saw him in the front earlier. As I worked my way toward the entrance I asked the host if Jonathan was in and he stated, yes right in this room. Jonathan came out of his office he was very friendly and hospitable. We spoke for a few minutes about his elderberrys and his homestead, I told him how we totally enjoyed our experience at his restaurant and how excellent the food was and that we were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary.
Jonathan, I want you to know and everyone that reads this that I will definately recommend your restaurant to everyone I know that visits Maine.
Excellent and unforgetable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationfun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calera, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice place to dine.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I only had the house salad because I wasn't feeling well. My wife had the salmon and she loved it. It's casual wear but it is a fancy place..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sooners_ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The extra mile”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We arrived just before Jonathan's closed from the Meadowmere Resort after a long10 hours in the car- they remained open for us and served a fine seafood chowder & fresh whole lobster. We had the restaurant to ourselves & never felt pressured to "hurry it up". Friendly & courteous- class act.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expect a pleasant experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Last summer I wrote a critical review after an unfortunate episode when our reservation for a family party of eight was fouled up. While that was disappointing, I was impressed to receive a call on my mobile phone a few days later from Larry, the general manager, who apologized and said he agreed with my review, in spite of insisting that it was very out of character for the restaurant. We're in Ogunquit often throughout the year, and went to Jonathan's for dinner after a Playhouse matinee last week. Wonderful time! Excellent meal, great service, and live jazz--what's not to like? We also had a chance to tell Larry in person that our evening was a complete success. Jonathan's deserves its high rating.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george_harlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing