We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK nothing special”

Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Established in 1931 the Ogunquit Lobster Pound has been proudly serving the best Maine lobster for generations. Choose your own live lobster to be boiled in seawater in the traditional Maine fashion or try one of the many offerings from our full menu. Now in our 87th year, we continue our traditions of consistency, quality, and exceptional service. We eagerly look forward to another season of satisfied customers both new, and those who have been returning for years.
westwood ma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK nothing special”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not worth the reputation that they have. other place not as pricy with great lobster....Ok nothing special.....Not super bad but just OK....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mavis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    257
    122
    58
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonifay, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST place ever!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Didn't really know what to expect, it's such a huge place lol. Our waitress was really nice and catered to us. We ordered lobster and got to go out to the pit and pick which lobster we wanted. The guys out there are friendly as well and very helpful. The lobster was cooked to perfection!! You even get a bib :) Have been craving another lobster since we left, but Florida is a long way off :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miakodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Township, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GOOD LOBSTER”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The lobster is very good, boiled in Ogunquit River water. This is definitely a family restaurant (not a quiet atmosphere) although they do not have an extensive childrens menu. Also, when we visited in July of 2013 we heard news stories that lobstermen were getting $2.75 a pound for lobsters. We still paid $19 a pound for lobsters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Food was fantastic, waiter was very good and the boys at the lobster tank were fun, informative and made this a really
Cool experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MicheleSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great lobster and Chowder”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mmmmmm! We enjoyed excellent clam chowder and hand-picked our own live lobsters from their huge tank. The staff were wonderful and the seafood was spectacular

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing