We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”

Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Established in 1931 the Ogunquit Lobster Pound has been proudly serving the best Maine lobster for generations. Choose your own live lobster to be boiled in seawater in the traditional Maine fashion or try one of the many offerings from our full menu. Now in our 87th year, we continue our traditions of consistency, quality, and exceptional service. We eagerly look forward to another season of satisfied customers both new, and those who have been returning for years.
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was very surprised at the cost of the Lobster at the Ogunquit Lobster Pound. I paid over $33.00 for a 1.75 pound lobster, which did not have a whole lot of meat inside. We went to another lobster pound, which was off the beaten path (aka Rt. 1) and paid less for twin 1 1/4 pound lobsters, which were much more satisfying. My wife ordered Scallops, which were very good. I ordered the Rasberry pie for dessert, which was a soupy mess, especially when the Ice Cream melted in to the caldera. Service was decent. I heard the couple a the next table mention that this was the first time they were able to spend less than $120.00, and the wife added "yes, because we didn't order the whole lobsters".

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank potownbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    245
    119
    56
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Claws!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Best lobster ever! Enjoyed with relatives and all four meals were outstanding. All different seafood selections were nicely portioned and prepared. Our service was excellent as well. Wish there was a place in Florida.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lobster, lobster and give me more lobster!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love this place. The Lobster Pound restaurant is a place you will never forget. The outside of the restaurant is in log cabin style with big pine trees surrounding it. A huge tank full of live lobsters where you select your lobster dinner. You pay by the pound and it comes with the trimings of the meal. It is a little high in price but then your in Maine and getting good lobster and a lovely place to have dinner. I love it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My hubby dreams of this place”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

not dress up but fairly expensive - my husband loves going out to the lobster tank and picking the biggest lobster he can find there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Love This Place”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have always had a great meal here. Dessert (homemade raspberry pie) was out of this world. Parking lot is always full, so that should be a clue that it's got good food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upstater53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing