We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ogunquit 2014 Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oarweed Cove Restaurant

Oarweed Cove Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ogunquit 2014 Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just love the view from outside (even if folks walk by constantly and stare at what you are eating, can't account for poor manners!). Simple food is just what we want here, I always get lobster, my kids love the mac and cheese and hotdog kids meals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    172
    114
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Shore Dinner Around and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Oarweed Cove Restaurant not only has the best shore dinner around but also the best view. My wife and I have been going to this restaurant for 43 years and have brought our 3 children since they little kids. We all keep coming back because it is our favorite restaurant in Southern Maine. It's has great food, a wonderful staff and parking to make it easy. If you haven't been to the Oarweed Cove Restaurant yet put it on the top of your list for the next time your in the area you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarusso50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Fried... nothing gained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

After back to back to back fried clam meals, we wanted to try Oarwoods who has no fried foods on their menu. They also don't take reservations, which was perfect for us since we never knew when the dinner bell would ring for us. We just had a couple of their large dinner salads; with a blueberry pie ala mode for dessert. It was tasty and the view of the cove with the tide going out was memorable.

I would recommend you take mosquito spray.. we were in the building that is open-air seating and there were a lot of them buzzing around. Service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ValpoInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level Contributor
303 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Gotta try the crab melt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

As a local, we thought asking an opinion of someone who works in the immediate area about this place would be a safe bet and we were glad we did! Unfortunately, some reviewers are jaded resulting in an inaccurate review. Had I followed the reviews, we wouldn't have tried this place for the first time. As I said, we are locals. As locals, we don't get out much due to the high tourist traffic and we can buy fantastic food and make it best at home. It's tough to impress me. I was impressed with the crab melt. It wasn't too fishy. Very tasty. We also had crab cakes and a fish sandwich. Both were very good, but the crab melt was definitely the best. Now, keep in mind it's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. There is real crab meat in the melt and the crab cakes without much filler. Everything is perfectly cooked/grilled. Add some fresh lemon to the crab cakes and dip in the sauce and it makes your eyes roll. The fish sandwich was perfectly cooked as well. Oh, and let's not forget the blueberry pie a la mode! We never get dessert, but we were referred to their desserts as being some of the best and it was. Some things are not homemade, which was fine by us, because you can tell they focus on the more important items, which are all homemade. Well balanced. Oh and one more thing......the staff was incredibly nice! They were warm, welcoming, had smiles on their faces, attentive, etc. Well done!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A welcome respit at the end of the Marginal Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Oakweed Cove was a pleasant restaurant with a fantastic ocean view. We were there for lunch after our walk along the Marginal Way...a must do when in Ogunquit. The service was great and the host and waitress were friendly and informative. We had clam chowder and crab rolls which were delicious. I commented to our waitress that I loved the oyster crackers that I had been served several times since in Maine and asked if they could be purchase at local grocery stores. She wasn't sure but brought me several packets to take with me. (I did find a place to buy them on line--delicious, crunchie and they don't get soggy). Always great to have a waitress who goes the extra mile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oarweed Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing