We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, good Food”

Oarweed Cove Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location, good Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We were attracted to the Oarweed after strolling the Marginal Way and seeing an ad for $16 for a quart of steamers (clam). Although the empty tables along the windows (with a magnificent view of the Atlantic) were large, they gave the 2 of us a choice. I noticed later as all the window tables were filled they offered patrons patrons sitting further inside the option of moving when the window seats opened up. Food was good, and service was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyOakdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    172
    114
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Huge thanks to everyone at the Oarweed for a great evening last night. We enjoyed the surf, the sunset, and the best grilled scallop rolls and cheese sandwiches from Bar Harbor to the Bahamas. Plus, there isn't a cleaner restaurant on the whole seacoast. Stop for the view, stay for the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Oarweed Blossoms”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We would probably have been happy enough sitting at our table and staring at the water splashing on the rocks all evening, but we would have missed out if we didn't order up a meal at Oarweed Cove.

The atmosphere is beachy and the view outstanding, how could it not be as it is situated right on the water in Perkins Cove. The wait staff was great and welcoming and the food made the visit all the more special. When we couldn't decide between two meal options, the waitress suggested we get both and split them which turned out to be the way to go.

As it was off season, we were able to enjoy the comfort of no waiting and an attentive staff (although it would appear they are always on their toes).The salmon with a mustard sauce was excellent and the broiled haddock was flakey and fresh. We didn't have room for dessert but were confident it would have been just as satisfying as the rest of the meal.

If you are looking for a good meal on the beach, this is a great option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie-says-so
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best view in town - food ok”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Chowder was kept too hot and broke. They served generic oyster crackers with it, not the better quality crackers that we got used to on our trip. The lobster salad was nice but overpriced for the portion. Service was ok and it was early in the season. We will try another restaurant the next time we visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, attentive service, average (not bad) food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is one of those times where you need an "average PLUS" rating..I can't say "very good" but it's good/fine for what this restaurant is and who it's primary audience is (people on vacation looking for the classic Maine experience). 6 of us ate last night - it was relatively quiet so easy to get a table immediately. Our server was very good - attentive, friendly and efficient. I had the seafood trio and the twice baked potato, as did a couple others at the table. For me, my appetite, the portion was fine - small piece of haddock, 2 jumbo shrimp, 3--4 large scallops, all served with a bit of stuffing/breading on top. Twice baked potato was overdone but with some drawn butter dumped on, pretty good. My niece raved about the rum punch and my husband really enjoyed his steamers. Point of being there that night was more about family and a fun environment than a 4 star dinner and the Oarweed delivered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineLab_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oarweed Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oarweed Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing