We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oarweed Restaurant with Valet Parking”

Oarweed Cove Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 99 Restaurants in Ogunquit
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Oarweed Restaurant with Valet Parking”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As you end your walk along the Marginal Way, you are greeted by the Oarweed Restaurant. The menu is mainly seafood with one alternate chicken and one meat meal. It is a pricey menu for the rustic decor of exposed beams overhead and small cafe table eatery outside.

Location is everything and the Oarweed has it. Hungry walkers coming to the end of the Marginal Way find themselves at the front door of the Oarweed. The rocky shoreline is right outside of the window and features a view of the Atlantic Ocean as far as the eye can see. Picturesque scenes near to shore change by the minute. Waves lap against the rocks and periodically a large breaker will bang its way into shore.

The half of roast chicken was excellent, tasty and juicy. We complemented it with white wine, the house green salad and warm rolls with real butter. This was a perfect meal for $15 p/person - a competitive price among the casual dining restaurants in this area.

The wait staff is attentive and plentiful and add to the dining experience in a very positive way. Enter by way of a wooden door with screen implants and there is a ramp for those who are mobility - challenged. However, be aware of the slant angle of the ramp because it is a bit steeper than most and has sandpaper embedded into the wood.

As you arrive, the first sign is for valet parking. It is at the rear of the building and not easily accessible for guests. Walkers, wheelchairs, canes and other assistive devices will find it difficult to get to the entry. There is NO parking for the disabled visitors. This is the one thing, in my opinion, that lowers the rating for our dinner visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank write2earn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    184
    117
    55
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Management Understood Special Needs”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had been to the Oarweed previously just for drinks after walking the magnificent "Marginal Way". Decided to give it a try last night for dinner with an out of town guest and our 6-year old grandson (with Autism). My husband explained that our grandson would be more comfortable outside due to sensory issues related to being inside a busy active restaurant. Mind you the restaurant was busy, but the manager told us YES of course if we could wait just a few minutes he would fix us up. Within 10 minutes he set us up with a lovely waterfront table in a fenced off area on the patio at the back of the restaurant. See the photo below that we took from our table the view at this restaurant can't be beat. Our grandson had room to move around and enjoy the outside and we (and those around us) all had a very enjoyable dining experience. Restaurants are getting better about special needs, but it was such a relieve to encounter a manger that "gets it".

The food was also very good, my husband had the seafood trio with a twice baked potato that he raved about and his brother had the baked stuffed haddock. I am not much of a seafood lover, so the chicken sandwich was perfect for me. Make sure you save room for the blueberry pie or the strawberry shortcake.........delish! We will absolutely return to the Oarweed. Oh and the valet parking was so welcome....Perkins Cove is a popular area and parking can be tricky.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Steamers were disappointing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I couldn't believe the steamers.. So small, hardly could feel it was a full clam, and small portion for the $$. The baked fish sandwich was not worth the $$.. Half of fish. This place was too pricey for what you get. Quality was not up there. They are getting the business due to location. The view was nice, that's it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catslover669303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place for Lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate lunch at Oarweed and were quite happy with service, food, and view. Our waiter was fantastic making our experience very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natureboy29a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manville, RI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual Dining BUT Great Food and Super Service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped here for a quick bit on my way to my son's wedding rehearsal, when we told the waitress of our need to be in and out of this place quickly, she was more than accomodating, she even asked if it was "OK" that our meal was going to take approximately 13 minutes to prepare!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oarweed Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oarweed Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing