We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible atmoshere”
Review of Annie's Irish Pub - CLOSED

Annie's Irish Pub
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Annie's is a traditional Irish pub owned and managed by Annie who came to Maine from Ireland five years ago.We specialize in Irish hospitality, home cooked Irish food and American favorites. The Guinness is great and we probably have the best Irish whiskey selection in New England.Try our Beer Battered Fish and Chips, Guinness Beef Stew, Bangers and Mash or Shepherd's Pie. Live Irish music every Saturday night at 8 and Sunday at 5. Open Mic on Friday at 7."Great Food, Great Hospitality .... every time", Annie
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“terrible atmoshere”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were excited to find an Irish Pub so close to our hotel, that is until we went in. There was nothing in this pub that could be confused with a traditional Irish Pub. There bar setup was odd to say the least. Those patrons wishing to sit at the bar to the left of the entrance were forced to "suck it in" and attempt to squeeze by the other patrons seated at the seats before you. There was no room for the other patrons to push in order to allow new comers to sit. I was willing to overlook this anomaly until I ordered a Smithwick's. The Barman started to pour my beer and the keg kicked halfway through the pour. I was amazed to see him keep the half he had poured and simply finish the pour when he tapped a new keg. The beer was awful and I was unable to finish it. We might have stayed for an early dinner but I was put off by the atmosphere and the inexplicable beer pour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irvine CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped by for Irish music but it was the wrong night. A customer said their finnan haddie was excellent so we went back. We didn't think it was so great but we really liked the hard apple cider. Nice and friendly in bar area. It's a new place run by mother Annie and her daughter. We wish them loads of luck. Husband bought a t shirt that shrunk too small.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indeptravelforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just ate at Anne's and it was wonderful. I had the fish and chips and it was one if the best I have eaten in years. My husband had the Irish stew and he thought is was quite good and would certainly come back again. The atmosphere is great and the staff are excellent. Anne came by to visit our table and she is clearly a very special lady with an authentic Irish flare. If you are in the neighborhood and want an excellent pub for food and drinks, this is the place.

Helpful?
Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taste of Ireland”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We miss Ireland so we came to Annie's. had great time, the beer, the live Irish music, the fabulous staff. We loved spending time there. So fun, especially if you are a fan of Ireland like we are!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lousy experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

So, full disclosure: my friends and I took this place over and completely overwhelmed the bartender. There were 40 thirsty individuals crowded around the bar and rather than being excited by the business boom the bartender was miserable. I ordered my friend an Old Fashioned and the guy goes "Seriously???" Then I paid for the several drinks I ordered with an open tab and he goes "God, doesn't anybody pay with cash anymore?" I guess paying with a credit card stops him from being able to steal from the bar owner? Anyway, it was not fun, but it was the only place open, so my advice: go to this place in case of a boozing emergency need only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danhenry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnniesIrishPub, Owner at Annie's Irish Pub, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I remember the exact night that you and your friends visited Annie's Irish Pub when you were in Ogunquit for your friend's wedding. When I read your review last September I was horrified and appalled at the bar tender and level of service and hospitality (or lack of) that you and your group received. I had a situation earlier where I had to discipline this employee but I had not realized that he had effected our clientele to this extent until I read your review.
Following the publication of your review, I terminated this employee's employment with Annie's Irish Pub as his attitude does not match the our company mission.

We offer Irish hospitality at it's best and the type of service and lack of hospitality that was shown to you does not fit with our business model.

We welcome and are open to all business at any time. We love to see people enjoying themselves and pride ourselves in our hospitality and providing a safe and fun loving atmosphere. We stay open late and the staff are there to serve you and ensure that you have a fun filled vacation when you come to Ogunquit and Annie's Irish Pub.
I apologize to you and your friends and want to assure you that we are 100% committed to providing a wonderful fun place for all visitors and locals in Ogunquit.

Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing