We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Water Restaurant”

Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I had a Cajun Chicken Sandwich and my wife had the Crab Cakes. Not good at all. The Crab Cakes were 90% stuffing and the quality of the Chicken was poor, very poor. This is the second time in a row we've had bad meals there. We will not return.

5  Thank BostonFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

We like this place so much we came back again. The rooms are still tiny, yes, but the beach is a stone's throw away and I don't go to the beach to spend time in my room. There is good A/C, but we rarely had to use it as the ceiling fan did just fine most of the time. No telly, but there's so much to see and do in Ogunquit I can't imagine bothering with it. The place is older but immaculate. We had a spectacular view of the Ogunquit River estuary. There is an estuary beach right across the road which is perfect for families. A family with teens could rent several rooms with shared bath for an affordable vacation.

Roger and his staff continue to be laid back and flexible. Roger's a good manager--his staff stays for years, the food is good and served quickly and things run smoothly. The restaurant is the centerpiece of the operation--if you arrive at mealtime someone will toss you a key, show you to your room and catch up with you in the morning for check in. Meanwhile, you can enjoy a meal or immediately hit the beach. We had a wonderful spinach-based salad with fruit, some feta cheese and other delights and split a terrific pasta Bolognese for lunch one day. There was plenty for each of us and it was such luxury to roll off our beach blankets, walk a few feet and be served a delicious meal.

Should it rain and that room get a wee bit close, the town center is about a block away. Lots of interesting shops, cafes, no honky tonk, a small in-town amateur theatre (the Booth Theatre) to entertain you or you can pay more for Ogunquit Playhouse's professional offerings. On a nice day it's a mere mile and a half walk along the breathtaking Marginal Way to Perkins Cove.

Blue Water Inn has become our Maine home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuckladyNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We spent the morning on the beach and then decided to try a late lunch at the Blue Water. I'm so glad that we did! They served arguably the BEST clam chowder and lobster bisque we found all week. Huge whole clams in the chowder and large chunks of lobster in the bisque. What a surprise from a little place. The lobster roll was also very good and the service was friendly.

At first, I was a little concerned to stop here, since we were still in beach attire, but so were a few others and it didn't seem to matter one bit. We sat on the deck overlooking the Ogunquit river/bridge. The decor is nothing to get excited (plastic chairs) about but it was a beautiful view and overall a perfect lunch. Try it if you're by the beach. Much better than standing in line at the takeout window!

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank samry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Very reasonably priced for incredible location. The place hasn't had a renovation in quite a while, but the rooms are very functional and clean. Best part is incredible location a hundred yards from the beach and overlooking the tidal river. It is also a quick walk to town cneter fo a sandwhich, coffee/tea or groceries. Roger the owner is very friendly and accomodating as is the rest of the staff. The restaurant is first class and has the best seafood in town, a definite place to try. Ask for room #9 which has its own deck that overlooks the tidal river, beautiful place to read, have breakfast and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank icycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

The pan-fried Haddock is superb, fresh, firm, flesh, tasty, wonderful breading, all served in a wine sauce. Fabulous. Also, try the Garlic shrimp, HUGE, fresh, wild, perfectly prepared in garlic and butter. Clam choder excellent. Everything in this restaurant is a delight. We've been going there 4 years and have never been disappointed. Early Bird 4:30-5:30 offers a real saving on price. Beautifulview from the patio.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank dmross41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Try the Seafood Medley. It has succulent samples of broiled haddock, scallops, shrimp, and Maine Lobster chunks in a buttery juice; quite filling. So delicious my mouth is watering as I write this. Eat outside and enjoy the view of the river down on the Ogunquit waterfront. Even if the weather is cool, the outside can be enjoyed amidst the pleasant warmth of outside heaters.

1  Thank sleuthMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2005

The only good part about this place is the view towards the Ogunquit River.The rooms are the size of small closets.The window air conditioners are noisy and there is no air conditioning any where else.It was 95 degrees when we were there.There is a small TV with an antenna and no remote.I guess you don't really need a remote with the size of the room.The service and the food at the restaurant was extremely lacking.On top of everything it was rather expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank m77andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant

Address: 111 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03097
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant is an ocean-side establishment that has been in the same location since 1974. The Blue Water combines world-class dining with an intimate, European-style Inn and two fabulous bars. Eat and drink to your heart's content on our waterfront deck, enjoy the beach and all Ogunquit has to offer, then retire to your cozy room and let the ocean lull you to sleep. Friendly owners and accommodating staff will ensure that your stay is all you could ask for, whether you are with us for a weekend or a week! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Inn Beach House And Restaurant Hotel Ogunquit
Blue Water Inn Beach House And Restaurant Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing