We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room great location”
Review of Gorges Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gorges Grant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great room great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Warm greeting and the stay got better. Nice room. Touches like coffee in the lobby from 6a.m to 11. Location is out of the major congestion of Ogunquit beach but only about 3 blocks north of it. Convenient for driving to Wells where we had an excellent meal at Michael's lobster restaurant. No "cons" for this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogelio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    149
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
151
283
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middletown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Spent the last four days at this hotel and have stayed here the last three years which indicates the quality of the hotel matches its expense and my desire for a clean, accomodating hotel. The desk staff is very pleasant and the complimentary morning coffee piping hot. The bed comfort is 7 out of 10 with the pillows being slightly on the too soft side.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychoscarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed there several years back and had a great time there. Just a bit far out of town for it to be a short walk but the trolly saved the day! The town is fantastic and would recommend this hotel to others - and have - who also enjoyed it!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We are a discerning, professional couple from Toronto who travel to Ogunquit once a year with 2 small children (aged 4 and 6) in tow. Having stayed at a variety of different places, we've decided to go back to the Gorges Grant in 2009 for a variety of reasons. While the location is not ideal (it's a minor trek to the beach), the hotel is clean and child-friendly, the rooms are quite large, the staff is very friendly, and overall, the hotel is good value for money (although the decor is bland and characterless, the Bath & Body works amenities in the rooms are a great bonus). There is free parking directly outside the hotel, it is close to lots of great restaurants (especially the Ogunquit Lobster Pound), and is directly on the bus route going into town - a 5 minute ride or a 10-15 minute walk. In addition, the hotel has a great indoor, as well as outdoor pool - which is terrific if the weather on your trip does not co-operate.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The first time in Maine, we were hoping to have a relaxing time, enjoy the beach, eat fresh fish and have restful nights. We found all this in Ogunquit. Most importantly the hotel was very kid friendly. We had a spacious room with a separate bath/shower. Our 2-year old son had "almost" a private space for himself in the foyer area outside of our bath room. The hotel provided a full-size crib. The room had a coffee maker, fridge, wet bar, TV and a spacious sitting area where our son played with his cars and blocks. The hotel foyer offered fresh coffee each morning, a quiet place to sit, read the newspaper or check out the internet. The pool was a nice alternative to the beach with a resort-like environment. Breakfast was good and utilizing the breakfast coupon offer was a great deal. The Egg & I (100 yds from hotel) breakfast restaurant was our primary choice. The Lobster Pond across from the Egg & I offered very good lobster and sea food (albeit a bit pricy). The Front Porch Restaurant was the best dinner in town. We definitely come again! The hotel is within walking distance to downtown Ogunquit. We also took the Trolley to/from the beach (Trolley stop right in front of the hotel), very affordable compared to parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCJ_Yardley_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I am a bit surprised by some of the negative reviews I have read on this hotel. Our room seemed to be brand new. The hotel was extremely clean. There is a large outside pool and a decent size indoor pool. The folks running the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is not located on the water and it is a short ride to the shops in town. I believe the trolley stops right at the hotel. You can walk to the Egg & I (breakfast) and the Lobster Pound (dinner).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lebanon, NH
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We went here for a long weekend to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. While the hotel is near the sea coast but not on the shoreline it is centrally located and well appointed. It was quiet and soundproofing seemed to be very good. The lobby has a welcoming atmosphere with a fireplace and access to a computer. Just off the cheerful breakfast room faces the woods and the menu, while more limited than the Maine Diner, provided good fare at a reasonable and competitive price. The wait staff was pleasant and effieient. The heated pool and hot tub were well maintained. the exercise room was small but had the basic equipment. We plan to return at least once a year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredchief_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges Grant Hotel

Property: Gorges Grant Hotel
Address: 449 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gorges Grant Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Gorges Grant Hotel in the beautiful seaside community of Ogunquit, Maine. Our non-smoking facility offers guest rooms with one king or two queen sized beds. The rooms have private baths, free high speed wireless Internet access, high definition cable television with multiple premium movie channels and on-demand programming, voice mail, coffee maker and coffee, refrigerator and individual climate control. We also feature indoor and outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi and a well-equipped fitness room. The hotel also provides free local telephone calls and free parking to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gorges Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gorges Grant
Gorges Grant Ogunquit
Gorges Grant Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing