We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location !”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Great place to stay .If you're into modern ,this is not your place, cute old house with very clean rooms and incredible lawn with views.Two,three minute walk to everything ...loved it !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainelovah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 256 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed one night Oct. 3rd, Booked late , so probably received the least desirable room. Room was clean but cramped. Bathroom is in need of repair.Very few places to plug anything in. Steps leading down to view the ocean are in disrepair . My wife had her foot caught in a large hole in the top step and fell the rest of the way down to the paved sidewalk , ruining her new shoes and cutting both knees. Owner was informed the next morning. His lack of concern was a surprise . The location here is nice , but there are much better options all around this village. Trust me ... Do not go by the # 2 Tripadvisor rating on this one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank icema196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

After reading all the reviews I was really excited to stay here but upon arrival the person who checked us in was really rude and unhelpful. We like to think we are pretty easy guests but she was abrupt and not willing to even answer general questions. The Inn is lovely, the rooms are comfortable and the location is good but in these tough times you would think that the staff would at least be friendly and personable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catchthewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here for only one night in room M5, Spacious, Clean room for 3 and the thing that I remember the most is the view of the ocean from our hotel room. waking up to see a sunrise off the water was unbelievable !! Also in the heart of the small town of Ogunquit, so you can walk to dine out or go to the beach, and also this is near the Marginal Way, a walking path overlooking the ocean. would easily stay here again when we come back to Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pdelis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Just recently had the pleasure of returning to the Marginal Way house and had the once again pleasure of enjoying the inviting, cordial and informative staff. At the time of leaving
we thought we had checked the room for all our belongings and found that when we returned home we did not have our camera. After contacting the office, the called us the very next morning and told us that they had indeed found it and would have it in the mail ASAP. I would like to thank the staff again for their quick and immediatge response.
Will definately be visiting again soon. Sincerely JoAnne Klein

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lads59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

This was my first time staying in Ogunquit and I would stay here again and again. My sister has stayed here before and we decided to meet her and her husband for a few days. The Marginal Way House is right in town, but down a quiet street overlooking the water with picturesque porches and great grounds. We all had rooms on the third floor of the main house and our rooms were big, clean and charming. The staff is extremely friendly and so helpful. Yes the bathrooms are a bit small and outdated, but fully functional and clean. This place is super convenient to restaurants, shops, the beach. The only time we drove was to go to the Ogunquit Playhouse, which was as charming and wonderful as the Inn! Also, the Front Porch had delicious food (lobster risotto!) and a fabulously fun piano bar! Cafe Prego had great coffee (the coffee at the inn is a bit weak) and delicious sandwiches (lobster panini!) and the Wild Blueberry Cafe had great breakfasts (lobster benedict!) and they are all within walking distance of this great inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Manuela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We loved this hotel, the staff are friendly and relaxed and the small collection of buildings quirky and homely. Down a very quiet side street with a view that looks over the sea inlet and right onto Ogunquit beach. There's a great front lawn with plentiful loungers, a real sun-trap though there are umbrellas for a bit of shade too.

We stayed in the Wharf House part of the hotel, this is a converted beach house and very cozy and comfortable. It isn't modern spec. though, if you're used to corporate or chain conformity then this probably isn't for you. If, on the other hand, you have a bit of character and independent spirit then you'll love it.

Very good value too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank koworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range: $124 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing