We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location - Great View”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here site unseen and it is exactly as pictured. While the rooms are dated, they are clean and the view from one of the rooms with an oceanfront view was awesome - watching the tide come in and out from the balcony and seeing the sunrise is worth the décor of the room.

Great location - right on the Marginal Way and walk to everything.

Room Tip: Get one of the six (I think) rooms that are right on the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 256 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked the hotel on the day, as we were breaking the journey from Bangor, Maine to New York. The location is right on the waterfront and the view from the Wharf House is very pleasant. The Wharf House is one of the smaller buildings (there are several making up the hotel). The room was adequate, if a little dated in decor and fittings, which looked as if they had been gathered from several thrift shops. The main bed was comfortable, but the single in which my daughter slept had quite an alarming tilt, which was due to a collapsed divan base. Luckily it was towards the wall, so she did not fall out!

They do not do breakfast, and you have to walk over to the main building to get coffee as there are no facilities in the Wharf House itself.
The real irritation was that we were quoted a rate of $129 on the phone, but were charged $149 when we arrived. I queried this and was told that "the person you spoke to must have got it wrong - the tax rate changed today". This was a really transparent and lazy lie, as the rate did not include tax anyway and, when the bill was done, it included tax at the same rate we had been paying all over Main for a week! As we were too late to find anywhere else, we paid, but it left a bad taste - the man on duty the following morning was more pleasant and helpful, but his colleague (who disappeared outside for a smoke before we had a chance to ask about local restaurants) has already done the damage.
You may feel the location is worth putting up with the deficiencies, but make sure you get a witness to the quote you are given.

Room Tip: The Wharf House (room 5) has a nice view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mototripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I now live in Chatham, Cape Cod, Mass, and here we have Chatham Bars Inn and Wequassett Inn, with outrageous rates - albeit first class rooms, views and service......I first visited the Marginal Way House about 20 years ago and went once a month every month from May - October. I then moved to Cape Cod and stopped going as I lived by the sea......I returned last year for the first time in at least 5 years and remembered how much I loved it there! Yes, it is an older place, but it is clean, staff is delightful and helpful, and as many of your reviewers have stated....spectacular views, fantastic location......to me, it's a New England Inn personified....and although some reviewer felt it could be "updated" for very little money, I chuckled - Ya right ! An old New England home is NEVER updated for very little money! I am returning again next weekend (October 2013) and am counting the moments to sit on the front lawn and watch the change of tides!
Donna Maiocca

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view! I love #1 for the separate bedroom, kitchenette and lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlmaiocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We also had some reservations about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but we are glad we ended up choosing this hotel. We stayed in the motel part of the property, which was right on the river which fed into the Atlantic, so the views and the tides were amazing. The room itself was basic, and sure it is not overly updated with granite in the bathroom, but really that was unimportant. What was important was that it was clean... and did I mention the views? It had its own little piece of lawn with lounge chairs to appreciate that view. It was also really close to everything--the Marginal Way walk, the beach, and town. Also, they took our dog even though apparently they don't do that until the off season; I guess it was close enough, being the end of August, so that was nice of them. We met people on both sides of us who had been coming there for years, so that says something about the place as well. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because, although they did serve coffee and tea in the main house in the morning, it would have been nice if they served maybe muffins or donuts as well. Overall, though, we had a great time; Ogunquit itself is very charming. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myjaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had the chance to stay there for two days. Didn't have any reservations and they were kind enough to give us a rebate on the room. It was an ocean view room, only thing missing was a balcony. We had a huge window and we lucky enough to see an amazing sunrise from our bed. No breakfast included but coffee available. I would suggest a basket of muffins available in the morning. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The long chairs and table on the grounds were greatly appreciated. Great place to stay. Close to everything. We walked everywhere. I would only suggest a firmer bed.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Issybella00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a room with a deck that was right over the river water with a view of the ocean and the beach across the way. No phone, no restaurant, so nice and quiet. Clean and spacious enough for two. Nice and close to town and food, shopping, and the Marginal Way. Nice people and coffee in the morning! Would stay there again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the motel on the water. We were on the second floor and got a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PatootB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great setting with ocean view, quiet dead end street (other than walking path to beach), large lawn area (lounges and chairs provided) between motel and ocean (sea wall). While we were there several people on lawn at table enjoying lobster, wine & dessert...great spot for it. Plenty of on-site parking. It's a small older building with character...big covered porch with chairs/tables overlooking ocean and large enclosed room adjacent...nice spots to get out of sun or rain/sprinkle and still enjoy the view. We only had a room for one night on our way through. It was decent, clean and had comfy bed. No pool, hot tub or amenities here...it's not a resort with kids running around/jumping in pool. If you want a quiet place for short stay right in town with convenience of shops, restaurants, walk along Marginal Way to Perkins Cove, etc., I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newby41641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
0 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#27 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $125 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing