We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice oceanfront location, easy walk to beach, shops & restaurants”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice oceanfront location, easy walk to beach, shops & restaurants”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great setting with ocean view, quiet dead end street (other than walking path to beach), large lawn area (lounges and chairs provided) between motel and ocean (sea wall). While we were there several people on lawn at table enjoying lobster, wine & dessert...great spot for it. Plenty of on-site parking. It's a small older building with character...big covered porch with chairs/tables overlooking ocean and large enclosed room adjacent...nice spots to get out of sun or rain/sprinkle and still enjoy the view. We only had a room for one night on our way through. It was decent, clean and had comfy bed. No pool, hot tub or amenities here...it's not a resort with kids running around/jumping in pool. If you want a quiet place for short stay right in town with convenience of shops, restaurants, walk along Marginal Way to Perkins Cove, etc., I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newby41641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    51
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
79
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

First the positive, this was a very clean hotel with an incredible helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in one of the oceanfront rooms, and the views are spectacular. As others have mentioned, however, the buildings do need some work. But they are not unsafe, nor do they distract from the beauty of the location.

The most unpleasant aspect for my wife and I was the smoking policy. As I said, we had a room right on the water where we hoped to enjoy the beautiful sights, sounds, and smells of the ocean. Unfortunately for us, one of our neighbors was outside our room on the shared deck smoking a cigar on a regular basis. The hotel allowed this activity, and instead of the wonderful salt air, we had to deal with cigar smoke wafting into our room every morning and evening.

I would strongly suggest the management of the Marginal Way House ban smoking on those oceanfront decks, and instead create a smoking area somewhere else on the grounds where it will not cause guests to smell smoke instead of the incredible Atlantic Ocean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This motel consists of 5 different buildings, a main house with porch overlooking the ocean, and 4 other buildings with various types of accommodations. There's a large, well-landscaped yard that's available to all guests, perfect for relaxing at the end of the day. The accommodations are not fancy, but everything is very well-maintained and exceptionally clean--there isn't a speck of dust anywhere, the linens and towels are fresh and the daily maid service ensures any beach sand you might drag in is taken care of immediately. We have stayed here 3 times, and because we love to go to the beach, this location is ideal. It's situated overlooking the town beach, and it's a short walk (even with beach chairs and a cooler) to get there. And with Ogunquit's bustling restaurant scene just a few steps away, it makes walking to evening entertainment easy, too. The staff are extremely friendly and responsive to requests. There are fridges in most rooms (recommend checking with hotel to confirm).

If you're looking for upscale accommodations with a lot of frills, The Marginal Way House isn't for you. But if you want nice, clean, convenient accommodations with a knock-out view, I'd recommend checking it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eg413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Marginal Way House & Motel is situated right on the Atlantic coastline of Maine. The rooms although basic have TV and internet, coffee is available in the morning from thermos flasks on the patio and all rooms are en-suite. The rooms are set in seperate blocks with 6 rooms facing the Atlantic, although all rooms are very close. There is a grassed area suitable for relaxing in and ample parking. The hotel is situated very close to the Marginal Way (hence the name) and also within walking distance of bars and restuarants. We had a truly wonderful stay and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JojoCeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have to agree with one of the reviewers: this place does require an overhaul. However, in spite of its age, the Marginal Way House is absolutely lovely. Great location, at only a few minutes walk from the beach, Ogunquit downtown and the Marginal Way. Clean and quiet with an exceptional view over the ocean. This is not our first trip here, we love it and keep coming back, never get tired. Will not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: The Dockside motel has the best views over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Room 11 in main house Sept 29. Checked reviews and booked here for one night. What is drab and dated in a hotel or motel is quaint and charming in a guest house, as this spot is. Enjoyed location, decor, ambience and crashing waves. Just as advertised, and better views than higher rated spots we've visited before. Perfect get away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I should have read these other reviews more carefully before booking here! The location is great and the views are wonderful, but that's where it ends. While the staff (maybe the owners and their family?) were nice, I think that they just don't have a clue about how old, outdated, and in need of repair this place is. The bathroom was so old I didn't even want to use it. The sink would not drain so my husband took it upon himself to clean the drain in the middle of the night--disgusting. They left shampoo bootles that were obviously re-used and not even full, the refrigerator was rustly....I could go on and on. And it's really too bad because they have a great piece of property that I know I could make into a world class inn with not a lot of money. If you are used to motel type rooms you might be OK with all of this; if you usually book higher end hotels with granite, etc., this place will not meet your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Property: Marginal Way House
Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing