We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing place on earth...”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most relaxing place on earth...”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We love the Marginal Way House and everything it offers. The emaculate rooms, the spectacular view, the amazing, friendly and accomodating staff. And we have met such wonderful guests year after year. It makes us feel as though we're coming back to visit 'family'.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine01945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    57
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
60
112
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My family has been going to the Marginal Way House for more than 20 years. We have remained loyal to a motel that remains loyal to us. If you are looking for room service and a false sense of friendship than this place is not for you. The marginal way house is a quiet retreat on the ocean that allows anybody to relax and enjoy the best of Ogunquit. I have stayed i every room and i will say that you will not be disappointed! The rooms do not feel like hotel rooms. It is like waking from your kitchen at home into a new bedroom!From this location, you are never more than 5 minutes away from good food, excellent shopping and great times!
Keep up the good work Geoff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noah514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed the long weekend, and though the staff was helpful on the phone, we rarely saw a soul during the weekend. The office was often unstaffed, and there are no phones in the rooms, so you can't call if you need anything. (We needed towels and extra pillows.) I asked a general question about the area from one of the staff who was cleaning, and though he spoke English, he simply said "I don't know, I'm a Russian student." NOT very helpful, at all -- ?? The guests were very cliqu-y, and no-one even spoke to us. I was very disappointed. There is a reason this place is cheaper than most. There seems to be a yearly group, and very very cliqu-y.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gianna377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My mom and I decided to make a 3 days trip to Ogunquit at the very last minute and we got the last room available. What a surprise! Charming victorian house with a breath taking view. The location is perfect, since everything is within a walking distance. People there were very helpful and the owner even talks French, which gave a plus to our stay. Of course, room could need a little refresh, but with The Marginal Way House, it is a part of the deal. No doubt on the perfect cleaniness of our room. I will definitely stay again to this hotel and I recommend it for people who likes nice and quiet places without the fancy part. You'll be charmed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie-Laul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This place is clean, very well located with a fabulous view over the ocean and not too far from the beach. The staff is limited in number, but friendly and helpful. Certainly old fashion, romantic and charming. Although there are different rooms available, mine was on the third floor without an elevator, a bit cramped and in need of repair. There is no phone in the rooms and no restaurant. Not up to the price I paid.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We recently stayed for a few nights at the Marginal Way House and enjoyed its location and comfort. It is more of a guesthouse than hotel with a wide variety of rooms and suites with kitchenettes. The place is exceptionally clean but a few upgrades to worn out items would not hurt - new blankets and sheets are needed and the room we had was also in need of mattress replacements. Complimentary coffee is available in the mornings; free WiFi is in the entire building and on site parking (one car per room) is great as one can walk to town and beach within a few minutes. Overall a very pleasant but not exceptional stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Great place to stay .If you're into modern ,this is not your place, cute old house with very clean rooms and incredible lawn with views.Two,three minute walk to everything ...loved it !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainelovah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Property: Marginal Way House
Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing