We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

I've been to Sparhawk twice and couldn't be happier with each stay. The people go out of their way to assist you at all times and the property is beautiful. It is an older property but you would never know it...stay here and enjoy the best view in Maine. I don't think there's a room on the property without a good view (at least from the main part of the inn).

I've also stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage. It's perfect for a family.

Whoever keeps the grounds needs a raise!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysontheroad2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    44
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
73
126
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

There's nothing else to say but this is the best hotel in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBellStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

We booked the 2 bedroom suite. It was spacious and very comfortable and the view over the sea wall spectacular. We walked the Marginal Way each day that we were there and enjoyed the gardens that lined the path. This is a beautiful spot and we all felt that the staff were pleasant and helpful. We definitely hope to stay here again,

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

I can't think of a better place to stay in Ogunquit. The oceanfront rooms right above the seawall have an awesome view of the coastline and the rising moon. The resort sits right at the start of the Marginal Way which winds its way down to Perkins Cove. Turn in the other direction and in two minutes you are in the middle of the village with its multitude of restaurants and shops and what equates to "night life" in Ogunquit.. The rooms are well kept and decorated and you are surrounded by flower gardens that have been featured in national magazines. In our experience, the staff is outstanding and goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one.

The only downside is that it's almost always fully booked months ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Had a lovely stay at the Sparhawk last weekend. Our room on top of the seawall was as close to the ocean as you can get and still be inside. We could watch the tide come in and go out from the very comfortable club chairs in front of our window. The balcony was more than sufficient for our needs. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was great with hot made on premises muffins, and the grounds are quite lovely. If you are a gardener you will really appreciate the Sparhawk. The staff was helpful and there was an atmosphere of peace. I highly recommend the Sparhawk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

I located the Sparhawk through the Tripadvisor website, but was concerned about some comments related to the staff/management. I took a chance and am so glad I did.
The location (within walking distance of the heart of the village and directly on the ocean) is top notch! The front desk staff were all friendly and very helpful when I asked about dinner recommendations. I forgot my purse at the restaurant and they made the call to arrange for it's return even though the restaurant wasn't open in the morning. The room was clean and spacious. Even though the resort had only been open a few days after the winter break, everything was up and running. There was plenty of variety and a lovely dining area for the continental breakfast. Outstanding value!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0nnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

There is no denying the physical beauty of The Sparhawk Resort and it´s superb location in Ogunquit. But I unfortunately must agree with those who have written about the behavior of the management of this resort. Their unpleasant attitude is quite a disconnect from the outward appearance of the grounds. I do not require excessive friendliness or an overly-eager attitude to please when it comes to customer service - but an unpleasant, disagreeable attitude that borders on the belligerent is simply not what I or anyone else should get as paying guests. I´m happy to hear the majority of the reviewers had such positive experiences at this place. To the others who wrote less-than-flattering remarks, I know exactly what you´re talking about (!). Hopefully, the proprietor(s) will take notice of this problem and make the necessary changes to their management.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing