We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Right on the water”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on and off for years and like the fact you can get a room right over the sea wall, open your porch door and listen to the waves all night.

The room are not fancy, but they are startlingly clean. Everything is simply immaculate, which is hard to do when you are so close to the water and sea air. The flowers are carefully manicured.

The hotel is at one end of the marginal way. People will walk over the right of way right through the gardens (they are very respectful and it is a great walk slightly longer than a mile). It connects Perkins Cove to Ogunquit. A continental breakfast is thrown in, which is very nice. They serve coffee and tee pretty much 24x7. You can have it in the dining room or take it to your room.

There is a heated swimming pool, which is nice because the Maine ocean can be a little bit cold.

There are a lot of REALLY good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    45
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
78
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sparhawk is really a find. They are normally booked up for summer by February! Last year we planned a last-minute trip and were lucky enough to get 3 nights in the Sparhawk - we had to change rooms but it was still worth it. The rooms themselves are average - nice-enough but basic motel style - clean and comfortable but nothing special. What makes the Sparhawk is the oceanfront rooms and balconies - completely transformative! It was hard to leave our decks - the views, smells, sounds of the surf were hypnotizing.

Room Tip: Oceanfront motel room. They also have bigger rooms / suites set back from the ocean, if you want mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TresLeches25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a welcoming & comfortable rm in the Ireland House - ocean views & a private balcony. Small living rm area - 2 armchairs,loveseat and flat screen tv. Very clean.
The only complaints is that the bathrm is quite small & the refrigerator as well. Continental breakfast is included in rm rate but is served cafeteria style. Grounds and pool are lovely. Staff friendly & helpful. Great location - no need to move the car. Will be back!

Room Tip: Hir Flor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Full disclosure , we booked this hotel for a couple's getaway but it was just too nice not to share with our 3 children ages 4 to 23 so after the first "romantic" evening, the family drove up to join us.
Great experience both nights. The room was generous and the ocean view from the patio was stunning. Very reasonable continental breakfast is included as is unlimited tennis , with free racket rentals! It is located the perfect walking distance from town so it isn't noisy like some of the others and the staff and front desk people go out of their way to give suggestions and make you feel welcome. It is just what we hoped a weekend in Maine would be !

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a full ocean view, they have less expensive rooms across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been coming here for 10 years and love this place. They have great customer service and a wonderful continental breakfast with boiled eggs, fresh baked goods, cereals yogurt etc. I generally stay in the Ireland House which has 2 queen size beds a sitting area, full bath and a wonderful front porch or deck that faces the ocean. They take great pride in their gardens and keep the facilities up to date with new decorating and furniture every few years. This year we noticed new granite steps outside and LED light fixtures. It is a short walk to town and we are always pleased to visit and it never seems long enough.

Room Tip: The oceanfront building is just that but the Barbara dean and Ireland House have oceanfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had the best time, the view unbelievable and the breakfast awesome, the location breathtaking. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our first time at the Sparhawk, now wouldn't think of going anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main motel overlooking the ocean, the view unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mldankese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at several inns along shore drive. I like the Sparhawk main inn because the porches off the rooms are right on the ocean. It's very relaxing to have the ocean so close. Friendly, clean, central to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baddogBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing