We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average Views & Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above Average Views & Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My extended family (13 of us total) stayed in various locations at the Sparhawk Resort this past summer. Clean, friendly, and family owned, this property consistently sells out for the season and even has a wait list. We will definitely be returning (and have been for many years).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BPilgrim101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    44
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
73
126
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Sparhawk is a nice little motel with great prices and an incredible view of the ocean. While I had little contact with the front desk people, I can tell you the housekeeping staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is a great location to explore the Southern Maine coast from

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jlambbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

From check in to check out the staff was welcoming and helpful! The rooms overlooking the ocean were spacious, clean, and warm! The grounds were beautiful and decorated nicely for autumn. Very nice complimentary breakfast included in your stay! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have been coming to Ogunquit in the fall (Sep-Oct) for the last 30 years and always stay at a small family-owned hotel on Wharf Lane just off Shore Drive, but because this was a last minute decision to come to Ogunquit, our hotel was full. That is how we ended up at the Sparhawk for the first time and we were not disappointed. Luckily, we got the last ocean- front room for four nights at a very reasonable rate for ocean-front properties. Our room was spacious with two swivel easy chairs (perfect for reading or snoozing) directly facing the ocean. We were so close to the water that at high tide it came almost up to our balcony. The housekeeping service was flawless and very prompt.

This is a beautiful property with plenty of parking and immaculate gardens and colorful flowers everywhere. The office staff was very friendly and helpful and couldn't have been nicer. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in while away from home.

The only thing lacking, if that is important to you, is a fireplace in the room. We didn't miss it, though, even with a chill in the air in mid October.

We will return to our original property next year out of loyalty, but would not hesitate to stay here again. The location is perfect.

We have found over the years that there is no need to drive further north to Bar Harbour and/or Acadia as everything you could possibly need is in Ogunquit including the only three mile beach in Maine.

Room Tip: Request any ocean front room closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suddrethks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I visited Ogunquit as part of our vacation in Boston and Maine. This resort was our favorite! We stayed in the Barbara Dean House and our view of the ocean was great! We felt the price was very reasonable and included a nice breakfast. The room was absolutely fabulous! It was very large with a separate sitting area and TV. The bathroom was also large and all was very clean. The resort sits at the beginning of the Marginal Way and we loved the walk to Perkins Cove!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We this resort for four days. We had a nice small suite, but no ocean view. The resort was fully booked during our stay. This place has a great location as it sits at the start of the Marginal Way and is a very short walk to all the shopping and restaurants in town. Your room includes a self service continental breakfast in their dining room. Free wifi. The staff is very helpful and will assist in making dinner reservations. We greatly appreicate the advice we received about the area from Dennis and Carol.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

An ocean-view room here means that at high tide you literally are on the water, which comes up to the sea wall under your porch. What a view!

We have stayed here for more than 20 years and love it. It is conveniently located and very well-run with much-acclaimed gardens. Upkeep is meticulous. Comp. breakfast with muffins, breads, cereals, juices.

Room Tip: Try to get ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cal506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing