We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed at The Sparhawk in Ogunquit Maine and had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and could not do enough for us. We had a minor issue with our remote control for the tv and they fixed the problem within a few minutes of our request. Breakfast is included and the home made muffins smell delicious when you go to the dining area and are warm out of the oven and very tasty. It is quiet and peaceful and the best part is sitting in your room in the morning watching the sun rise. The sound of the waves and the wonderful sea breeze is also very relaxing. Being so close to town you are able to walk to restaurants, the beach and stores which is also convenient especially with the traffic. You really do not have to use your car once you park in the lot. A really nice place.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnamarie7370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here with my parents, sibs & their families for a weekend in August, 2013. It was a surprise 50th Anniversary weekend for my parents and the Sparhawk was perfect. We had a total of 5 rooms, with my parents' (Room 14) being the best, with a fabulous ocean front location! We loved the pool, tennis courts and shuffle board - they kept all 10 kids in our party (and the adults) busy all weekend! The location of the Sparhawk can't be beat! At the start of the Marginal Way, a short walk to the beach and right downtown! Ogunquit was crowded when we were there, but we didn't feel it at the Sparhawk as the grounds were so beautiful and spread out! The breakfast was good and we used the room for board games at night and even the cutting of my parents' anniversary cake! The folks at the Sparhawk couldn't have been nicer. The rooms were spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Ogunquit, particularly a family group! My parents can't stop talking about what a great time they had.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room - the view is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Best location (within walking distance of everything). Clean, large and very classic rooms (we stayed in the Sparhawk building with rooms facing the ocean). Great continental breakfast. Smiling staff. You have (almost) everything you need in Ogunquit. What's missing ? Certainly an in-room safe (would be very convenient when going to the beach), maybe 2 or 3 whirlpools and maybe a 5 or 10-degree warmer pool...But, anyway, you can't get a better value in Ogunquit (IMO).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My BFF and I wanted a family-free getaway to Maine. And we were late booking. We'd heard Ogunquit was cute; we called EVERWHERE!

I gotta say, the unfriendly, almost rude, phone staffer that day at the Sparhawk almost killed our desire to stay there. But we persevered. The Sparhawk had just our room open. A "one bedroom suite in the Barbara Dean," I was told. (FYI Sparhawk phone lady - we don't know what that MEANS!)

So, let me explain for you. :) The Sparhawk main property is a three story ocean-facing, cliff-sitting building with traditional hotel rooms. They also have one perpendicular to the ocean that I have no clue its name or style. There's an interior lawn with pool and tennis courts and some parking. Lawn chairs are sitting out all over.

Lastly, it has a free-standing Victorian with a huge front porch that faces Main Street- The Barbara Dean! It is shockingly nice and BRAND NEW inside, subdivided into rooms with only guest interior access. Parking is available right next to the building. An ice machine hums at you as you open the door. Stairs take you up; more take you to back units.

Our room was on the northern front side, immediately next to the Marginal Way. And we were DELIGHTED that it had a living room (with pull out couch my BFF slept on) with a kitchenette (full size fridge noted), a separating bathroom and hall closet and then a smallish bedroom with a king sized bed, two side tables and bureau. THAT room was small for the bed size, but with the living room, we were more than comfortable. There was a side door that led to bushes next to the Marginal Way. Both rooms had a heavy duty wall air conditioner that pumped out deliciously cool air.

The lobby building had a breakfast room. I didn't make it there but to grab coffee. I think it was just grains and drinks.

We didn't really see or interact with staff other than at check-in. That woman was EXTREMELY nice and said they're at like 88% occupancy and that they close winters. She also provided insight on restaurants, bars and massages. All great.

We never moved our car when we were here. We walked EVERYWHERE! The pool was very nice rain or shine. The Marginal Way was incredibly fun and we enjoyed the village at the end. You can really feel that there are no chain hotels or restaurants. We read on the front porch and it felt like we belonged in the village as residents. I loved this town.

To get to the beach, one must walk down the street, down a path, across the river's bridge, and down the beach. If you're drunk, sunburned, tired, have foot problems or just not a walker, it's a pain. BUT there is a shuttle. So ask at the desk!

Main Street is super fun on foot. We REALLY enjoyed the Rose Cove Cafe (disguised as an ice cream shoppe, the fried clams are AMAZING), Cafe Preggo (italian), and straight-but-not-narrow-friendly gay bar Mainestreet Ogunquit for drinks. We found the Front Porch to be good food, but filled with seniors at the piano bar. The Village Food Market had some terrific tourist items that were half the price of others we'd seen, plus great gourmet take-out. And the perfume/soap store AMAZING.

Room Tip: The Barbara Dean has rooms with balconies. Get one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SactoSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a great stay at the Sparhawk. Our room was right on the water and it was spotless as was the rest of the resort. Nice breakfast included in the morning. Staff was very pleasant. We checked in at 1:30PM with no issues. Pool was also very nice. Easy walking distance everything in Ogunquit center. If you can get in to the Sparhawk, I would recommend it. Looking forward to returning next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecodtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This our second lengthy stay here and we love it! We used to stay at another place right on the main beach in Ogunquit, but The Sparhawk is the BEST! It is SO affordable for the location and has more amenities like a pool and tennis court that other places don't have in the area. The service is top notch, and the location is incredible! We will stay here every year that we visit the wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are trying to make the Sparhawk the place to stay each year. It may be difficult to get in. They start booking in February for previous guests. You have to stay 7 days in the prime season but they do their best to give you a room you like if its the same week you stayed previously. Both the Carols in the office do their best to accommodate you. Because we have a 4 year old with a disablility staying a whole week can be difficult so you can try to get in on "filler" days. We stayed upstairs in the Ireland House this time. I like upstairs much better than downstairs because when you are down you can hear people walking above your head. I could use the exercise walking up and down the stairs! You have your own balcony that views Ogunquit Beach and the Marginal Way. So pretty. The tide around Ogunquit Beach is so cool. The landscaping on the grounds are beautiful. The rooms in the Ireland house are spacious. I don't think any of their accommodations have bad views. We arrived a bit early and were able to check in. Our carpets were a little wet but that was from a shampooing. It is great to know they keep their carpets clean all the time. The rooms were clean and kept very nice. Beds were comfy. Our son absolutely loved it too! The Sparhawk has a great resort like feel. Tennis. Shuffleboard. Swimming. Great for families. The free breakfast is great. We went swimming. The pool isn't freezing and its very clean. The resort is on the trolley line so you can get picked up or dropped off nearby. Its right in the heart of the Ogunquit shopping district and restaurants. Its just a mile walk along the marginal way to Perkins Cove. At low tide you can take the Marginal Way to the first set of stairs and walk the way the crow flies right to the beach. Walking to the beach via the town is a short walk. The only annoying thing is the internet speed. Very slow in all of Ogunquit and Wells. Not the resorts fault. We can not wait to return next year! A++++++++

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larrie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $135 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing