We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Boar Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Colonial Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Motel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$100
$85
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Rose Suites(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Admiral's Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace by the Sea(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Hill Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowmere Resort(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
262
24
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
24
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboarquilting retreatpineapple bread puddingquilt shoprose cottagebreakfast was deliciouslocated on main streetlittlefield roommade to order breakfastmarginal waygreat hostsnew englandliving roomaccommodating hostsfall vacationold housefront porch
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 294 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay this past weekend. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and spacious. We came in after a dinner out and were able to enjoy a homemade carrot cake baked by the owners. We can't wait to go back in the summer!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Popogoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

It was great to meet you both on your quick getaway. Thanks again for picking BBI - we will see you again in the high season...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Having just returned home from two nights at the Black Boar Inn, we wanted to take a moment to thank John and Dwain for a lovely weekend. We arrived on Friday, Valentines' Day, and were greeted with a warm welcome from John. We checked into our room, the Littlefield Room on the 2nd floor and we were delighted to see how cozy our room was (thanks for the box of chocolates by the way!) The breakfasts both mornings were delicious...french toast with berries was very good! We walked the first morning out to Perkins Cove which was about a 20 minute walk, not bad considering it's February and the sidewalks were icy! Overall the Inn is in a wonderful location ,the owners are very personable, and it is a warm, inviting place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you again for choosing our Inn for your getaway. It was a pleasure crossing paths. Come back in the warmer weather months and let's hang out on the front porch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'm a bit late on writing this review but I really wanted share my wonderful experience at the Black Boar Inn. this is by far the coziest place I've been. Very comfortable and lovely accommodations with private bathrooms and working fireplace. We spent 5 days the new years holiday, and had the best of times. We really enjoyed the delicious made-to-order breakfast every morning. It was a great way to start the day. We also, fell so welcomed by John and Dwain who went out of their way to make us feel at home. I can't wait to go during the summer time. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Angel, it was a great pleasure to meet you and get to know you while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again in the warm weather months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My first time to the Black Boar Inn but won't be my last! I just had a 5 day quilting retreat and what a awesome time it was...Thanks Dwayne and John for a perfect time..Clean as a whistle with charm and grace..Comfortable the whole way around.

Room Tip: Did not see anyone over the other that I would choose...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Cheryl, it was great getting to know you over the days and nights of the retreat! We look forward to many more gatherings in the future with you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A group of 10 quilters stayed at the inn for 5 nights for a quilting retreat. We all got lots of things accomplished. John and Dwain were the perfect hosts. They catered to our every need and the food was beyond fabulous. I can't wait to do it all over again. Some of the guests truly did not want to leave. Like them on facebook to find out about all of their offerings. They will be doing a 2 night murder mystery getaway at the end of March. Book now to save your spot. One of the quilters and her husband signed up to attend while we were there.

Room Tip: I stayed in the King James room and would recommend it to anyone staying there. Very comfortable bed, roomy bath and shower.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Lisa - thanks again for selecting us to host your very special group of talented artisans and look forward to hosting you again later this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews