We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED THE SEACASTLE”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
WEST HAVEN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVED THE SEACASTLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2006

Our stay was more than we expected. We made our reservations only three weeks ago, not knowing what the Sea Castle was like. We were pleasantly surprised with the grounds and the luxury ground floor suite. The decor was magnificant, and the rooms were very well kept. Everything was freshly remodeled; (e.g. new carpeting, freshly painted, wall decor fit the area). Rooms were spacious, with kitchenette that served our
purpose. (when on vacation, DO NOT PREFER TO COOK!. LIKE BEING WAITED ON!) Rooms were also very clean. Enjoyed our stay very much (wished we had stayed longer). Excellent value for the location and price.Grond were very well groomed. Lawn chairs, tables, and umbrellas, along with gas grilles set the tone for a very -well rounded family get togethers.Walking distance to town, Ogunquit Beach, Perkins Cove and Marginal Way were very central to everything. We did
\not need our car. Trolley was available when needed directly outside our door, if your feet needed a rest. All in all, we are two happy travelers!

WILL DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN!!!

  • Liked — CLEAN
  • Disliked — HOTHING
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SHARON28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    17
    5
    15
See reviews for
53
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2005

Just returned from a trip to Ogunquit, where we stayed at the Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the first floor in the building detached from the main building. It was reasonable, although it could use some "updating". For me, I am travelling with an infant and cleanliness is really key for me. The decor really needs some updating, especially the carpet. I would also say that the matresses need to be changed. I personally like a firm mattress and the matress was soft and not very comfortable, the bed also squeaked like crazy even when just turning over, which wasn't helpful when you have an infant sleeping in the room.

I wouldn't go so far to say that the place is bad but here are my list of pros/cons.

PROS:
*Suite- having separate living area/sleeping area
*Kitchenette with fridge, microwave,sink, 2 counter top burners
*Location- Right across the street from entrance to marginal way and five minute walk to shops in center and beach
*Friendly Staff, very helpful
*Clean

Cons:
*Carpet dingy (this makes the room "look" dirty even though it isn't)
*Bed uncomfortable/noisy
*AC kind of finicky
*General decor could use an updating.

We decided to stay another night and they didn't have any availability. We ended up staying at the Pink Blossoms Resort which is really nice. The decor is all updated, new and very clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite somewhat similar to SeaCastles but much nicer. The layout of the suite is very nice We have two queen beds a desk area, and a living room, kitchen area that has full fridge, sink and microwave (no stove top but they have a countertop burner for cooking). There are also two tv's one with a VHS etc. If we come back i would definitely book here. The staff has also been very friendly. I will add photos at a later time to the forums.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cmendez62495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

The Seacastles was pretty good, all things considered. I have a different standard for hotels in a very crowded, popular beach town than I do for other places. Ogunquit is a treasure that everyone wants a piece of. So prices are high, quality is below average and the food is overpriced and mediocre. But we all keep going because the beach is fabulous!

We liked the Seacastles even though we were woken by the guy walking above us a couple of times and the water pipes squealed. The studio we had was very clean and efficent. We had everything we needed to enjoy the beach. We had a wonderful time and plan to go back in 2007. The staff was great to us.

Ogunquit does not have very good resturants even though you might pay alot. So we stuck to basic food and had microwave meals alot.

I spent many summers on Cape Cod and it was the same story as Ogunquit. Go and enjoy the beach and don't expect too much from resturants or resorts.

You will not have memorable meals or hotels but you'll have a great tan and the people-watching on the beach is not to be beat anywhere. Relax and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

I have stayed at this resort a number of times before and each time was a little worse than the time before. I would not stay here mostly because the staff is so incredibly rude. They could care less whether you are pleased with your accomodations or not. At over $275 a night for an owners suite, you would think that if there was a problem, they would want to help rectify it. Nope. Once they have your money, that is where the hospitality ends.
We were recently up in Ogunquit for a long weekend, and were without a place to stay. We were desperate and in need of a place. We called Seacastles a number of times, but the front desk NEVER answers the phone. I left a number of messages requesting a call back with availability and got a call on my cell phone, saying to call the front desk. Well I did and guess what, NO answer.
There are many nice, kind people that want your business in town. Try Pink Blossoms Family Inn and Suites, The Anchorage by the Sea, The Grand Hotel, etc.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mommy2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

After 15 years of basically uneventful yearly visits, we experienced the worst night imaginable! Our room was right next to the pool and just below a suite.

Children - and their parents - were swimming, running around and basicly out of control well into the late evening hours. A call to the front desk prompted a call upstairs but the guests simply came out of their balcony and laughed at the scolding. After 11 PM we decided to try to sleep.

There was so much rowdy activity upstairs that a large framed picture acutally fell off the wall and crashed to the floor in our room! Another call to the front desk asking to be relocated to another room was received with the answer "nothing else is available". We decided to stay the night and leave in the morning. Finally after 2 AM it was quiet upstairs. It wasn't long after we finally fell asleep that the ALARM CLOCK went off! At this point all we could do was laugh.

In the morning we told the front desk we wanted to leave and would never be back. This attendant was shocked to hear we had been told the place was full and nothing else was available. This was NOT THE CASE AT ALL. She offered to move us to another building which we accepted.

Upon returning home we sent a letter to the owners of the hotel relating our disappointing stay and expressing our appreciation for the person who finally helped us. We never received even an acknowledgement of our letter.

There are many more enjoyable and accommodating places to stay in Ogunquit.

Skip Seacastles.

Stayed March 2003
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2004

This hotel had a great location, and that was it. The room was expensive, not as pictured on the web site, and in run down horrible shape. Stained rugs, dirty old furniture...etc. To make matters worse, the staff did not care. We wrote to the company about our stay after we returned home, and got absolutely no response at all.

Please stay away. there are so many other places to give your business to in southern maine.

Helpful?
10 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2003

We stayed at Seacastle Resort in '99 and really enjoyed it. We were walking distance from all that Ogunquit has to offer.

We could walk to the beach or to any of the small shops downtown within 5 min. and we loved it.

The rooms were clean and the staff was always nice.

When we go back we will stay there again.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites

Property: Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites
Address: 104 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3704
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Hotel Located In The Heart Of Ogunquit On Shore Road. Studios, 1 Bedroom, Loft & Penthouse Units All With Full Or Partial Kitchens. Indoor Pool/Whirlpool. Seasonal Outdoor Hot Tub & Gas Grills. Guest Laundry Facilities. Internet In Office. Open Year Round. Off-Season Packages Including Accommodations, Brunch & Dinner. Trolley Stop. Close To Beach & All Other Local Activities. Office Hours 7am-11pm Daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seacastles Hotel Ogunquit
Seacastles Resort Inn And Suites Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing