We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff!”
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We arrived later in the evening and the inn keeper was very nice and helpful. He showed us around the inn, gave us a map of the town, and recommended some dinner and breakfast places, both of which were great! The room was very nice. Free WiFi always a plus. They have a very nice saltwater pool, which he opened early for us the next morning. Even after checkout, he let us keep our car in the lot so we could walk to the beach and not have to pay for parking. It was a 5 min walk and parking we saw was $20. There is a great bakery and candy store down the street from the inn.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ThriftyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

I expected bigger, less basic room when I booked and feel the photos online are a bit misleading. Room was quiet, but pillows really uncomfortable for us. Manager was perfectly pleasant to us. Probably
B&B fans would be happiest here. It was pricey for the quality of the room, but that may be due to demand etc.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank lindy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of Aug 2014. Super nice innkeepers. It was a very last minute reservation - we were lucky they had a room. We upgraded from a queen to a king room for a very fair price. Room was very comfortable - lots of windows which I love. Easy walking everywhere. Pool area is great, and lots of outdoor seating on the property. Fire pit in the front. Great property. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

Room Tip: The queen room I saw was small. King is a better size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSDLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the inn for one night on a spur of the moment trip. After driving for hours, we were thrilled to step into the delightful heated pool and just de-stress! Our room was cute and cozy with a flat screen tv and private bath. We walked in to town for dinner and people watching, then back to the inn to sit by the fire pit out front. Ogonquit is a quintessential Maine seaside town with lots of restaurants, beautiful gardens, Oceanside pathways and charming shops. We did not go to the beach but it is nearby. They offer coffee, tea, juice and muffins in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Unbeatable Location & Service

This was our first stay at the Abalonia Inn and we were truly impressed. The location is second to none... just steps from everything you want to see/do in Ogunquit. Jimmy and staff were 4 Star hosts and ensured that no detail was overlooked.
The heated outdoor saltwater pool was lovely and well maintained. The outdoor firepit was a relaxing way to end the evening. Though we tend to dine out, it was nice to have the option of enjoying breakfast at the Inn if desired.
All guestrooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. Because this is a renovated farmhouse, room sizes vary somewhat. Our room was larger than the one our friends stayed in, so if size matters, request a larger room when you book and they'll do what they can to accommodate.

We've stayed in Oguniquit several time and Abalonia has been the BEST experience. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJodouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in July, 2014. Place was very neat and clean, Jimmy and staff very friendly and helpful to any requests. Jimmy shared lots of helpful info with us regarding places to eat and things to see. The pool was great as it was too cold to swim in the ocean! It was within walking distance to beach and all restaurants and Marginal Way. Parking was safe and we really didn't need the car to go anywhere. The queen room we had on second floor was just fine for two people. Air conditioning worked great. Non smoking environment which is always appreciated. Being able to use the refrigerator and freezer in the kitchen area was also helpful. Would highly recommend the Abalonia Inn.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor on the north side and did not have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Had a great, one night stay here at the Abalonia Inn - very charming, great staff, pretty, well maintained grounds....pool, a bonus....close walk to the center of town, beach, Marginal Way - just park your car and you never have to move it. The only "negative" is that since it is wood floors throughout, and not carpet, you can hear your neighbors on the floor above you, but that's about it. We took advantage of the coffee and pastry in the morning which was very nice and there's lots of seating outside to sip your coffee and just relax. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor that way you won't hear the footsteps of the people above you as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank neverroamalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3205
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $84 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing