We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Abalonia Inn for two nights. This inn is in a great location, in the heart of Ogunquit, Maine. It is close to many great restaurants, the beach, and the marginal way. Jimmy, the inn keeper, was welcoming and informative. Our room was comfortable and cozy. The refrigerator in our room was a plus! We were not able to enjoy the inn's salt water pool for the lack of time, however, we will make it a point to enjoy it next time we visit! However,my partner and I were able to enjoy Abalonia's fire pit during our stay, with a nice cup of coffee and pastries from the wonderful Bread and Roses Bakery, which is located less than a block away from the inn. Without any reservations we recommend Abalonia Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice inn in a great location close to everything. Inn is well maintained and clean. Nice hardwood floors throughout. Staff was great, very friendly and attentive. The inn has a nice pool in the back as well. King room was spacious enough for our stay - nice bathroom and good sized shower. The location is perfect for walking to town, beach, marginal way and the bars/restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are a little different in size and some have deck space. Ask the innkeeper if you have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmv1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Abalonia for a lovely weekend, the inn is charming, and the service impeccable. Jimmy, the innkeeper is so attuned to his guests' experiences; he makes you feel like family when staying there. would definitely go back for another weekend!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Jimmy and his staff are wonderful. The Inn is centrally located to the beach,restaurants, and bars. The pool was perfect to hang out in on the hot summer days. Jimmy was so gracious and even when I locked myself out of my room and Inn at 3am! I would definately recommend this charming Inn and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Abalonia we were made to feel right at home. As soon as we entered the office we were greeted with an enthusiastic welcome by Jimmy and his staff. We have been to Ogunquit before but Jimmy pointed out several places to visit. We took his advice and all turned out to be excellent. Any time we ran into Jimmy or his staff we were always greeted with a nice hello and asked if there was anything that we needed. The room was extremely clean and we could not have asked for anything more. Great value, especially considering it is only 10 min walk to the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Ogunquit. The rooms are well appointed and spacious and the Inn is close to everything: beaches, shopping, and restaurant. Also, only a quick drive to additional shopping, sites, and the Ogunquit Playhouse. The value is outstanding and I will definitely book again if I return to this area for another vacation
Jimmy made our stay memorable and inviting by his outstanding hospitality and willingness to assist us with area information and all our vacationing needs. We did not get a chance to use the outside fire pit or the inviting salt-water swimming pool but these are additional amenities that Abalonia offers on site. Also, the delicious coffee and muffins were nice to wake up to each morning that they provide in the office.
If you want great value, comfort, space, privacy and close proximity to everything, this is it!!

Room Tip: I loved the room we stayed in on the ground floor, adjacent to parking. We parked our car and walked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The inn was so welcoming and comfortable that I felt like I could practically knock on other doors and hang out with other guests. The staff was incredibly knowledgeable about where to go and what to do and the atmospheres of each place. The best part was the room rate.... right in town walking distance to everything and I would have paid double or more if I stayed at a place I would of have to drive everywhere from.

It is a beautiful old house so you don't feel like your walking into a commercial, you are really walking into a place to relax and call your own for your stay. The room and common areas are kept very clean and aired.

I don't usually expect to sleep well on hotel beds, but I passed out on our bed had a great night sleep.

Room Tip: rooms 5 has a private patio room 7 and 8 have a better view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3205
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $83 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing