We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn by the Sea”
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful Inn by the Sea”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Jimmy and his staff are wonderful. The Inn is centrally located to the beach,restaurants, and bars. The pool was perfect to hang out in on the hot summer days. Jimmy was so gracious and even when I locked myself out of my room and Inn at 3am! I would definately recommend this charming Inn and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    38
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
154
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Abalonia we were made to feel right at home. As soon as we entered the office we were greeted with an enthusiastic welcome by Jimmy and his staff. We have been to Ogunquit before but Jimmy pointed out several places to visit. We took his advice and all turned out to be excellent. Any time we ran into Jimmy or his staff we were always greeted with a nice hello and asked if there was anything that we needed. The room was extremely clean and we could not have asked for anything more. Great value, especially considering it is only 10 min walk to the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Ogunquit. The rooms are well appointed and spacious and the Inn is close to everything: beaches, shopping, and restaurant. Also, only a quick drive to additional shopping, sites, and the Ogunquit Playhouse. The value is outstanding and I will definitely book again if I return to this area for another vacation
Jimmy made our stay memorable and inviting by his outstanding hospitality and willingness to assist us with area information and all our vacationing needs. We did not get a chance to use the outside fire pit or the inviting salt-water swimming pool but these are additional amenities that Abalonia offers on site. Also, the delicious coffee and muffins were nice to wake up to each morning that they provide in the office.
If you want great value, comfort, space, privacy and close proximity to everything, this is it!!

Room Tip: I loved the room we stayed in on the ground floor, adjacent to parking. We parked our car and walked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The inn was so welcoming and comfortable that I felt like I could practically knock on other doors and hang out with other guests. The staff was incredibly knowledgeable about where to go and what to do and the atmospheres of each place. The best part was the room rate.... right in town walking distance to everything and I would have paid double or more if I stayed at a place I would of have to drive everywhere from.

It is a beautiful old house so you don't feel like your walking into a commercial, you are really walking into a place to relax and call your own for your stay. The room and common areas are kept very clean and aired.

I don't usually expect to sleep well on hotel beds, but I passed out on our bed had a great night sleep.

Room Tip: rooms 5 has a private patio room 7 and 8 have a better view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved the Abolonia. We were fortunate enough to get the front rooms with private access to the screened in front porch. This was our favorite place to hang out. The Inn couldn't be more conveniently located with easy access to beach, restaurants, bars and shops. The staff is amazingly friendly. Don't miss out on the salt water pool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Made to feel very welcome by Jimmy, the hotel is very simple but cute. The fire pit is fun to sit around and meet folks, restaurants and shops only minutes away, beach is too. Excellent place to travel around the area from.
Complimentary coffee, tea, orange juice and muffins served in office from 8am, nice to sit in the garden to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoneylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I just left there today. We stayed 2 nights, it was the most fun and pleasant to stay. Jimmy and his staff were amazing! You can park your car there and walk just about everywhere. Our room was beautiful and prefect for a romantic getaway. I would not stay anywhere else. You also have to eat at Rose Cove. They have the best food. Thanks Jimmy for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlehed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Property: Abalonia Inn
Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3205
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing