We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn Center Walk to Water/Town”
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Definitely recommend this wonderful Inn, especially Room 10. Spacious, clean, walk to restaurants, water and terrific shopping. Jimmy, the manager, is especially accommodating
and hospitable. Chocolate muffins delicious, fire pit, and pool.

Room Tip: Besides room 10... They have several rooms with outside balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Abalonia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 241 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. We did not have a car to drive around (caught a ride with someone else coming up from the city), so the location of Abalonia was perfect. You are a gorgeous and short walk to the beach, restaurants, all of downtown Ogunquit. The walk to Marginal Way is a bit longer, but perfect for a morning stroll. And the price was perfect for us. The rooms have so much character and the staff are so amazingly pleasant. They want you to be happy (and we were!). We fell in love with Ogunquit, and it is thanks to Abalonia that we had such a pleasant stay. We really hope to be back this summer (sorry this review is so late!). Stay here for a romantic and wonderful time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateNYC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I had a very romantic and fun stay in Ogunquit, especially because of the Abalonia. Very comfortable atmosphere, friendly inn keeper and guests, very enjoyable swimming pool. The walk to the beach is so easy and scenic. We spent a lot of time at The Front Porch singing show tunes, and Maine Street for pool, drag, and drinks! Both are a one minute walk from Inn. Will definitely stay here again. Walked the Marginal Way every morning, just lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeyWestGal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for our 1st anniversary and were VERY pleased with the location, room, service and especially the heated salt pool which we enjoyed on a very brisk morning in September.. you will not be disappointed with these spacious accomodations!! It is a brand new accomodations which we will definitely re-visit!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0J027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked a lovely first floor room in the back with private deck. When we arrived to check in our room we were brought out back and guided to the 3rd floor. Manager stated that since I did not state "DO NOT MOVE ME" I was BUMPED to the 3rd floor room and proceeded to tell us it was a better room. I told him that I was not happy with this BUMPING and asked for the room that I had booked. Someone was already checked in to that room as they were not happy with the room that they had booked!! To sum up the manager stated that he would give us a great deal on our next stay. When we checked out early in the AM next morning he was no where to be found. Sent an email and never received reply. Very disappointed in this INN as well as the sister property down the road Admiral's INN. They did the same thing to us 1 week earlier.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed only one night in Ogunquit. it was kind of off season by then (mid October), which was a bit of a shame, but it meant the accommodation prices were cheap, though some restaurants etc had already closed for the season and the Abalonia was in its last 2 weeks of opening. the Abalonia was good value, clean and well run, though the rooms were quite sparsely furnished (eg no chairs to sit on), but had everything we needed. Jimmy was very friendly and when we fancied Thai for dinner he set us up in the reception / lounge area with a candlelit table & chairs, crockery, cutlery, wine bottle opener etc. it was very much appreciated, and we really enjoyed our thai take-out. i would recommend the Abalonia, although if i stayed in Ogunquit again i would be tempted by the hotels overlooking the sea (if their prices were cheap enough - that i can't tell you!) but that has no reflection on the Abalonia, just personal preference regarding views. we were very happy with our stay and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place. to stay. Easy walk to beach. Park your car and leave it. My husband & I had a very relaxing stay. There were great eating places nearby and several shopping options. The Marginal Way was very scenic walk. Jimmy was full if suggestions. and ideas-he never steereds wrong.We watched the sun rise &yesterday took moonlight walks on the beach. The summer crowds were gone and the town was decorated for Halloween. & fall- very quaint.We would stay here again. We left 3sat days before Hurricaine Sandy- we hope everything is intavt.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estherwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3205
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $111 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing