We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abalonia Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Mass
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for our 1st anniversary and were VERY pleased with the location, room, service and especially the heated salt pool which we enjoyed on a very brisk morning in September.. you will not be disappointed with these spacious accomodations!! It is a brand new accomodations which we will definitely re-visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0J027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    37
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
151
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athol, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked a lovely first floor room in the back with private deck. When we arrived to check in our room we were brought out back and guided to the 3rd floor. Manager stated that since I did not state "DO NOT MOVE ME" I was BUMPED to the 3rd floor room and proceeded to tell us it was a better room. I told him that I was not happy with this BUMPING and asked for the room that I had booked. Someone was already checked in to that room as they were not happy with the room that they had booked!! To sum up the manager stated that he would give us a great deal on our next stay. When we checked out early in the AM next morning he was no where to be found. Sent an email and never received reply. Very disappointed in this INN as well as the sister property down the road Admiral's INN. They did the same thing to us 1 week earlier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed only one night in Ogunquit. it was kind of off season by then (mid October), which was a bit of a shame, but it meant the accommodation prices were cheap, though some restaurants etc had already closed for the season and the Abalonia was in its last 2 weeks of opening. the Abalonia was good value, clean and well run, though the rooms were quite sparsely furnished (eg no chairs to sit on), but had everything we needed. Jimmy was very friendly and when we fancied Thai for dinner he set us up in the reception / lounge area with a candlelit table & chairs, crockery, cutlery, wine bottle opener etc. it was very much appreciated, and we really enjoyed our thai take-out. i would recommend the Abalonia, although if i stayed in Ogunquit again i would be tempted by the hotels overlooking the sea (if their prices were cheap enough - that i can't tell you!) but that has no reflection on the Abalonia, just personal preference regarding views. we were very happy with our stay and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place. to stay. Easy walk to beach. Park your car and leave it. My husband & I had a very relaxing stay. There were great eating places nearby and several shopping options. The Marginal Way was very scenic walk. Jimmy was full if suggestions. and ideas-he never steereds wrong.We watched the sun rise &yesterday took moonlight walks on the beach. The summer crowds were gone and the town was decorated for Halloween. & fall- very quaint.We would stay here again. We left 3sat days before Hurricaine Sandy- we hope everything is intavt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estherwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Abalonia Inn is in a great location to explore Ogunquit, with plenty of good restaurants and shops to enjoy. We ate dinner in the Village Inn which was perfect and served great lobster.
The rooms are nicely done with a modern and stylish feel and the exposed beams in the ceiling add real character. The fridges in the rooms are handy and there is a kitchen which you can use, although we didn't use it as we were only there for a night.
Ogunquit is a beautiful place with a great beach and some really beautiful buildings and shops and we would love to go back. Breakfast in Bessie's was a real hit as well! Jimmy was also very friendly and gave us lots of helpful advice of where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay at the Abalonia Inn. The location was a short walk to restaurants, stores, and the beach. Jimmy was very friendly and helpful. The pool was closed for the season, but we enjoyed hanging out at the firepit. There are so many hotels to chose from, but we were very happy with our choice to stay at this newly renovated inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Abalonia is everything you need if you don't want fancy. Perfect location, great manager, and comfy rooms. After walking around town at night, we wandered back to the Inn and sat on the couch in the sign in area. We had bought some beer and were about to enjoy one when the manger Jimmy came in to chat. He offered chilled beer mugs from the freezer and told us to hang out as long as we wanted, just lock up when we leave. Great host, great inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickGrandRapids_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Property: Abalonia Inn
Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing