We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value”
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Abalonia is a nice place to stay in Ogunquit. The other reviewers are correct about the proximity to town, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the very helpful staff. Parking is a little tight, but acceptable. A larger bathroom would be nice but it served its purpose. The pool and firepit add to the experience. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillS906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Abalonia this past weekend. Jimmy the inn keeper is amazing and very helpful with all questions, suggestions on things to do in town and and wonderful with directions. I didn't get a chance to really use the pool but I did stick my feet in and it was awesome. The inn is great because of Jimmy, location to everything such as the beach, Marginal Way & Perkin's cove- rooms are quiet and cozy.

My only wish is that the bathroom in our room was bigger and that it had a tub cause I like that kind of thing and since I am a bit of a klutz- I constantly had to be careful of the step up to the bathroom cause I kept tripping on it. Overall, I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdavis82206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Abalonia for Labor Day week-end. What a great experience. Jimmy is always helpful. We had room 9, it's a little bit small, but the amenities are great. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is also well appointed. The place is spotless. The salted heated pool is a great bonus. The Abalonia is walking distance of all what Ogunquit has to offer and yet it is still very quiet. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at the Abalonia Inn. You cannot beat the location to the center of Ogunquit and the beach. Jimmy was beyond friendly and helpful during my stay. The recently renovated rooms were tasteful, yet warm and comforting while away from home. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this inn, the location, the service, etc... I will definitely make this my destination spot from now on!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salsadancer146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Abalonia two nights and we were so impressed with this great inn. The location is perfect; about a 3-5 minute walk to everything... beach, shops, restaurants, Marginal Way, and more. Our room was very nice and spacious and we had our own private deck. The saltwater pool is an amazing bonus; such a refreshing and relaxing place to spend time after a long day at Ogunquit Beach. Jimmy the owner was so friendly, helpful, and generous. He made us feel very welcome and gave us great suggestions for dinner and other things to do around town. We enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Abalonia Inn is absolutely fantastic. The inn itself is absolutely gorgeous, being a beautiful marriage of old charm and modern convenience. Furthermore, the location of the inn is second to none, as it is in the middle of all of the action in Ogunquit, close to the beach, downtown, Marginal Way, and more! Jimmy, the innkeeper, is fabulous, and I cannot recommend the Abalonia enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I searched on-line for lodging in Ogunquit that was dog-friendly, centrally located, and a good value. I was hooked on The Abalonia from the get-go and it did not disappoint. The inn has been beautifully renovated with a period-appropriate eye; it is also a very short walk to shops, restaurants, nightlife, and the beach. Most importantly, Jimmie and his staff accepted our 11 month rottie with open arms. Our dog-friendly room was convenently located on the first floor for easy access to the outside. To make the trip enjoyable for all, we enrolled our pup in doggy day care at Bark and Play, just five miles south in York. Our pup played with other pups in the day while we hit the shops and beach, and, exhausted from her busy day, crashed in her crate while we grabbed dinner and visited with family at night. Another perk. . . there is a dog park a mile and a half away.

I highly recommend The Abalonia. For dog owners, this is a perfect place to stay. I strongly suggest that you find activities to occupy your dog during your visit. Your stay will be more enjoyable as will that of the non-dog loving guests. There are so few dog-friendly hotels in Ogunquit so please support The Abalonia.

Sincerely,
Camille Bartlett

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilleBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#31 of 36 in Ogunquit
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3205
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $81 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing