We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Alternative to the B&B's”
Review of Juniper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Juniper Hill Inn
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Alternative to the B&B's”
Reviewed August 2, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Juniper Hill Inn at the very end of July, 2006. We had three rooms, and they were all clean, quiet, and nicely appointed. The hotel is spotless, and well cared for, and the grounds are very nice. The property is located easily within walking distance to town.

If you're looking for an easy place to go, that's nicer than a standard business hotel, without the fuss of a B&B, the Juniper is totally the way to go. They allow for AAA and AARP discounts, have ample parking, and I believe require only 2 nights minimum stay during summer (that's all we stayed.)

They're in a great location, with a walking path that leads to the beach. The bathrooms were nice, and the showers worked great. The beds were comfortable, and the whole Inn is non-smoking.

The breakfast was the only disappointment. It's only bowls of cereal, a few bagels, and juice. Don't expect anything more than ultra-basic. But, why waste money on breakfast at a hotel, when there are tons of good restaurants nearby?

If you want a sensible, easy, clean, and convenient place to stay, look no further than the Juniper Hill Inn!

  • Liked — Great location, clean rooms, reasonable prices for high season
  • Disliked — Breakfast was too basic
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boston6_8guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    155
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
129
224
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2005

My wife and I and a friend stayed here for two nights on 20 & 21 October and thought the place was excellent. Yes its on Rt 1 and while our rooms were in the main block facing the road, we never had any problem with noise. Rooms were big & clean with lots of hanging space, drawers etc and had iron & ironing board (not that we used them!). No lift though, so you will have to cart your case up one flight of stairs if you are on the second floor like us. Not a massive choice for breakfast, but fine overall and we used to take ours back to our rooms. Afternoon coffee/tea and cookies are provided free of charge. The hotel also offers the free use of a laptop and internet access in the lobby to check mail which is a nice touch.

The hotel is close to “downtown” Ogunquit and various bars & restaurants. Overall a great place and one which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 28, 2005

We stayed for three nights. What impressed us was the cleanliness - even the exterior light fixtures and shutters were free of cobwebs. The room was spacious, clean & comfortable. The furniture and carpeting were free of stains and in great condition. The bed (king) and even the pillows were wonderful. The staff, including the cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. We also utilized the coin operated laundry facilities on site which were clean and functional. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area, and about a mile from Perkins Cove. It is also easily accessible to the "marginal way" and the sandy beaches of the area. We would definately return, and recommend it highly.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2005

We stayed in September, 2005 and were extremely pleased. We never needed our car the 3 days of our stay. The Inn is within walking distance of the beach, Marginal Way, Footbridge Path, shops and dining. We even walked to Perkins Cove via Marginal Way. The grounds are well maincured with nice areas for relaxing/reading. There are 2 outdoor pools, one indoor pool and and both an outdoor and indoor jacuzzi. Our room was immaculate and in good shape. A continental breakfast which inluded hot/cold cereal, pastries and fruit was provided. Another plus was even though it is on a main route, noise was never a problem. We definitely recommend this motel and would stay here again!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Stayed at the Juniper Hill Inn for 4 nights in July 2005 with our 6 year old son. We stayed in the newer renovated section (the part attached to the reception area) and found it very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the facilities were great (fitness room, 2 outdoor pools and 1 indoor). Location was ideal - a 15 minute, very pleasant walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk into town. The pool area was clean and very kid-friendly. The only small complaint was that they charged $15 per extra person per room (above 2 people) - we travel often and this was the first time we encountered this practice, so be aware when calculating the price. All in all, very positive experience and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank on_the_road56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2005

We stayed at the Juniper Hill for 3 nights August 2005 and were very pleased with the accommodation. The position was excellent - within walking distance to the beach and shops and restaurants and also not far from the marginal walk which runs along the coastline to Perkins Cove which takes about 15 - 20 minutes (depending on the heat!). The breakfast could have been a bit more generous and better laid out (nowhere to eat - best to take back to the room) but apart from that no complaints and would stay there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to Ogunquit, Maine. We choice Juniper Hill Inn and it was wonderful. It was extemely clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and the location was ideal. If I go back next year I would not hesitate to book this motel. It was private and and I couldnot complain about anything pertaining to the apartment. I am very very particular about cleanliness. This establishment met all my needs and requirements.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steinhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Inn

Property: Juniper Hill Inn
Address: 336 Main St, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Juniper Hill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hill Inn, a Three Diamond AAA property, with its five tree studded acres has the feel of beautiful rural Maine. Walk down our hickory lined path and you're just a short walk from the sparkling shores of Ogunquit Beach... A stroll down the hill and you're ready to explore the village's distinctive shops, galleries and restaurants. In season town trolley provides another travel option with a stop directly in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Juniper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Hotel Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing