We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Nicely Located Hotel”
Review of Juniper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Juniper Hill Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is a nicely located, and very clean and when we were there, quiet place. You can stay in the Inn building, or in one of two, doors-to-the-outside motel style rooms. We stayed in the motel room, which was nicely appointed, but very ordinary. We didn't get to see the Inn rooms because the Inn was full (in April!!) The beds were comfortable, the room had plenty of space for sitting, and a nice split bath (with one sink outside the main bath) and a fridge that was bigger than a minibar fridge. The property is on Rt 1 (the main drag) but set back from the road a bit with nice landscapping. The Juniper Hill Inn is located within easy walking distance to town and has a back path to a side street that leads to the bridge to the beach (this is a nice walk, up and down some hills, and doesn't take more than 5 minutes to get there. I was on a "girls get away" and my friend and I walked everywhere with ease, but we weren't toting kids or chairs to the beach, which might have been challenging.
We didn't get to try out too many other amenities, but there was an indoor pool , breakfast and gym offered. We had breakfast at Egg and I based on reviews seen here and it was excellent! We walked down to Perkins Cove, along the Marginal Way, into town twice and to the Egg and I and the length of the beach all inside 24 hours, so we felt (despite the grand Egg and I Bfast) that we didn't need to hit the gym!
The office staff was polite and helpful, and this was one of the few places in town that had some wiggle room with their minimum nights ( I have reservations for 3 nights in July at another Inn with a water veiw, but they wouldn't consider a one night stay when I called two weeks before arrival even though when we walked by that Inn during our stay they had vacancies!)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 509 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2007

This is a large motel right on Route 1 and a 2 minute drive from 'downtown' Ogunquit and Perkins Cove (where I recommend Amore for breakfast and the Lobster Shack for anything else). I paid $105 and it was certainly worth that. The room was set about 2/3 of the way back from the road so didn't suffer from road noise, though it was certainly not silent and I wouldn't have wanted to be any closer. Check in was quick, efficient, friendly and free coffee and a USA Today in the spacious lobby was a bonus. They have an indoor pool which looked good and a guest laundy which worked great - and no problems getting quarters from reception.
The room was large, well appointed and the curtains worked well enough to ensure a good nights sleep. There was also absolutely no noise to be heard from any other room so either I got lucky or the soundproofing is a step up from some motels.
Overall, a fine place for stopping for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This was my fourth stay here and it was all I expected. From the helpful staff at the desk to the clean, well-cared for buildings it was perfect. I had a relaxing four night stay.
A really helpful idea was in the lobby where they had binders with all the menu's from the local restaurants.
The location is within easy walking distance to everything in town. Also the trolley stops at the hotel so its an easy trip to Perkin's cove. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Scaramouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Juniper Hill Inn is located a short walk from downtown Ogunquit, ME on 1. If you go there looking for a traditional New England style Inn, this property does not fit the description. The property is more like a motel style with several buildings separate from the office. However, this does not diminish the quality of the property at all. The room we stayed in was bright, clean and large. The bathroom had an extra vanity area that made getting ready in the morning easy. The bed was large and comfy and hallways were very quiet. I never heard any noise. I don't think the property was full, so maybe it is louder during peak season. The staff is helpful with restaurant choices and there is a binder in the lobby with menus of local rest. in it. There are also several rest. within walking distance. The hotel offers a free breakfast with room. This is a tradtional carb style free for all. I don't like the free breakfast at most hotels and this was no exception. It gets too crowded, people take too long picking between powered or plain donuts and the offerings are usually limited. Pick a donut and keep moving for crying out loud. The donuts aren't suddenly going to morph into Eggs Bendedict or a lovely frittata the longer you stare at them. The breakfast here was no better or worse than anywhere else. Seriously though, the hotel is very nice and quiet and a good value. I would stay here again and Maine is lovely. We used this as base camp and went up the coast to Booth Bay and Portland. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

As a first timer in Ogunquit, we were very confused how the town was laid out and where we wanted to stay. Therefore, with no reservation in hand, we drove out to Ogunquit and found a place for a weekend in October. It seems like most hotels in this area, you have to choose, do you want a quick walk to town? Or stay on the beach? Or be right near the marginal way and thus a quick walk to Perkins Cove?
There are very few places that can be close to all three, so you need to select what is priority for you. This hotel is a quick walk to shopping/restaurants in town. Seriously, two minutes and you are in town for shopping, if you had to drive and park you would be further away than this hotel. They have a walkway to the beach, but we did not do that, so I can't really comment other than to say that it is a further walk to the beach than into town. But you probably would not walk from this hotel to the marginal way/perkins cove....that would be far! But I guess that is what they have trolleys for. Large room, very clean, with newer bedlinens, good water pressure, overall very nice. Can walk to many restaurants, lots of parking. But there is no waterview with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackdog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

Used to staying at more upscale hotels and B&B's but nothing was available and was pleasantly surprised by these accommodations. The premium room upstairs was reasonably priced, spacious, clean, quiet and pleasant. The bed was comfortable, 2 vanities were a nice touch, shower had ample hot water with good pressure and nice amenities. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the included breakfast was adequate [thoroughly enjoyed the Maine Diner a few miles north], convenient location close to town and beautiful beaches and only a short drive to other enjoyable, picturesque towns. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyday9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We recently stayed at Juniper Hill Inn. We had a large room with two queen beds. There was a vanity area outside the bathroom, which I like, and another vanity inside the bathroom. The room had a small refrigerator and was very clean.

The hotel is close enough to walk to town without any problem. Also, there is a shuttle that picked up in front of the hotel that would take you to town or Perkins Cove. They had a continental breakfast that had nice doughnuts, muffins and bagels, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Inn

Address: 336 Main St, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $99 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Juniper Hill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hill Inn, a Three Diamond AAA property, with its five tree studded acres has the feel of beautiful rural Maine. Walk down our hickory lined path and you're just a short walk from the sparkling shores of Ogunquit Beach... A stroll down the hill and you're ready to explore the village's distinctive shops, galleries and restaurants. In season town trolley provides another travel option with a stop directly in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Juniper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Hotel Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing