We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stay”
Review of Juniper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Juniper Hill Inn
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel has always been our "go to" place when visiting this part of Maine. The rooms are cozy, clean and have all of the amenities that we need to be comfortable, including a continental breakfast at a reasonable rate. It is ideally located within walking distance of downtown Ogunquit and near numerous restaurants and local shops. As we like to shop both in nearby Portland as well as the outlet mall in Kittery and nearby towns of Portsmouth & York, it's a central location for us to stay at. The staff is always warm and friendly and will provide helpful suggestions if needed. The only reason that we did not give them an "Excellent" rating is that the temperature of their pool is always too cold for our comfort and could be heated more. However, other than that, no complaints at all. We'll be back there for sure on our next visit to lower Maine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are a little quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Juniper Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 493 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I can't think of a single bad thing to say about the Juniper Hill. We have stayed there numerous times and I still can't help but be floored by the beauty of the property. It's a short walk down the path to the beach, surrounded by outsatanding restaraunts, and just up the hill from the center of Oqunquit.
Prices are fair, rooms are always spotless, staff is very friendly, and we always meet the nicest people who are staying there.
If you get a chance to visit "Downeast" Maine, do yourself a favor and stay at the Juniper Hill. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bt1sw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have visiting Ogunquit for over 45 years. We have stayed at dozens of different places over the years and this one ranks near the top. I love the location- short walk to downtown restaurants, and a pleasant walk to the beach (about a 10 minute walk). The property is well landscaped with lovely seating areas throughout. There are 3 pools (two outdoor and one indoor) and two hot tubs. Although the pools are old, they are well maintained. There is a decent work-out room and a small gameroom. Rooms are updated and super clean. Carpets and floor tile were new in our room in the motel section. We had a flat screened tv and newer furniture. There was a large counter and sink just outside the bathoom with a small refrigerator. The shower was very nice, love the showerhead. There are two chairs outside each room. Wish there was a table between them for drinks and snacks. They include a contintental breakfast each morning. Everything was very good quality, great donuts and New England coffee. Bagels are fruit were also good. My only complaint about the breakfast was that it was all carbs and no protein. Adding hard boiled eggs or lowfat yogurt would be perfect. Check-in and check-out was easy and friendly. All the staff say "hello" and seem to enjoy working here. I would definitely stay at Juniper Hill again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I booked this hotel 2 days before I needed it during the memorial day weekend mostly because of the positive reviews, the price and the fact that they had availability. I didn't expect much however. Boy, was I surprised! I'm a hotel snob and I was certain that I wouldn't like this but the room was recently redecorated and immaculately clean. The staff was really friendly and the location was very good you can walk to town and to the beach.

The only negative was a bad nights sleep caused by noisy neighbors upstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It is immaculately clean, the rooms have been nicely updated, the location is within walking distanace to the center of town, and it's near the beach. The grounds and pools and common areas are all well kept and very pleasant. Although we went just before the season started, it was a great value and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We always stay at the Milestone (sister resort) because we love walking over to Footbridge Beach. This experience was just as wonderful but offered a closer to town experience. The best part was the peaceful wooded path behind the resort that winded down to the main beach area. We went in cooler weather so it was nice having the indoor heated pool and spa.

We stayed in the hotel part- very clean and comfortable. Amazing Congdon's old fashioned donuts at the continental breakfast. You will love it here, a wonderful beach get-a-way experience for all.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the hotel during the busy summer season- ask for rooms that face the back. Ev...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

When you only have two days to enjoy the Maine coast, we decided to stay in the Ogunquit Beach area. While we didn't go to Maine during the Summer months,we were surprised by how much was available in the "off season".
We stayed at the Juniper Hill Inn located in the heart of the town of Ogunquit. A very attractive, well kept property. The amenities at the Inn range from both the indoor swimming pool and hot tub, to an outdoor pool for the summer guests.
The rooms were fresh,clean, and spacious with all the comforts of home. This place couldn't have been more perfect. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the lobby was complete with continental breakfast and coffee station area. The rocking chairs on the porch made the place feel like you were right at home, and the lobby sitting area was well stocked with books, maps and guides for all of the area amenities.

Ideally located close to shopping, restaurants, and the local attractions (Perkins Cove,Marginal Way Ocean Walk, and of course the BEACH. The trolley route runs just past the Inn so there's no need to drive your car. If you are looking for some of that familiar Maine scenery to take pictures of, then you're in the right spot. The Nubble Lighthouse in York, and the coastline of Biddeford are rugged and picturesque.
Whether you're staying for the night, or making this an extended vacation the Juniper Hill Inn is one of the best places to stay on the Maine coast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grafofvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
415 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Milestone
The Milestone
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Inn

Address: 336 Main St, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $103 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Juniper Hill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hill Inn, a Three Diamond AAA property, with its five tree studded acres has the feel of beautiful rural Maine. Walk down our hickory lined path and you're just a short walk from the sparkling shores of Ogunquit Beach... A stroll down the hill and you're ready to explore the village's distinctive shops, galleries and restaurants. In season town trolley provides another travel option with a stop directly in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Juniper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Hotel Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing