We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed from May 16-18th, 2009 to celebrate our anniversary. Although the weather was gruesome, we had a great time. This is our third stay at The Grand Hotel and we couldn't be happier with the friendliness of the staff, especially Devon. The package price included an excellent meal at Clay Hill Farm and a lovely welcome gift of a bottle of wine, cheese and crackers and a summer sausage (real glasses and a corkscrew are provided) There is a continental breakfast each morning, with the usual fare - juice, muffins, yogurt, coffee/tea - a nice perk. The indoor pool is a very nice amenity, there is also a laptop computer available for guest use. The two room suites are clean and spacious - two televisions -one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area.. There is a refrigerator in the room as well as a sink. The bathroom is your typically small space, but stocked with shampoos, etc. There really is no view (so to speak) but is conveniently located between the center of town and Perkins Cove - an easy walk to either. Underground parking is a perk, especially with this past weekend's weather - rain and gloom.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronxgirl3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 482 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hotel is unassuming in its appearance and that may be a good thng depending on your taste. I'm sure every savy traveler knows by now that the pictures you see on a properties web site and the way those same pictures are in reality are two different images. That is true here as anywhere. The lobby is simple with rooms lining each side of the lobby. The indoor pool is 3 feet deep all over. This hotel is a small, 3 story boutique style property. The rooms are clean and kept up. They have balconies but there is no view. The hotel is located in a residential section of Shore Road so it is quiet. The penthouse rooms on the 3rd floor are your best bet since they have an expansive patio complete with patio furniture. Since this is a suite only property you have the flow of 2 rooms. Although kept clean it could use new paint and carpeting. The underground parking garage is a nice touch keeping your vehicle safe from the elements - hot sun, rain, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful. Most of the guests, except those from Canada, were friendly as well.

The continental breakfast is not as fabulous as some have written. It is the typical carb lovers delight you find at most hotels. They serve mini-doughnuts, bagels, muffins, english muffins, cereals, juice, coffees, hot chocolate and a fruit bowl that is a combination of fresh cut up fruit and canned fruit. Be warned: Once a food item is gone, it is gone. There is no replenishing here.

It is an easy walk to Perkins Cove and you can walk to Ogunquit beach. (It is about a 15 minute walk) It would be nice if the hotel had wagons for their guests to use to take their beach stuff to the beach. Given the prices they charge, it seems like a reasonable request.

It was a joy to stay at a property that didn't have out-of-control children running around with their parents in tow.

If you are looking for a true get away in a quiet location in walking distance to everything and don't mind spending the money for it, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank biztraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Grand Hotel was recommended to us by my parents. This place was exactly what we were looking for and needed. The hotel location was right next to the waterfront area called Perkins Cove. The suites were spacious and very clean. Staff was helpful and professional. Prices are very reasonable. We enjoyed a long weekend of rest and relaxation. I would recommend the Grand and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VACATIONGUY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

My college roomate and I always spend a few days in Maine in the summer and usually stay at different spots. (We leave our
husbands home and do a "girls time.") We enjoyed the Grand.
What we especially liked was the fact that all rooms are two-
bedroom types with two televisions. There is ample space
in each. The beds (one pullout couch and one bed) are both
very comfortable. The breakfast was just okay. The coffee was delicious. The "orange juice" was very watered down. The pastries and bagesl were fresh. The cut up fresh fruit bowl was
never filled again. Cold cereal is also available. Also yogurt
but only the light kind. The bathroom is good size but the walls
are thin and sometimes you could here the other's room conversation. You can easily walk to the beach if you are not carrying too much, and it is a short walk to the marginal way.One day we ate at Armore Cafe, which we did not like. The decaf coffee was the worst I have ever had and it was a 25 minute wait for breakfast to be served after ordering. We ate at the Old Village Inn and enjoyed that very much. We would once again return to the Grand. The rate was also very reasonable for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shorthand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Just had to share my unique experience at the Grand Hotel in Ogunquit Maine. WOW .....What a fabulous impression to walk into this hotel and see the beautiful lobby, classy decor and soothing music to put you right into the vacation "mode". We were greeted at check-in by extremely gracious and friendly employees who went out of their way to welcome us, and then to see the suite....not your usual one-room hotel. How wonderful to have the luxury of a living room/kitchenette with microwave, newly updated and extremely clean bathroom and then a king-size bedroom with a private deck. The family enjoyed the option of allowing a person to sleep in privacy, while the rest of the family could enjoy tv, games, etc. in the living room. The breakfast that was served was absolutely outstanding......bagels, muffins, yogarts, cereals, fruits, donuts and a variety of juices. Definitely not your usual danish in a bag which most hotels offer. We have already booked a trip back to the Grand Hotel this June. Can't wait to return and be treated like a VIP again!!!! Enhance any memory of a trip to Maine with a stay at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maineax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

This used to be the best kept secret in Ogunquit....until....their attitude to their customer service changed. This used to be a reliable, clean hotel where customer service mattered. It now appears that it is all "about the money."

I don't want to get into our issues too deeply here...each person needs to decide how much they like this hotel for themselves. What I will say, however, is that we used to be regular customers (seven years running) and until last year were always treated with respect and courtesy.

It is still a cute, small place with a great location. However, not feeling that we could ever trust the management of this hotel again, my family and I have decided to start a new tradition elsewhere. With as many nice and clean places the Ogunquit "corridor" has to offer, customer service needs to be at the "top" of the hotel's list for services given. At The Grand Hotel, that no longer matters! There are too many desirable places to stay, and I suggest that if you are looking for one, keep looking. Honesty and integrity our everything to me and my family...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TMCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

My wife and I visited the Grand during mid-week and enjoyed the hotel
and the convenience to town. A five minute walk in either direction has you in the center of town or at the ocean's edge. The hotel is clean, quiet and charming. Everyone we met from the hotel was very nice and accomodating. We did not ask for much, but taking care of dinner reservations for us was a nice touch. The rooms are comfortable and a little dated, but kept in very good condition. I would recommend the penthouse rooms on the third floor simply because
of the extra room, a large deck area and there seems to be fewer rooms. I would not have wanted to stay on the first floor due to the common areas right outside the rooms. And during breakfast, it would probably be a bit noisy. Breakfast was fine for a quick bite and the fruit was fresh. Fresh coffee was available all day - something my wife enjoyed as we came and went throughout the day. Parking is great
in bad weather - under the hotel and a convenient elevator brings you
right to your floor. We would definitely return and we enjoyed the 4 days we spent at the Grand.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FoxFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $95 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing